We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for airport proximity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Borneo Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Crown Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Crown Borneo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine for airport proximity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport so it's great for early departures or late arrivals. The room was quite small with no window but as we arrived late it didn't really matter. It was clean, beds were comfy and they offered breakfast. The breakfast isn't the greatest but the price was so reasonable for everything that it didn't really bother us.
However, if you don't need to be close to the airport then move further into town. It's about 20 mins out, with only a few restaurants around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
33
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 1 night, as we were catching the 7am flight from KK to Tawau, so it was great for our purpose. The hotel provides free pick up and drop off to the airport if your flight is between 6am to 11pm, or MYR30 per trip outside of those slots. Check-in and check-out were very efficiency, there two local restaurants right down the road that open 24 hrs, we tried the Chinese one, very good local food, we had freshly steamed fish at 1am. The room itself was fairly clean, small, bathroom needs improvement, but for the price you are paying and its location, it was perfect for our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like most people, we stayed there one night because of the late night flight. The double room without breakfast was just about average for its price. Its located in a small community. Quite convenient for restaurants, supplies and a post office where can send post card. However, there're only one bus (#16) you can take to go to downtown KK or by taxi (around 20RM). It's still about 20-25 mins of walking distance to the airport or seeing the famous sunset by the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friends and I arrived at mid night after the free-transfer period, but they offer us reasonable price for the airport transfer. We choose this hotel because we have to transit to early fight on the next morning. The hotel is close to the airport, provide free transfer from early morning to 11pm. It is good for transit travelers like us.

The room is clean and basic, which is good enough for a few hours stay. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We came in a big group on our way to the interiors and stayed a few nights while in transit. Manager Edison and staff were very helpful from the time of booking till check out. Location is out of town but van transfers are available for small charge. Rooms are small (hotel is converted shophouses) but clean and neat. Breakfast is provided, and good food, laundry & convenience stores are within walking distance from the hotel. Homemade scones, eclaires, profiteroles etc are VERY NICE and not to be missed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed there for one night while waiting for our connecting flight. I had booked an standard room but they had upgraded me to a executive freely. The executive was clean and comfortable with 6 beds and two bathroom. Clean and toiletries.

The hotel provides free shuttle service. I had made an airport pick-up and had confirmation but nobody was there waiting therefore I came to outside and found the hotel shuttle car. However, the hotel management should pay more attention to this for new comers.

Room Tip: There have no lift services and you can put your luggage at reception counter. Overdue charge for 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We only stayed one night, but had a good stay at the crown borneo hotel.
The free shuttle to and from the airport was great, and they also charged less than a taxi for a drive into town. Airport shuttles take priority they told us, but we were able to take advantage :)
Breakfast was included, and pretty good. They had a few selections to chose from.
Walls were very thin, so we heard people in the hallway often. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs! Bathroom was nice enough, plenty of hot water in the shower.
Also there are lots of good little restaurants around, and a 24hr convenience store.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Also Known As:
The Crown Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 90 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.