We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious room, large bathroom and power shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manja Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manja Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manja Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   26, Block E, KK Times Square, | Off Coastal Highway,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 63 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious room, large bathroom and power shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The room is spacious with large bathroom. The shower is good with high water pressure. Our room is facing another block, however we are ok with it as we spend most of the time outside. Selection of TV channels are good. They have movie, sport and news channel. The are a lot of cafe and pub surrounding the hotel. There is 24 hours convenience store just next to the hotel. It is a bit difficult to get a taxi however you may ask the hotel to call it for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The room has good size and enough to move around. The service is good. The location is actually very close to the market but due to the construction happening one needs to walk additional 1 km. KK Times Square has a good ambience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
male
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

room renovated since my last visit...more sleek and cool colors.
simple, clean and comfy rooms .
Bar and restaurant still happening close by. Good location if you like nigh life and have a party. Parking rates bit too expensive..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lousy staffs/ customer service . Confirm airport transfer but no one was at the airport to pick us up. Call up the hotel and they ask for airport terminal which I've already told them the flight no. and flight arrival timing . 2nd day room key not working so went to reception to validate it again . Reception staff not around so told one of the other staff who was there and he immediate told the reception staff as he was walking back towards the reception. I stand infront of the reception waiting for him to revalidate the key and after almost 10 minutes and it was still not done ! So I look at him and ask him, but he was like don't know what is happening and ask me what I want ? I've been standing there for so long right in front of him and he didn't bother to ask ! Nvr book this hotel ! Lousy and not cheap either at RM244 per night without breakfast and no toiletries provided in the room. Gaya Centre Hotel is much better choice with super good location and good service

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Location:
Located at Block E, right inside KK Times Square, it faces the inside of the square or courtyard, so you can't really see it from the outside. Just tell the cabbie it's directly behind Block A, or first alley on the right from the main road into Times Square, or just stop in front of Kingston Hotel and walk towards the inside of the square and it's the first corner on your right.

I checked in late at almost 9pm. That was painless as I booked through Agoda. To get to the rooms, you have to walk out of the reception area, through the main door and take the lift on the side of the building. This is typical of most KK hotels of this genre.

The Room:
Very nice, sleek, clean and most importantly, NO MILDEWY SMELL. I got one on the fourth floor that faced the inside of the square, which I liked because I could look down and watch people walking around, sitting outside the bars and eateries downstairs.

The bathroom was huge, nicely spaced out. Clean with no unnecessary bells and whistles. The hot water needs to be hotter though, and there were no towels. Not one, not even floor mats or hand towels. Not a big deal, but I'd just driven four hours from Kudat and was already half ready for my shower. At that point, I just wanted to wash and flop.

I can imagine that noise from the pubs below would be a problem on weekends, so...do bear that in mind. Noise was not an issue during my stay though.

Room Rate:
RM138 (~USD40) on Agoda, with free airport transfer.

Free Airport Transfer:
Aha. This was my little adventure. I asked for a 6.30am transfer when I checked in. All well & good the staff are friendly and very pleasant, all of them. Come morning, I checked out early and the driver was nowhere to be found. Not good for nervous travellers like me.

Fifteen minutes in, and the reception staff was still frantically calling for their colleague, who was not picking up his phone. At that point, I made a fuss and asked them to call me a cab. Some more frantic running around. I insisted on a cab again.

Long story short, cab came. Staff must have called a cabbie friend. "Am I paying for this or is the hotel paying?" I asked as I stepped out the door.

Graciously, they said the hotel was paying.


Pros and Cons:
1. Pleasant room
2. Pleasant staff
Clean
3. Not easy to get cabs. You need phone for a pick-up.
4. A little out of town centre but convenient for business trips if your meetings are near Times Square or Sutera Harbour, or if you're just stopping over to catch a flight the next day
5. Potential noise pollution on weekends because of the pubs
6. The airport transfer kerfaffle should never have happened. They need to have a word with their driver, or the night reception staff never told him he had a first thing next morning. My advice: if you decide to stay here, make sure you imprint your airport transfer or cab times into the reception staff's head.

I didn't have an unpleasant experience. I just felt all that fuss and stroppiness on my part could have been avoided.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Didn't quite like the room, although big and spacious but it lacks the furnishing and other amenities.

Also since it is situated on the above a restaurant, room on the second floor has got this food / oil smell. Not really pleasant.

Stayed for 2 nights... House keeping NEVER came to clean the room, even with the sign put out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice city boutique hotel with clean room and modern design.Great value for money with breakfast buffet .. hotel provided free airport transfer and staff was helpful with local attraction info.
Hot & powerful shower....an excellent touch !!
will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manja Hotel

Address: 26, Block E, KK Times Square, | Off Coastal Highway,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manja Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Manja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manja Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.