We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden54

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Eden54
Save Saved
You added Hotel Eden54 to your Saves list
54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews by fellow Trip Advisor travellers, and we were not disappointed. We stayed a night in a window-less room, which was small but spotlessly clean, and adequate (including free wifi). The next morning we left early to climb Mt Kinabalu, and were able to leave our suitcase in storage for our return. We arrived back the following afternoon, and this time we had a larger room with a window. We were greeted with big smiles from everyone (in fact, all the staff are always smiling!) and our suitcase was already placed in our room. Great service! We enjoyed another 2 nights in Kota Kinabalu, exploring the quaint streets, eating great local food, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. Ling Ling and team were warm, friendly, and efficient. More than just another hotel, we felt like we were staying in a friend's home! We look forward to returning to Eden54 the next time we are in KK!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    257
    42
    6
    0
See reviews for
127
376
67
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Eden 54 for 2 nights and it satisfied our needs perfectly. It was slightly more upmarket than the rest of our trip but we had been trekking for a week and were looking for something slightly nicer. The room was spacious, the bed was amazing and the hot shower was the perfect welcome.

We went accross the road to speak to the tourism office about an excursion to see the rafelesia flowers and they knew far less than Ling. Infact they failed to let us know that it wasnt open for the times we had asked but luckily Ling told us before we set off. She then produced a whole range of options of sightseeing that we could consuct instead and put us back in the right direction.


We felt new again after leaving - even if it only lasted a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a no for us.. The hotel looks modern and clean which it is to some extend.. Our room was nice however the water in the bathroom kept on coming up from the pipes so the bathroom was pretty much flooded all the time. Room was noisy as the hotel is situated on a busy road. Road traffic stops at about midnight and then starts again at 4am. So overall clean, noisy, poor quality laundry service and friendly but not extremely helpful people at the reception desk. Also, something to bear in mind if you pay over the phone. We booked hotel for one night prior arrival via phone and paid with a card. Then we decided to stay one more night for which we paid cash on departure. Only to find out when we came home that they actually charged us for two nights on the card.. For the rest of our stay in KK we moved to Le Meridien, it is more expensive but we had much pleasurable stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April, great location - central to the city. Supermarket next door as well. Ling Ling is amazing, she can organise all your trips, she even sent us a package of a few things that we left behind to our next destination - thanks :). Alvin the taxi driver organised by Ling Ling was great, on time, and we had many laughs talking about the country. Pay the extra to stay in the Studio king with window, plenty of room, we paid for the room while we went to do the mountain climb, came back and the bed made, everything cleaned and welcomed by friendly staff. Great value for money.

Room Tip: studio king with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

i stayed here for 4 nights in march and was so impressed with my stay here. it's about 15 minutes from the airport and is quite centrally located in the city - that being said, the city is not that big. the hotel is next to a nice, gourmet grocer with a small cafe attached inside. its also a block away from a huge mall with lots of dining options and a 5 minute walk to the jetty where you can visit the different islands (sapi, mamutik etc). the hotel is newly renovated and the rooms are very modern, i love the wooden floors. the front desk is so friendly, and so accommodating. they gave me advice on where to go, what to do and even gave me discount coupons for the ferry that visited the different islands. can't wait to go back here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Located right on Kaya Street where all the famous local food located and easily accessible. Jesselton Ferry is within 10 mins walk. A supermarket is right next to the hotel.

Clean room though a bit small, super helpful and friendly staff. You can actually speak in Cantonese, Mandarin or English with the staff.

Downside is you need to walk one-floor staircase in order to get to the reception. Get prepared if you're with a luggage case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've stayed a few nights at the Hotel Eden54, because we was looking for a good located place in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel is conveniently located near several shopping centres, a supermarket, ATM, restaurants etc. It's just a 5 minutes walk to Jesselton Point where you can grab a ferry to Sapi, Manukan, Mamutik or other islands.

If you are looking for an affordable place, which let you feel like home then Hotel Eden54 is the best choice. The hotel is tastefully decorated in a minimalist style. It is basic, clean and offer free WiFi.

Room Tip: For two persons, I recommend to book "Compact D, Queen Bed (with window)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.