We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a day or two” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stay-In Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stay-In Lodge to your Saves list
Stay-In Lodge
1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Floor, | Lot 121, Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for a day or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very good location, close to all KK amenities and the Sunday market is held in the same street.
Been Malaysia not the cheapest in South-est Asia accommodation wise, here u get what u pay for and this place is a good option if you just transiting through Kota Kinabalu for a day
The staff is excellent, very helpful.
The room was very Spartan with a double bed and a single bed, they are equipped with both A/C and fan, if you want to use the A/C there is an additional cost 5MR on the basic fan room price.
To get to your room you must pass through 2 close gates for extra safety
On the 2nd floor (where I was) there are 3 triple room and 2 dormitory with 3 shared Toilet/shower (with hot water and a good pressure) wifi work fine too

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Is totally not that clean as what we though. Bathroom smelly, corridor dirty. Is not comfortable to stay here. And for some room, does not offer bathroom, we have to use public bathroom outside corridor. Add-on, bathroom leaking. Totally bad.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is only 45 MYR for a double bed with twin fans.
No need for A/C for me although it is available for 10 MYR more!!!
The best value place I could find after trolling the streets of KK for awhile.

If you want all the mod cons and yuppie comforts in KK then think of maybe getting a 100MYR a night room somewhere else for which there are many options available.

Stay-In Lodge is a very good low cost budget option and it suited me perfectly.

Bear in mind that Malaysia is about the 4th most expensive accommodation in Asia. So put things in perspective folks! The more you pay the more you get!

The place is rustic. It is basic and it is clean.

The staff are excellent. Michael the manager is super friendly and a goldmine of information about the local area. Everybody speaks good English. All staff are helpful and respectful.
There is a TV lounge, free internet, WiFi, free toast and tea breakfast and hot water showers.
There is free use of the kitchen to have a cuppa or prepare some snacks which I find very handy as I often like to make my own food.

The lobby closes at 11pm which allows travelers a good night's sleep.
It is one of the most secure places I have stayed.You need to access two key-pass doors to get access to your floor and then a key to get into your room.There is also CCTV monitoring comings and goings.

It is in a good location in Jalan Gaya with close proximity to all the local sights.

There was no smoke problems for the 5 days I stayed here. In fact because the place is very airy this would rarely be an issue. There are many outside clothes lines which is a big plus for me as I hand wash every day.

I read all the previous reviews and thought some were a bit unfair, biased and some just simply untrue.
I am a frequent traveler to Asia and have stayed in many budget accommodation options over many years.
I suspect some of the previous reviews are bogus maybe from opposition businesses trying to gain economic advantage.
I am a light sleeper and there is no loud(boom boom) music.. There is live music in a nearby street that finishes early. Sleep is my number one requirement.

And another plus is the free guitar so you can impress your fellow travelers with your best "Smoke on the Water" riff.

Room Tip: It is good to get a room on the top floor(4th) as it is more secure and less likelihood of any stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The prices are the best in the area however the rooms are disgusting. The windows can't be closed and the curtains are see through and flimsy. I was kept up all night because of noises from outside and in the hallways were easily heard. Wifi did not work in the room. The only positive was the friendly and helpful staff the location and the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The place is cheap - thats the good part of it. And they have filtered tap water for drinking, tea and coffee. Wifi is good in the reception area, but doesn't work on the 4th floor. Enough of the common areas, so you don't have to stick on your bed, but they aren't that cosy or nice...
The rooms, corridors and showers are not clean and I am pretty sure that my sheets were not changed (though I saw a guy changing it in a couple rooms). It stinks in the room and at least my dormitory room had no window. Also no power sockets in the room and I found only 2 of them in whole floor. Fan doesn't really reach the lower bunk bed, so it gets really hot through the night.
And then the smoke. The smell is everywhere, cigarette buts can be found all around and people are smoking on every corner. Though nobody was smoking in the room, the stench still comes from the corridor. So really not recommended for those, who can't stand tobacco smoke.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After almost 2 years travelling around the world we can say that this place was, by far, the worst.
Simply, if you don't want to stay in a place that looks like a jail, where you cannot sleep because of the really loud music in the bars beside, and where laying on bed it's really disgusting cause the the pillow covers stink like never been wasehd, DON'T STAY IN THAT PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for a few weeks.

There is no place in the building you can be free from passive tobacco smoke.

The first 3 nights I was right next to the smoking area and it was dreadful.

They move me down the corridor but smoke still Wafts down and enters the room.

Serious health hazard. They need to do something to fix this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay-In Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay-In Lodge

Address: 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Floor, | Lot 121, Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Stay-In Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay-In Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay-In Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.