We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little backpackers lodge: great...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Save Saved
You added Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice little backpackers lodge: great...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

A nice little backpackers lodge: great location, clean and comfy.

Good value for money and comfortable beds. Our double room looked a little tired but was quiet and we slept well.
Hostel is well located for ferry terminal, bars, restaurants and nearby night market (which is the best place to get dinner in the evening)

The
only real negative was the water supply, which frequently would stop - annoying if you're mid-shower! Otherwise I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We spent four nights here, using it as a base for our climb up Mount Kinabalu. It is an absolute gem - the staff go out of their way to help, the rooms are modern, really clean and comfortable and it is incredibly cheap. It even has its own house cat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC, VN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The 1st day I stayed in another hotel in a private room but it was terrible. So I had to look for other places, only here is cleanest with affordable price. It locates near Jesselton Ferry Terminal. I think Lavender Lodge near Filipino Market also clean but a bit higher. I stayed in a dorm mix room (male + female) but quite safe. Price 25RM + continental breakfast + aircon all day. There are 2 common bath + 2 common toilet, of course not comfortable and spacious like at home but I don't ask for more convenience at that price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This backpacker is located at a very strategic location; near to jetty, town and public transports (bus and vans). You can easily soak in the Kota Kinabalu Sunday Market atmosphere as they are just above the buzz. Cleanliness and friendliness is excellent.
There was once I stayed out too late and the lady at the reception actually waited up for me, very much like how a mother would (minus the nagging)!
They don't serve huge, heavy breakfast but it's enough to cure any early morning hunger pangs one may experience after a good night's sleep.
Bathrooms are shared but are always very clean.
Good stay and very good value for the service they offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

A place for all travelers to feel home and the friendliness of locals.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I booked this after reading the reviews from the other travellers, so wanted to give the alternative point of view considering my experience. In short, the staff are lovely and I feel bad putting this review on here, but I found it a very noisy place. It is on a main road and the walls and windows are very thin. Our room faced the back but I could still hear the traffic from the road. The walls between the rooms are extremely thin. We could hear every conversation at all hours of the day and well into the night and morning. If someone sneezed it sounded if it was in your room. We heard the couple having sex in the room next door. Lovely! It was friendly enough, but it was full of young European girls hogging the free computer to check their Facebook pages for an hour, even though they had been given a 20 minute time limit. There is free breakfast and the place is spotless and nice bathrooms. Yuan is a gem and really did organise our 2 weeks in Sabah for us. And while I feel grateful to her, we did not return and stay in this place when we returned to KK because I had spent 3 sleepless nights there. We were the only backpackers in our 40s, so maybe it is an age thing. Everyone else was in their early 20s. We wanted to get a good nights sleep and get up early and see stuff. The others would be up late and complain when they slept in they missed their bus to Sandakan. I would recommend it to people who are of a certain age and demographic, perhaps not suitable for those our age. I felt like putting this on here because we had no idea how noisy it was, surely others have noticed?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed here from March 26 until April 2. I must say the staffs were amazing and very accommodating. BJ helped us in every possible way he can. They made our stay in KK a memorable one :D. Thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.