We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic, nice food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Upperstar

Upperstar
Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+60 88-270 775
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 342 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Asian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Happening place for the youngster to have gathering. Some western type food with reasonable price.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Hectic, nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice food, price is ok for the food we had, no complaints on that, kind of noisy at with the music banging, Not the romantic type of outlet you want to go to propose and have a nice serious talk with your spouse, the atmosphere is just jovial. Great place to have fun, and definitely go there again to enjoy with buddies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    59
    39
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The food is quite okay. The service is sometimes bad , sometimes average and sometimes good. Cheap food, wifi available, air-cond available. Got to love the internet provided.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
“I just like it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love the foods, many choices. I like the design of the restaurant, very unique, clean & most importance is comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“Staffs very no manner.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When passing by the back of this restaurant, there are some male staff doing packaging the decoration for Chinese New Year which put all over the place and blocking the walkway, and my child passing slowly and his bag accidentally knock down the tall flower decoration. Then I heard one of the male staff shouted at my child in such a no manner and no brain way which i felt insulted and besides my child is just kid.

To the Boss, Management and Staff of the Upperstar, if I use the same way to shout at your children, how do your feel ?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Service is just okie...can be better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Prices for F&B are very reasonable. Setup is very nice. Computers installed are convenient. Wifi was not working.

Staff service is just average. Response time is slow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upperstar also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Upperstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upperstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.