We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you don't mind....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Gaya Lodge to your Saves list
Borneo Gaya Lodge
1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stay here if you don't mind....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First things first, this area is full of budget class choices so feel free to research to your hearts content before making a choice.

First, the pros: Location is a definite plus. Not only its near to the harbour, its also full of wonderful eats and convenience stalls. The lodge is within walking distance to a gigantic mall, just fantastic for a slow walk after a late night movie. It is also within walking distance of the signal hill observatory. The staff is also very knowledgeable and keen to help/assist you about getting around the area. Water dispenser is provided in house, saves you the trouble/money of buying bottled water. And well, they do provide clean towels ( taking into account that not all budget lodging provide towels)

Cons: Do note that there are aplenty.

I have stayed 4 nights in the lodge in different rooms so i would break down the issues in room level:

room 205: Shower water temperature was lukewarm at best and the TV (though there is not much programmes at all) was not working

room 201: This room is next to the main street. On Sunday, you could literally see the hustle and bustle beneath yourself but so can you feel the din! There are a family of pigeons residing in the false ceiling - trust me i hear them all the time whilst in the room. I bet its next occupants could tell too, the unmistakable smell of birds greeted me on my first entry to this room.

Toilet- Water temperature was great but there was a hole in the ceiling area of the toilet. It was hilarious yet disconcerting that i had to run out of the bathroom in the middle of using - a shocked bird decided to join me in the shower, flying in from that very hole. We managed to chase it out of the room within 3 mins. *phew.

Bed - i killed a grand total of 3 bedbugs on my stay here. My partner and i found it too much of a hassle to change accommodation since we were not bitten by bugs.

Note: since this room is nearer the office, you would be able to get wifi in your room. (201)

You get the feeling that this WAS a great place to stay. But overtime, they got famous and things got old, stuff didn't get fixed and they got complacent.

Despite all the complains, there is a special charm attached to this place and i would very much choose to stay with them the next time i go back to KK. Hopefully, they would hear my rants and pleadings and make the place indeed a better stay that next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
11
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here after tiring journey down of Mount Kinabalu with about 18 friends. It’s a perfect place for large group.

As expected, I need to share bathroom & toilet. It was so small which makes my shower experience not enjoyable. 2 bathrooms & 1 toilet. Liquid soap provided inside the bathroom.

The room was very hot & bed was not comfortable. The towel they provided was very small & thin. The air conditioning was not well maintained & it’s not cold enough. Power supply is a problem in the room. They have only one power supply in the room. They should have make extension for the power source especially at the big rooms.

Pro's : Location is ok.

Con's : Hot room, uncomfortable bed & small shower.

Tips :- If you come down from Mount Kinabalu. This might not be the place to rest. Backpacker me find this place ok..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my trip in Borneo. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were pleasant. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Bed was comfortable, bedding was clean and air con worked fine during my stay. There was hot water, but there is a charge for using their towels. Free Wi-Fi was good and worked during my entire stay. The free breakfast was fine - toast and jam (plenty of choices of jam!)

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. When I was trying to book a trip to Mt Kinabalu, the guy at reception gave me some very good advice and didn't push me to book with the tour operator that they use. He was also quite helpful in relation to getting buses to other locations. Overall, I thought that this hostel was good value for money for people travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: If staying on a Saturday night, make sure you book a room at the back of the hostel - the Sunday mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late at night and they provided help getting to the hostel even though I requested it quite late in the day. The 10 bed dorm was clean and all you need from a basic hostel. I would have no problem returning! Oh and 24 hour reception/person on duty is great too. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was nice and clean and the aircondition worked well. The shower was over the toilet so everything got wet when you showered but that's often the case in hostel so we were already used to that. The warm water always took long to get warm and then it was not much but that was okay - Malaysia is hot enough ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room smelled of mothballs. Ick. We found many and tossed them out the window. Toilet barely flushed. They never emptied our wastebasket nor replenished toilet paper in our three night stay. Noisy outside all Saturday night while Sunday Market was setting up. Always difficult to open door to second floor. Unfriendly staff. Expensive for what we got. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is peaceful and easy access to many roads. Bathrooms clean. There are are many places around this lodge to eat delicious food. At the evening the streets are full of people and colorful. However the quality of the rooms should be increased, but with the price it is worth. I can recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Address: 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Gaya Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Gaya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.