We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Gaya Lodge to your Saves list
Borneo Gaya Lodge
1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my trip in Borneo. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were pleasant. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Bed was comfortable, bedding was clean and air con worked fine during my stay. There was hot water, but there is a charge for using their towels. Free Wi-Fi was good and worked during my entire stay. The free breakfast was fine - toast and jam (plenty of choices of jam!)

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. When I was trying to book a trip to Mt Kinabalu, the guy at reception gave me some very good advice and didn't push me to book with the tour operator that they use. He was also quite helpful in relation to getting buses to other locations. Overall, I thought that this hostel was good value for money for people travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: If staying on a Saturday night, make sure you book a room at the back of the hostel - the Sunday mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
13
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived late at night and they provided help getting to the hostel even though I requested it quite late in the day. The 10 bed dorm was clean and all you need from a basic hostel. I would have no problem returning! Oh and 24 hour reception/person on duty is great too. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was nice and clean and the aircondition worked well. The shower was over the toilet so everything got wet when you showered but that's often the case in hostel so we were already used to that. The warm water always took long to get warm and then it was not much but that was okay - Malaysia is hot enough ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our room smelled of mothballs. Ick. We found many and tossed them out the window. Toilet barely flushed. They never emptied our wastebasket nor replenished toilet paper in our three night stay. Noisy outside all Saturday night while Sunday Market was setting up. Always difficult to open door to second floor. Unfriendly staff. Expensive for what we got. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is peaceful and easy access to many roads. Bathrooms clean. There are are many places around this lodge to eat delicious food. At the evening the streets are full of people and colorful. However the quality of the rooms should be increased, but with the price it is worth. I can recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and paid 60rm for a double with air con. The bed was amazing almost as good as mine back home. After staying in some pretty crap places we slept like babies. The only problem we had was the noise from the communal area outside our room. The management didn't tell people to turn the tv down and some American guy decided to call home on Skype at 3am in the morning. He wasn't talking he was shouting and I had to go out to tell him to keep the racket down. Other than that I would stay there again if we were ever in KK again. We ate at some great food at the night markets I would highly recommend the red and black snapper we had it was delicious. And we also went to the islands in the national park; our fave was Sape. The hostel give out vouchers for 10rm off the boat ticket which makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double room with aircon and private bathroom. Although the room was tiny, it was clean and very quiet at night. The bed was also okay. Staff was friendly after a while, they seem a bit distracted because of mobile phones etc.

We booked our trip to the kinabatangan river trough them (2 nights, 3 days) which we would really recommend! After taking a bus we were picked up at a restaurant stop. Form there it was about 1 hour to the river. We stayed at a nice little wooden house. Which was clean and comfortable. The owner were very very friendly and the food was absolutely great, all homemade and plenty. Cruises and tracking was also good, we saw some wild elephants! Would recommend booking trough them if you plan to go here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Address: 1st Floor, No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah,, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Gaya Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Gaya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.