We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upperstar

Upperstar
Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+60 88-270 775
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 331 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Happening place for the youngster to have gathering. Some western type food with reasonable price.
Kudus, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went to Suria Upperstar for lunch with 3 children. Meal portion was decent and the price was very reasonable. Lunch sets including a drink is around RM10 each or less. Not too bad for feeding 3 hungry children.

I ordered lamb kebab, and its tender and succulent. I loved it!

We came in during peak hours and the service was fast. Computers are available at some tables and free wi-fi in the restaurant. Clean environment, and has a beautiful scenery of the islands.

Will definitely come back and recommend Upperstar Suria to my friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    66
    43
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Pork free but not halal certified”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This joint is very famous among locals including Muslims. Children enjoy coming here since most table is provided with a computer to keep them occupied while waiting for food. Used to come here a lot until I was served pasta with alcohol even though I had checked with the waiter when order was taken. So for Muslims patrons, please enquire about the ingredients used in the food to avoid my experience. Would be better if the management care to indicate in the menu which food items in the menu that contain alchohol. Not all waiters are well versed about the ingredients in the menu. Human errors can't be avoided sometimes

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“My fav hang out bar n restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

i went to all outlets from time to time either with family, biz associates, clients or friends. Many special occasions i have been celebrated here such as birthday parties, anniversaries, mother's day n reunion. From food quality, pricing, service, environment n cleanliness... I would say Awesome!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had lunch at the branch in Suria Sabah. The other one was not open for lunch. Lunch was great. I had the butter chicken rice and the rice was wonderful and the chicken was tender and juicy! We also ordered a fillet of fish which came with fries. The fillet of fish took a while to come but it was really succulent.
There were computers at some tables and free wi-fi in the restaurant. We had lunch at about 3pm but the restaurant was nearly full! That says someting.
Lunch sets including a drink work out to be around RM10 each or less.
If you want to get out of the heat for a nice inexpensive meal, try this place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Come here soooo often”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

As a local, I (along with MANY other locals) come here very very often. The prices are a bit steep for normal meals because of the tax, but somehow people keep coming back for more. LOL. The food is alright, some dishes are tastier than others of course, and the drinks are expensive but nice. It's an extremely popular local hangout - there are like 4 branches in KK but they are all always full at peak hours. If you're a tourist, its a good experience. If you're a local..... Jom yumcha. Haha

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upperstar also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Upperstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upperstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.