We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE don't go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nishiki

Nishiki
59 Jalan Gaya | Kota Kinabalu Lama, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
(088) 230 582
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 331 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed close by and had read good reviews so gave it a go. Place was very cold like a fridge, service was almost non existant, and the sushi chef stared at us like we had three heads, when I nodded his head he didn't even acknowledge the hello. Food - yuk. Miso was like chicken soup, not clear at all. Seewead salad was cucumber and lettuce with a little seewead garnish with thousand island dressing or garlic dressing... Japanese really? Tempura was fatty and tasteles, tofu ok. Overall 80 MYR for a few small portions of inedible food. I wish I could rate it ZERO

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    20
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was looking forward to fresh sushi. Staff were friendly and polite, but service quite slow and all our food came out separately. Food was nice but very overpriced with quite small portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love Nishiki but the food is overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love Nishiki, I go there at least once a month. I won't say the food is very authentic but it suits the taste of Sabahans well. I like their niku-jaga (braised beef with potatoes), niku-tofu, tempura, and some beef dishes. The prices of the food is overpriced, a dinner for 2 persons will cost u at least RM80, that's why I can only go there once a month.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Service is kind and quick. Food was good and made by original Japanese Chefs. Noodles with prawns were excellent. Maybe it's a little bit expensive for Malaysian standards. They give you also fruit for free at the end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

it's a bit pricey compare to other japanese restaurant in d kk. i remember i asked about d salmon sushi rm6.50 is for 2 or 3 pcs? n it is actually rm6.50 each!! d food (e.g sizzling beef n sukiyaki beef) was salty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nishiki also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Nishiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nishiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.