We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely stay, max privacy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“homely stay, max privacy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have stayed in Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge five days. The place is clean, homely and very intimate. I stayed in a dorm and most of the time there were just two people there. The girls taking care of the place are amazing - very helpful, friendly, flexible. Real help to a person who stays just a few days and does not have so much time to investigate on options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kudat, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is indeed a great place, very quiet, but not so clean as it used to be last year, unfortunately. I've stayed there a few times. The last two times I stayed the bedsheets hadn't been changed, so I had to ask them to get me clean ones. I also told them if they keep like this they will lose customers. It's a pity, so I hope they get serious about this again, because clealiness was what made the place so great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms. We moved because the first was quite small ( but would have been perfectly adequate if we weren't staying for so long). Clean, lots of toast for breakfast, computers and wifi, hot showers, sitcom and a lovely lady who works all hours and cleans the communal areas every day!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here for 6 days and the place so nice, and here have one staff name siti.. she very good and kind.. the place so clean and easy we want go everywhere, becouse here near from city.. traffic light so noise, but i enjoy here. siti very kind and we always talk and she work here for 24 hours.. long time, but she say too me, she enjoy here and know many people.. i like to bring siti out for watch movies, but her friend not allow she go out, i don't why.. i don't like siti friend but i like siti. here have internet too, and benefit here.. so amazing i stayed here.. i will come here for next holiday..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

this B& B lodge is the one for backpackers touring sabah and wanting to climb mt kinabalu. the staffs are simply fabulous and they really make my day. i wonder whether people like hody, diana (ohh...i think i'm in love with her), hazam and roger are still around. thumbs up for the lodge and the staffs!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Le, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here for two nights as it looked clean and the dorms and bathroom etc were....the down side is its located on a main road and the traffic noise is bad...its worse when the nights staff open the front balcony doors and windows when they put breakfast out at 0630.They still did it when i pointed it out to them.....the night staff spoke reasonable English but the day staff was a struggle to get info....i had rinsed out my clothes and towel...the one that is lightweight absorbent and took 3 months to find before i left and it went missing....there was only a few in the hostel and i now know why....i am going back to town in 2 weeks but will not stay here

Room Tip: do not have a room near the road...???
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We had a great time at the Lodge, we stayed there for about 6 or 7 nights before and after climbing Mount Kinabalu. The hostel is nicely decorated, staff is very friendly and helps you to find your way around town, when I could hardly walk after climbing mount Kinabalu, their staff helped me to carry my luggage up to the room etc.
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hostel, there was always someone cleaning the showers and toilets so that we didnt have any EEEK experience which are so common in other hostels...

It's easy walking distance to the jetty to get to Tunk Abdul National Park and it's about a 20 minute walk to the night market where you can eat amazingly fresh and yummie fish and where the locals help you to mix the sauce for the fish which is lots of fun.

We had a great time in Kota Kinabalu and stayed a little longer than we had planned to as we really enjoyed the hostel as well!

There is also a little area downstairs with two computers and a TV where you could order takeaway food to or just hang out and watch TV.

Can highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
North Borneo Cabin
North Borneo Cabin
#11 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunibon Lodge
Bunibon Lodge
#17 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#12 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#4 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#8 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#18 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.