We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep looking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
Rainforest Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lot 48 Ground Floor & 1st Floor | Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just keep looking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

At first glance the rooms seem okay and the location is good. However, cleanliness and quietness are simply not applying to this hotel.
A very noisy karaoke disco bar makes it impossible to sleep until 12h30 am (and we like to travel as much as having rest at night). The second pre-booked night we changed room to a interior without window. This improved our situation a bit but still we coudl hear everyone stepping up and down the stairs.
The rooms are not new and have a dusty appearance. We saw a mouse today.
Air conditionning works well but many light bulbs and lamps did not work.
Staff is helpfull and kind, but it remains with us a helpless feeling, as it does not seem a much customer oriented hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    14
    14
    19
See reviews for
8
19
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Staff is nice helpfull and willing to negotiate a good price! The place is nice looking, rooms are good, and everything is as good as it gets in Asia!
If you want a quiet place to stay, please go to a rural area. The centre of KK night life is obviously not for you...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've stayed at the Lodge in two sessions this summer, with good friends. We had a good experience, and hence returned. The staff is friendly, quickly knew our names, gave good rates and even offered fries. Awesome.

To the tards complaining about noise, I can only say: why stay at a place obviously placed in the middle of a bar area, if you want to sleep early, there are plenty of places in the nearby, quiet alleys. Please leave room here for people that actually want to be social. There is plenty opportunity to be that.

We experienced only clean, well equipped rooms, and the breakfast is decent, at least if you are not staying in the dorms. My only complaint would be the laundry: it costs twice as much as local laundry shops, less than 100 meters away, and they mixed up ours. But hopefully this is improved by now.

To sum it up, for young travellers wanting more from their vacation than sleep, full recommandations. For people wanting silence, stay home. Or in the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

i would definitely recommand you guys to stay at rainforest lodge. the staff are friendly and helpful. the food at rainforest cafe is simply delicious.

Room Tip: choose rainforest lodge if u want to experience jungle in the city. recommand to book room with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

very convinient. is just situated in the heart of the city even is realy near to the jeti. staff was very friendly. the room that i stayed are with balcony n i realy enjoy my stay here.

Room Tip: should choose room that are with balcony. but no so near the stage. tell them that u need room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henryboyson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I wish I had read the other reviews on this place before staying. My fault I guess!!

In summary:

Pros: Good location in the middle of town & reasonably priced
Cons: VERY noisy, unclean, underage staff who couldn't care less about you, small dirty rooms, dirty showers.

My girlfriend & I (28 & 29, English) stayed here passing through to do the Kinabalu mountain climb. We're generally not fussy about where we stay and the size of the rooms but we do care for a basic level of service, cleanliness & to not be kept up all night.

There is a karaoke night, every night of the week (which they call a 'band') which consists of a bunch of very young Filipino girls screaming down a microphone to Adele & Rihanna. This while novel for 20 minutes carries on until 3/4am every night! Surrounding the young female singers are about 30/40 old local men who come to stare. It's as disgusting as the sound coming out of the singers mouths.

Don't try and ask the owner of the bar or hotel to turn the music down, they really couldn't care what you have to say.

If you're doing the mountain climb, you'll be picked up around 6am which leave very little time to actually sleep.

We moved around 4 different rooms desperately trying to escape the noise and eventually found one at the back of the hostel however it was more of a cleaners cupboard and had no windows.

Sadly we'd prepaid for 2 nights so were stuck unless we could fork out for another hotel.

About the rooms. Nasty, dirty, small and offer no protection from the traffic and screaming karaoke.

We look back and laugh at the whole experience but at the time I don't think I've ever been so angry at anyone who clearly had no interest in trying to resolve the issue.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: If you want a chance at getting sleep, there are a few rooms at the back without windows away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location - close to everywhere in KK. Somewhere to (semi comfortably) lay our heads whilst enjoying Sabah.

Aside from that it's your basic hostel. Not particularly clean or well looked after, noisy at night and the breakfast is horrendous (really, don't bother!) We did get a bit fed up with constantly having dirty feet from the floor of our room, but at the end of the day we paid almost nothing for 4 nights accommodation, and that's what we got. The bar downstairs is noisy (awful singers, just awful!) but if you can't beat them, join them and head downstairs for a cheeky cocktail for a reasonable price.

If you're not really bothered about where you stay and are just in KK to enjoy what Sabah has to offer. If you want a little more from your accommodation, don't bother.

Room Tip: They're all dirty and noisy - just grin and take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Lodge

Address: Lot 48 Ground Floor & 1st Floor | Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainforest Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.