We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Gaya Lodge to your Saves list
Borneo Gaya Lodge
1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my trip in Borneo. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were pleasant. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Bed was comfortable, bedding was clean and air con worked fine during my stay. There was hot water, but there is a charge for using their towels. Free Wi-Fi was good and worked during my entire stay. The free breakfast was fine - toast and jam (plenty of choices of jam!)

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. When I was trying to book a trip to Mt Kinabalu, the guy at reception gave me some very good advice and didn't push me to book with the tour operator that they use. He was also quite helpful in relation to getting buses to other locations. Overall, I thought that this hostel was good value for money for people travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: If staying on a Saturday night, make sure you book a room at the back of the hostel - the Sunday mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived late at night and they provided help getting to the hostel even though I requested it quite late in the day. The 10 bed dorm was clean and all you need from a basic hostel. I would have no problem returning! Oh and 24 hour reception/person on duty is great too. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtur24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was nice and clean and the aircondition worked well. The shower was over the toilet so everything got wet when you showered but that's often the case in hostel so we were already used to that. The warm water always took long to get warm and then it was not much but that was okay - Malaysia is hot enough ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisefotografin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our room smelled of mothballs. Ick. We found many and tossed them out the window. Toilet barely flushed. They never emptied our wastebasket nor replenished toilet paper in our three night stay. Noisy outside all Saturday night while Sunday Market was setting up. Always difficult to open door to second floor. Unfriendly staff. Expensive for what we got. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is peaceful and easy access to many roads. Bathrooms clean. There are are many places around this lodge to eat delicious food. At the evening the streets are full of people and colorful. However the quality of the rooms should be increased, but with the price it is worth. I can recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and paid 60rm for a double with air con. The bed was amazing almost as good as mine back home. After staying in some pretty crap places we slept like babies. The only problem we had was the noise from the communal area outside our room. The management didn't tell people to turn the tv down and some American guy decided to call home on Skype at 3am in the morning. He wasn't talking he was shouting and I had to go out to tell him to keep the racket down. Other than that I would stay there again if we were ever in KK again. We ate at some great food at the night markets I would highly recommend the red and black snapper we had it was delicious. And we also went to the islands in the national park; our fave was Sape. The hostel give out vouchers for 10rm off the boat ticket which makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markandjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double room with aircon and private bathroom. Although the room was tiny, it was clean and very quiet at night. The bed was also okay. Staff was friendly after a while, they seem a bit distracted because of mobile phones etc.

We booked our trip to the kinabatangan river trough them (2 nights, 3 days) which we would really recommend! After taking a bus we were picked up at a restaurant stop. Form there it was about 1 hour to the river. We stayed at a nice little wooden house. Which was clean and comfortable. The owner were very very friendly and the food was absolutely great, all homemade and plenty. Cruises and tracking was also good, we saw some wild elephants! Would recommend booking trough them if you plan to go here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#39 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Borneo Cabin
North Borneo Cabin
#10 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#16 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#12 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
X-Plorer Backpackers
X-Plorer Backpackers
#40 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 80 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Address: 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Gaya Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing