We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1, Jalan Singgah Mata 1, Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good enough for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights with my husband.
Pros: Lots of food places and convenience stores within walking distance. A short walk to the waterfront and Suria Sabah. Friendly staff and helpful.

Cons: Bathroom and room do not have enough clothes hangers and it was difficult to try our swim clothing after diving. The room is small and just nice for Asian sized guests. Might be a bit squeezy for some Westerners.

Other than that, everything else OK.

Room Tip: Try to request for a higher floor and facing the front of the hotel. Corner rooms are quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    197
    122
    24
    14
See reviews for
51
95
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night as transit stop. Room was very, very small. Bed took up nearly the entire room. Toilet was as big as the room, works well. Weak wifi connection in room. Loads of eating places outside hotel. It worked fine for us, good value for MYR130.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This would be the first and the last timeto stay in this hotel. Firstly the room has no windows and the size is freaking small! Don't go out after midnight as the area are infested with transvestites. Nothing much good to say about this hotel! Oh ya! The hotel also has lots of freaking bad mannered mainland Chinese that's noisy and do whatever they like ie smoking at the foyer, the corridors and in the rooms with the door open!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The worst hotel experience i had! Seven of us checked in the hotel on 8/6/2013 for 3 days 2nights. The water supply quality on first day was so dirty. When we questioned the reception, they put all the blame to the piping maintenance but give no solution. If the hotel value their guests, why don't the front desk staff mention this problem to guest during check in period instead of waiting the guest to raise the complain? Problem doesn't solve on the 2nd days...the worst still nightmare came on 3rd day which totally no water supply! When we questioned the front desk, the crew was actually do not know how to handle the situation, again, blaming the piping maintenance..how can a hotel ran out of water supply at the morning while everyone need it without any notification given to guests?
Besides that, sound proofing for rooms was not so good too. Talk and laugh (noises.....) from the next door was actually screwed up one of our team member's night.
In overall, you can get better hotel in Kota Kinabalu with the same amount of money! Will not stay in this hotel anymore!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for your review.

Our sincere apologies for your experience in our hotel recently. This is the first time we had such problem. In fact on the first day of your arrival, the problem of the water has yet to determined as the source of water from water department was also slightly brownish. As part of our standard operating procedures, our maintenance will check the water level of the water tank every shift. Unfortunately the sensor of the water auto-pump was malfunctioned after we conducted the last check on Sunday night and hence the water was not refilled accordingly to the water tank before the next shift conduct the normal check. We realized such a big problem only on the next day early morning when many guest complained about the problem and therefore our maintenance immediately turned on the manual pump (back -up pump) to reflll the water into the tank. We would need at least few hours to fill up the tank and the water supply back to normal within 2 to 3 hours time for floor by floor. The water was brownish when the water had just refilled because the water tank was empty as it stir the residuals of the water tank. Clean water supply is back to normal in the afternoon after most of the guest have checked out.

We feel very sorry on the incident happened as this has obviously left the guest with bad experience and an unpleasant journey. If possible, we would not want this incident to be happened as this will damage the reputation of the hotel. On behalf of the hotel management, we sincerely apologize for the above incident. We hope this one-off incident will not mar your impression towards our hotel.

We also hope that you could give us another oppotunity to serve you better. Rest assured, we will not allow the same incident to repeat again.

To ALL guest who stayed with us during and experienced the above incident, I would like to send thousand apologies for any inconveniece caused. Although this was the 1st time such problem occured unexpectedly, we will carry out more prevention and improve all necessary areas concerned to ensure a pleasant stay with Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu.

Thank you.


Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

To whom it may concern, we have had a terrifying experience with Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu (staying over 8th to 10th June 2013). 7 of us were greeted by dirty water on the first day of arrival & we awaited for hours still the water quality wasn't improved & our immediate friendly complain has not been attended. 2nd day was a nightmare. We woke up early at 7pm, with some were rushing to the airport for early morning flight. But there was a limited water supply till water supply cut off. One of my friends was half-shampoo while the other 2 wasn't able to wash up but forced to board plane. It doesnt help to keep arranging new shower rooms for us which do not come with sufficient water as well (imagine the water didnt even last for teeth brushing). Staff at the lobby kept putting the blame on the maintenance guy for not having the water reservoir. But you as a recognized 3 star hotel, how could you be ignorance towards your customers' complain and giving no constructive solution AT ALL to us and many more of them! This is totally unacceptable and we are looking forward to your explanation with in prompt to action.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room is clean and the size is reasonable with the price that they are charging. Receptionists were professionals but not very impressive and warmth. The buffet breakfast did not change for the 3 days that we stayed there. The personnel in the cafe were very courteous though. Location of the hotel is also great and few minutes walk going to the malls.There is however no internet connection in the hig floors and we still need to go down to the lobby just to get connections.

Room Tip: Choose a room from 2nd to 5th floor if you want a good internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for your review.

We had just started to provide free wifi to all hotel guests recently and the internet connection may be affected when guests on the same floor are heavily using the internet at the same time. We will look into this challenge and try to improve the connection in the near future.

We look foward to welcoming you back to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu again.

Thank you.


Regards,
Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Hi all,

I being in here for 6 days and 5 nights. First of all my expection the room is big as in the website but it was not as my expectations. However the clealiness of this hotel is good and the location not that far from all hot spot in Kota Kinabalu. My room rates not included breakfast which I think with the price should include breakfast.

For me the room only suitable for sleep and since no window. No laundry services is provided and limited TV channel.

Nevertheless the best about this hotel internet speed is good compare to all other hotel that I stayed before. My suggestion if you are looking for considerable budget hotel, it is. For family trip I think not suitable to stay at this hotel.

Staff of this hotel OK.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1, Jalan Singgah Mata 1, Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.