We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 City Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 City Hotel
Save
You added 1 City Hotel to your Saves list
Lot 1, Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in april 2013 for more than a week: excellent hotel, clean, unexpensive rooms and very friendly staff, especially the welcoming smiles of the 3 ladies Fetty, Diana and Sandra.
From your greatest belgian fans: Kim, Ilja and Mr. Sami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the 1 City Hotel for four nights in March 2013.

I arrived late at night at KKIA, and I was a bit apprehensive about a taxi as the hotel is fairly small and I feared it might not be well know. No bother though. The taxi voucher lady quickly recognized it and I purchased the voucher for RM30, fixed price.

The location of the hotel is good. It's in a central area close to most of the main shopping centres and restaurants. There is no breakfast at the hotel, so three times I went to the Old Town coffee shop which was about 5 mins walk away. Also it was very close to the starting point of a scuba diving excursion that I took (which was excellent, Divedown Below).

I opted for a Superior King room. The room was on the first floor. The decor and fittings of the room were adequate, and the bathroom was quite good. Housekeeping and cleanliness were average. My main complaint was that the building next door was under renovation, and drilling started at about 8am every day. It didn't matter too much to me because I was waking up that early anyways. Although this is not within the hotel's control I can see how someone would be seriously annoyed by this as the room was literally shaking once the drilling and banging started.

The staff at the hotel are friendly, the fluency of English spoken varies considerably. However I never had a problem.

Overall, I had a good experience, but the construction noise was quite bothersome. I might want to confirm that this was complete before staying again. But otherwise it was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukah, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, I booked it at the last minute and had low expectations, I just needed somewhere to stay before catching a flight.

The hotel turned out to be very good. It's in a brilliant location, close to the waterfront and one of the main shopping center, perfect if you are coming to kk for that purpose. The room was small but had more than I was expecting, a really good shower and bathroom and good aircon. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the center of the city, easy walking distance to Gaya Street, the waterfront, shopping and eating. Some maintenance work would make the appearance better; paint, resticking peeled wallpaper, reattach bathroom shelving that was falling off the wall, all minor things. The Queen room was pretty tight, we upgraded to a king and had space for our luggage. The price is definitely right. No mini fridge in the rooms, but the friendly staff stored our beer in theirs. Cleaning crew was a little spotty, our toilet remained unclean for several days, they did however change the linens regularly. More modern than other rooms we looked at other hotels in similar price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for Feb 9th to Feb 13th this year but due to personal reasons, our trip was cancelled. When asked for refunds, there was none due to their policy. But it was fair enough that we were given a year of open voucher,which meant that we still could replan our holiday. And we thought it was great. Just by last week, we managed to spend a week in the hotel with great services. We were especially happy with the holiday spots which they had arranged for us. Wonderful trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Customer Service, specifically Diana is heartless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012 for a June 18,2013 booking. Unfortunately, Air Asia announced that effectively February 1,2013 they were cancelling the Clark-Kota Kinabalu (and vice versa) route. Meaning no more flights going there.
Now, I got this trip as this was in super promo and I don't have money. It is hard for me to fly with any other carrier to go there and pay the regular rate.
I emailed Diana numerously letter her know of the cancellation of the airline for the route as no more planes would fly there. I requested a refund for my booking as it's not like I intentionally and erroneously just changed my mind. I was actually very devastated and stressed with this situation.
Anyways, her reply was I cannot give you a refund as their hotel has a no refund policy. "we are giving an option to change the date check-in and check out for our valued guest, or changing the name of person staying in your reservation".
WTF! Change the date of my check in? I can't fly there anymore! Give the room to somebody else? I don't have money to just give away to somebody else. And come on, this was booked on December for June 18. Why can't they just cancel the booking and give the room to somebody else? Is business so bad that that they can't re-book that one room (in June)? Are they so uptight on that rule even though it was booked 6 months ago (not a week ago!) and be compassionate and understanding and just give the refund considering the situation that was forced upon us? HAVE SOME SYMPATHY!

Room Tip: Customer Service, specifically Diana is hearless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and found it to be an excellent budget hotel and a wonderful luxury after backpackers guesthouses! We booked a standard room with a king size bed and the room was a good size with a great bathroom.

The location was excellent with both Jessleton Pier and Centre Point within walking distance - no taxis needed at all! After reading some of the reviews on here I expected the hotel to be in a dark alley but it is nothing like that - it is not the cleanest street in KK but it is really not that bad and is completely safe.

The rooms themselves were immaculate and cleaned daily. Bathroom had a lovely powerful shower - unfortunately it ran cold a few times during our stay but it was so hot outside we did not complain. Safety deposit boxes were provided in the rooms. One negative point was that the walls are quite thin and other guests were not particularly considerate and made lots of noise in the corridors while entering and leaving their rooms - fault lies more with rude and inconsiderate guests rather than hotel owners.

Staff were very friendly and helped us with booking our bus to Sandakan and any other queries we had. We had a lovely stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Address: Lot 1, Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
1 City Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.