We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J Residence
Save
You added J Residence to your Saves list
Along Kundasang Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying there for a night with family at house 5A. It is a very nice place with good view and the staff are very friendly.. is a good place to relax. I would suggest that if they can provide the hair dryer will be better..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    96
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a good time staying at J Residence especially the Villa. The accommodation especially the kitchen was very helpful and useful. Staying at the villa gives me a feeling like i'm home, preparing a food for family, very quiet place and suitable for honeymoon vacation.
I am definitely will come again to spend my time at J Residence.
Thank You for your help especially the staffs .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at House 1. The house itself is awesome, but the view is pretty limited from the house. :( Try asking for House 3 or 5 instead if u go there.
If u're driving your own car, be careful, the road down to the residency is bit too steep.
Our water heater in the bathroom wasn't working, but since we stayed only for a night, we let it be.
Bring socks, it's very cold up there.
:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed one night (30 - 31 June 2013) with friends. We booked the Villa, Houses 3 & 5 to accommodate 23 souls comfortably with a beautiful view of the valley opposite Mt. Kinabalu. Everything was clean and amenities were excellent. There is a separate verandah for barbecuing equipped with a BBQ stand. There are also some eateries nearby, with more choices if you venture further into Kundasang town.The location is excellent as it is only about 300 meters from the entrance to Kinabalu Park. An early morning wake up is a must if you want to see the mountain in all its majesty.It is quite cool there and temperatures can be a cool 16 Celcius at night especially if there is rain.

One main point of caution would be that the slope leading down to the complex is quite steep so driving up and down it requires nerves of steel. There are also stairs for the descent/ascent.

We all agreed that we should have stayed another night but our itinerary was so packed we could not. Definitely worth staying there again. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: Bring warm clothing if you are afraid of the cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Reasonable good facilities in House 5. Sound proofing against next house is poor. Good if venting machine can be provide for drinks and snacks. Traffic control signal if can be installed will help drivers as the up/down path share the same narrow and steep road. Blackout encountered but this is common in this area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for only one night from 12 - 13 April (should have stayed longer, but my itenary was too packed). Booked room 3A and 3B for my family of 2 adults and 3 young children. Nice and private place. Great views. Room 3A and 3B had interconnecting doors making it great for family. We also had a side private outdoor dining/kitchen area with a covered BBQ pit. The night we stayed , it was cold as it was raining but we had so much warm fun doing our own BBQ with stuff we bought from Kundasang town. You can get all you need for a great BBQ at Kundasang town nearby (you will need your own transport though, we rented a car).

The next morning our children found a medium size stick insect crawling at the railings in front of our room. They were so excited to find this and posed for pictures before carefully letting go the insect into the nearby tree. This was a nice unexpected touch to our stay.

If I am back in this area, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: As mentioned in other reviews, room 5 has the best views but we were also happy with our rooms 3A an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We get to stay at House 5, and it is facing a great view. The bathroom is transparent which means you can bath together with the natural view.
The entrance is steep and scary, please make sure you get a good driver to drive you there. =)
Maybe I'm unlucky, we experienced 2 times blackout at night and early morning about 5am. Wifi provided but we are unable to connect it.
Overall the room is very nice and worthy for the price.

Room Tip: 5A & 5B are attached together. Good view from House 5B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Address: Along Kundasang Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.