We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and safe hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1, Jalan Singgah Mata 1, Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MYR130 (MYR)
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and safe hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The hotel location is excellent. The area around it is not so cramped up with a lot of people or night markets, so it’s definitely peaceful and safe. But if you need supplies or food, there are a lot of nearby restaurants, malls and a pharmacy. It is located in the middle of a commercial place called Asia City Complex. A big mall called the Centrepoint Sabah Mall is located just across a main road. We did most of our grocery shopping for snacks there at a supermarket on its lower ground floor. We stayed on the seventh floor and had a deluxe double room with the Seaview. The view was absolutely beautiful. Although the room was a bit small we still decided to choose this hotel for a lot of good reasons. The hotel is new, we did an offline booking just by e-mailing them, then we paid for our entire four nights of stay in full when we got there, the check in and check out processes were a breeze, the staff were friendly and can speak fairly good English, the hotel is really clean, our room was clean and was cleaned daily, the bathroom was big, its size was half our room space, the AC can be controlled, there was a blow dryer, the room also had a safe, there was an LCD TV, although there weren’t a lot of satellite TV channel choices, it was fine, since we were out often anyways, the bathroom supplies were replenished daily, the bathroom was cleaned daily too, the shower stall was huge, water pressure was very good, there was also a water dispenser for hot, cold and warm water at every floor, which was very helpful since we drink a lot of water because of the activities that we did there and because KK has a hot weather too, we brought in our own Nalgene plastic bottles for that. There was also a common ironing area, located near the lift, as what they call it over there. Overall, we had a great stay. For RM135 a night, it was worth it. The only bad thing we’ve noticed though is that there wifi signal in our room was poor. I hope the hotel can improve on that. Since we stayed four nights, I asked to get free daily wifi. They provided a username and password for it and it’s only good on one device at a time. The hotel’s lift was also very secure, our room key card had to be swiped over a sensor to activate it. We felt very safe at this hotel and overall had a great stay. We didn’t try the Express Diner located at the lobby though, so we don’t know how their food taste but with a lot of good points we would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose it again if we come back to KK in the future.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Seaview room so when you wake up in the morning, you'll get a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    188
    117
    23
    13
See reviews for
46
90
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Advantages:

-15minute walk to the center of the city
-across the road from center point/api api shopping center
-Lots of food outlets outside the hotel
-Clean hotel, clean rooms for a good price.

Disadvantages:

-You pay for what you get. A small tin size room that barely fits 1-2 people.
-Staff are friendly when they want to be...otherwise, you get what you need and nothing more from them.
-Parking is a problem. There is no control as to the hotel parking as anyone it seems can park there now so if you are driving, be prepared to have to look for parking.
-Air Cond in the room is hit and miss. Cold at some points at night, warm at other points in time. The central aircond system isn't fantastic and could be/should be colder.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I booked a triple room -1212 - big and comfortable. However, my mum mentioned that her bed is a bit soft and room small as they are staying at superior room - 1020. I booked for 3 nights and during second night 10pm, my wifi was cut off. I called the receptionist they mentioned that i checked in 9pm therefore wifi is to the 2nd night 9pm. I was quite annoyed and told them but i checked out 12pm the next day. Luckily they are nice and gave me new password for my wifi. Thumbs up for their service.

Surrounding there are many restaurants and food. No need to worry about your breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sunday market at Gaya Street is only 15 min walk. Whole KK is not very big and can be walking distance.

Overall, i recommended this place. However, i will try Gaya Hotel in my next visit.

Room Tip: Triple room are definitely very big than superior room. Superior room is very tiny and cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our hotel room was so small that you could only walk along one side of a double bed. Along the other three sides of the bed were two walls and the TV. The room barely fit the double bed. I say this room is dingy because the sheets, towels and mattresses really have seen better days and need to be replaced. I didn't sleep the whole night through any of the three nights we were there - due to the terrible shape of the mattress. The air con was about as effective as a person blowing air in the room, and we had to leave it on all day just to have a slightly cooled room for the evening.

The service was poor also. If I called the front desk I would either have to leave the phone ringing for a couple of minutes or call back many times to be answered at all. If I wanted to ask a question at the front desk the wait time was 5-10 minutes because there wasn't enough staff to deal with the number of customers. This hotel just seems tooo large for the number of staff trying to run it. There are nicer and more comfortable hotels in KK and I say avoid this one if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Got a triple room, which sleeps three people comfortably. Nice views from the highest floor (12th floor). Only a small number of parkings are in the hotel car park, so if you're driving, make sure you get one, otherwise the parking outside the hotel is charged by the hour. Around 15 minutes walking to Gaya Market, which opens on Sunday mornings only, with a lot of local products around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great value budget hotel. Safe and clean. Rooms are very cramped - furniture almost doesn't fit in. Otherwise clean, modern and thoroughly satisfactory. Great food court 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is strategically located in the centre, near to Centre Point. Secure lift with key sensor card, with water dispenser at each floor. Great LCD TV, the image is clear. I was staying at the standard single room, is pretty small but is ok for light traveller like me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1, Jalan Singgah Mata 1, Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.