We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twin-Sky Seafood Restaurant

Twin-Sky Seafood Restaurant
Lot 12, Block A, Jalan Kampung Air | Sedco Square, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
6088 223 080
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 331 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Also known as Suang Tain Seafood Restaurant. Established since 1983.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very fresh seafood. But it goes by weight so make sure you watch them weigh it. I'm sure we got ripped off. We trusted them and got a cracker of a bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    48
    12
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“fresh and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

the seafood is fresh and relatively cheaper as compared to major cities like KL penang & malaka. if you have ongoing journey to Sandakan, it is even cheaper there. if you do not mind about the environment, there is a cheaper seafood centre just besides the handicraft centre.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Searched high and low for someone to take our orders. Finally approach a middle age man which happens to b the captain of the restaurant, he was impatient, rude and unaccomodating to our questions when we wanted to know more on the seafood varieties and method of cooking. He then made us wait so long (more than 15 minutes) as he was chatting with another staff. Couldn't bring ourselves to stay longer hence we move to another restaurant opposite the hall and the dinner was great. Generally, d price of seafood here is inflated like crazy, you can get similar jumbo crabs and prawns from KL at least 40% cheaper. This is clearly a tourist trap so don't bother.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Bad service and impolite staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Waited for 20 mins to just get someone cleaning the table. Keep calling the waiter n waitress however no one is there to attend us. Had my dinner from 5pm to 9pm. Waited for an hour on the steam fish. Terrible experience. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood- pricy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went there with friends and ordered tons of seafood. You can select all fresh/live seafood and they will cook it the style you like it. We spend a lot of money but it was worth the price.
Loved the stingray and the fresh Abalone (which you usually spend a fortune but this price was very good).
Definitely a recommendation and I would return any time.
Surrounding is like a fish market / restaurant area and it can be very crowded

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin-Sky Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Twin-Sky Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin-Sky Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.