We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KK Airport Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Borneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Borneo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“KK Airport Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There is no airport hotel at the Kota Kinabalu International Airport which led me to this hotel when I required a place to rest between arriving at the airport at 1am and departing later at 730am. The travel time between the airport and the hotel was about 7 minutes.

The hotel driver was kind enough to pick me up for a charge of RM30. There was no charge for sending me and other guests to the airport the next morning at 6am.

The stairs lead you up to your basic room with very economical space. But generally clean and well maintained. Recommended for a solo traveller in need of private space to rest and shower.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
40
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

No where near kota kinabalu town and we spent a lot on taxis. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are tiny with very noisy aircon and a vuew to the toilet through a glass door from the bed is not the nicest thing. Ok hotel but bad location

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The room is smaller than expected but very neat and tidy room. Staff are nice and engage in planning the itinerary for travelers. They do provide useful information and introduce local tour at good bargain.
The location of the hotel is a bit remote from the downtown. It takes around 10 to15 minutes drive. But the arrangement of transportation is appreciated. It requies appointment in advance.
There are supermarket and restaurants next to the hotel. Shopping for groceries is convenient. But those restaurants only provide menu in Malay. Still a good taste of local food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Chosen for proximity to Airport & price versus facilities. We went for a family room as it appeared to be only option with double bed and had a dreadful 1st night. Window faces fire escape and stairs appear to be lit all night so we tried to sleep in a fully lit room - failed miserably!
Told staff in morning and returned to find window masked okay. Staff very helpful, friendly and try to please. Reasonable breakfast excluding fruit plate (papaya not to our taste or others by amount left on plates. Great shower and AC.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 205 and 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I normally sleep with ear plugs when at hotels but at this hotel I was awaken at 5 AM with a terrible banging noise. I never heard anything like this before. I called the reception to find out what was going on and they told me that it is the next door restaurant cutting chicken for the day. They apologized and said that they have had million complaints about this noise from guests every night and they tried to talk to the restaurant but it does not work - there is nothing they can do about it. As a result I got only 2 hours of sleep; my night and the next day were ruined. So, my advice - AVOID THIS PLACE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE SOME SLEEP.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at k.kinabalu in an evening and arranged that the crown hotel picked us up, which was really helpful.
The hotel is clean, rooms are small, but have good bathrooms and lovely power showers.
Some airport noise but not too bad. Nice flat screen tv's with BBC news channel (always a bonus!)
Staff were friendly.
Located approx 1.6miles from k.k. city centre; we were able to get a local bus into town, from bus stop 5 mins from hotel. Supermarket and cafes close by too.
Breakfast was a choice from menu and was ok but took half an hour to arrive (for a bowl of cereal and 2 slices of bread! Maybe they had to milk a cow first?!?)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport so it's great for early departures or late arrivals. The room was quite small with no window but as we arrived late it didn't really matter. It was clean, beds were comfy and they offered breakfast. The breakfast isn't the greatest but the price was so reasonable for everything that it didn't really bother us.
However, if you don't need to be close to the airport then move further into town. It's about 20 mins out, with only a few restaurants around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#38 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#14 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#29 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#25 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#22 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.