We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 City Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 City Hotel
Save
You added 1 City Hotel to your Saves list
Lot 1, Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Luzon, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

my partner and i stayed there for 2 days and 2 nights and we were welcomed by cheerful receptionists. they may not be fluent in English but the way they treated us was s overwhelming.
the room was clean and i love the location. close to the malls, restaurant and 10 min walk to jesselton point where we went to manukan island. i would really recommend this hotel. best customer service ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My friends and I spent 4 nights there. Due to the flight delay, we arrived at 3:00 am, what an odd time! But we were warmly welcomed by the front-desk receptionist. We had trouble with getting hot water for shower, but the mantainance-man was there to show us how to manipulate with the tap. We requested a double room and a twin-share room which were adjecent. The twin-share room was small but very clean and well kept. The shampoo and soap were supplied every day. Big TV set on the wall with several Chinese Phoenix Channel.
Gook Location! 5-min walk east to Jalan Gaya, 5-min west to the coast and central market, and 10-15 min walk to Jelseton Point Jetty.
Our flight was delayed and the trip to Pulau Tiga was cancelled due to the weather. The stay in 1 City was the only comforting thing in KK. Highly recommended. During Hazi Raya festival, it was full house every night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were bottles of water and tea facilities in room. The room was clean and had satellite TV and wi fi.

The hotel is very centrally located and for the price we thought it was great value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of weeks. The location is good, everything is walkable. We had several different rooms due to coming and going and all were fine. The rooms are of a decent size, lighting is good and windows are large. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Bathrooms work. We spent a couple of nights in an upgraded room, which offered more space but wasn't really worth the extra money. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The only downside of this hotel is that, on the lower floors, people can see into your room as they walk by along a balcony. There's not much foot traffic but enough that you need to remain clothed. Also, I'd recommend rooms on the street side, not the mall side. They're lighter. And, book online through their website. It's cheaper. You'll be charged more for any nights not booked online, even if you're just extending your time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Location is prime. Central to town.
Reception service is okay.
Room is okay, but not as good/new as in picture displayed in website. The toilet was leaking all time during my stay. Maybe is only that room.
So i wont call this a boutique hotel.
The price is not cheap in weekend, i ll consider many other choices nearby next time.
* WIFI connection is not great in room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is in the kk city which is accessible to many restaurants and attractions. It just takes less than 10 min to reach suria sabah, shopping mall and jesselton point which is the ferry jetty to tunku abdul rahman Marine park.

Even though it is an old building but the interior of the room is nice, clean but the Wallpaper quite dirty with black stain.

The room service is satisfactory because the room will be cleaned up with all of our clothes being folded nicely and put in the cupboard, small bottle of mineral water given etc.

Overall the hotel and service is okay even though the hotel reservation is a bit messy due to the Internet transaction issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friends and I stay at 1 City Hotel for 2 nights over the weekends. Ms Sandra and her team have delivered an excellence service and great hospitality.

The location of the hotel is very strategic, near to Gaya Street, Waterfront and Filipino market. Around 10-15 mins walking distance to Jesselton Jetty. Many local coffee shops are around the corner.

The room is well equipped with basic amenities. The bathroom is clean and the room is just nice to accommodate 2 guests.

With the affordable price and strategic location, 1 city hotel is definitely your choice!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Address: Lot 1, Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
1 City Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.