We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Borneo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Chosen for proximity to Airport & price versus facilities. We went for a family room as it appeared to be only option with double bed and had a dreadful 1st night. Window faces fire escape and stairs appear to be lit all night so we tried to sleep in a fully lit room - failed miserably!
Told staff in morning and returned to find window masked okay. Staff very helpful, friendly and try to please. Reasonable breakfast excluding fruit plate (papaya not to our taste or others by amount left on plates. Great shower and AC.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 205 and 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
24
41
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I normally sleep with ear plugs when at hotels but at this hotel I was awaken at 5 AM with a terrible banging noise. I never heard anything like this before. I called the reception to find out what was going on and they told me that it is the next door restaurant cutting chicken for the day. They apologized and said that they have had million complaints about this noise from guests every night and they tried to talk to the restaurant but it does not work - there is nothing they can do about it. As a result I got only 2 hours of sleep; my night and the next day were ruined. So, my advice - AVOID THIS PLACE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE SOME SLEEP.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at k.kinabalu in an evening and arranged that the crown hotel picked us up, which was really helpful.
The hotel is clean, rooms are small, but have good bathrooms and lovely power showers.
Some airport noise but not too bad. Nice flat screen tv's with BBC news channel (always a bonus!)
Staff were friendly.
Located approx 1.6miles from k.k. city centre; we were able to get a local bus into town, from bus stop 5 mins from hotel. Supermarket and cafes close by too.
Breakfast was a choice from menu and was ok but took half an hour to arrive (for a bowl of cereal and 2 slices of bread! Maybe they had to milk a cow first?!?)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport so it's great for early departures or late arrivals. The room was quite small with no window but as we arrived late it didn't really matter. It was clean, beds were comfy and they offered breakfast. The breakfast isn't the greatest but the price was so reasonable for everything that it didn't really bother us.
However, if you don't need to be close to the airport then move further into town. It's about 20 mins out, with only a few restaurants around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 1 night, as we were catching the 7am flight from KK to Tawau, so it was great for our purpose. The hotel provides free pick up and drop off to the airport if your flight is between 6am to 11pm, or MYR30 per trip outside of those slots. Check-in and check-out were very efficiency, there two local restaurants right down the road that open 24 hrs, we tried the Chinese one, very good local food, we had freshly steamed fish at 1am. The room itself was fairly clean, small, bathroom needs improvement, but for the price you are paying and its location, it was perfect for our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like most people, we stayed there one night because of the late night flight. The double room without breakfast was just about average for its price. Its located in a small community. Quite convenient for restaurants, supplies and a post office where can send post card. However, there're only one bus (#16) you can take to go to downtown KK or by taxi (around 20RM). It's still about 20-25 mins of walking distance to the airport or seeing the famous sunset by the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friends and I arrived at mid night after the free-transfer period, but they offer us reasonable price for the airport transfer. We choose this hotel because we have to transit to early fight on the next morning. The hotel is close to the airport, provide free transfer from early morning to 11pm. It is good for transit travelers like us.

The room is clean and basic, which is good enough for a few hours stay. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#37 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#15 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#30 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#26 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.