We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located. Budget stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Lodge to your Saves list
Summer Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 120, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well located. Budget stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

It's a budget hotel, so you get what you pay for.
We stayed in a windowless double with private bathroom for 60MR.
Very well located. The city bus stop is a 3 min walk. There are food and bars nearby.
The room was relatively clean- certainly clean linen, floor and bathroom. Sure the rooms are a little run down- but for only 60MR we couldn't really complain.
We skipped the 'free breakfast' but I believe it was coffee and toast.
Wifi connection was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
3
10
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I liked this place. easy to find and close to everyting. its not the most fancy place i have been staying at, but in some way i feel really comfortable here. some bad things about this place is for exampel that you need to pay for the blankets and towels, but a very simple breakfast and lockers are included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed with my family at this place 5 years ago. We simply loved it. Very clean and nice staff. Especially we liked the "lobby" with the cats and the breakfast with the Kaya spread. So it was a big disappointment when we dropped in this time. Almost everything changed to worse. Elly was the only exception, she was nice and helpful. It seems that as they have changed the entry to the back side and moved the lobby to a different site everything has degraded...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found this place quite by accident while unexpectedly stuck in KK for one nite.

Security gate with a camera up front was locked and only unlocked by the reception two flights of stairs up. As I didn't want to stay in a dorm after having been in a long rainy trip down from Kota Kinabalu, I asked for and got a private room with an attached bathroom, but no windows.

Check in was pretty straight forward and prompt. Rate was just RM69, including breakfast. The communcal hall was cosy with a television, couches & computers with free internet usage. The entire facility was also provided with free wi-fi which works just fine even in the room. No footwear was allowed which is fine as the place seems pretty well-kept. Smoking is only allowed either on the open rooftop or downstairs.

Room is basic, with a double bed (clean white sheets!) and a side-table, full air-con which you can leave on after leaving. Attached bathroom is of a substantial size with hot/cold shower and the water volume is fantastic. Breakfast is basic, with juice & bread with some jam but its a free-for-all, eat however much you want.

The vibe of this place is pretty laid-back, typical of a backpackers' lodge. A variety of travellers on the way to somewhere. Most of them keep to themselves, with a majority of lone travellers who use the free internet to book connecting trips. A tour desk in the lodge is also open in the day, with pretty reasonable prices.

Good place to start off your tour of Borneo, splurge abit for a private room as I heard the common baths & dorms are not as comfy.

Room Tip: Call ahead to check for rooms availability as the location is a pretty good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

the lady giving advice here, Betty, was wonderful and friendly. Full of knowledge and real help not just pushing you onto tours. The place was generally unclean and the lodge staff were lazy. the staff responsible for providing service just didn't. You have to ask for clean sheets, towels and don't bother with floor cleaner, bleach or disinfectant buy a bottle of your own if you're staying awhile. IT IS CHEAP! the staff often had friends in who used spare rooms and made noise. But a quick complaint would sort this the next day. They need a good manager here and it could be great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here on our World Challenge trip. It is a nice, simple place to stay. The bathrooms and rooms are moderately clean but we didn't really mind as we never spent a lot of time in our rooms. The communal lounge is a nice place to hang out. We talked a lot down there and it had a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was really good; it was mainly just toast but we also got fresh fruit which was tasty! There's a TV and free internet there too which we used a lot of. However, we booked into the Rainforest Lodge after a few nights here and realised that the Rainforest Lodge is a lot nicer for a cheaper price. Between the two lodges, a highly reccomend staying at the Rainforest Lodge! It's about a 10 second walk from Summer Lodge :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The accommodation was part of our tour itinerary and there's no way to transfer to another lodge.
Location is good but the service and rooms were not. I got a chance to look inside the other rooms and all were the same -- dirty. The bed sheets and linens are all gray and look really unclean. Well, A/C is ok and you can leave it open while your out. Worst was our last night that the water run out on the whole lodge that we didn't got a chance to clean ourselves before we left for the airport the next day. Imagine the toilet full of ****. I blame the tour agency for choosing this lodge, and i would not recommend this to any backpackers out there. I strolled around the area and there a better lodge nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 2nd, 3rd & 4th Floor, Lot 120, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.