We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable; hassle free; efficient staff; close to shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Borneo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable; hassle free; efficient staff; close to shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We feel very comfortable staying at this hotel. The Gallery Room where we stayed at is quite a good size. The bathroom is big and everything (shower, toilet flush, bidet shower, etc) worked great. There is adequate amount of towels from bath towel to hand towel, and there is even clean towel for a floor mat. The bedding and all is fluffy and so comfy to sleep on. The phone operator is very efficient and helpful. They'll get what you needed passed on to the relevant department and they are all very efficient. The indoor swimming pool is very nice, well kept and clean. But as it is an indoor pool, the water is a bit too cold. We couldn't enjoy the pool for too long :) 1 Borneo Hypermall is right within immediate access. It is at the ground floor, just outside the hotel lobby. The only downside is, the hotel ONLY provide complimentary parking outside of the hotel "first come first serve basis". Get down from the car and go approach the car park officer, they should help you get a parking spot. So if you are lucky, you'll get a spot almost immediately, if you are not lucky, then you'll have to park elsewhere and all parking spaces around 1 Borneo and it's surroundings are charged. Please be aware that overnight parking is not cheap.

Room Tip: Gallery Room is good although it has no view. It has big window and nice window treatment. It has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    122
    54
    30
    11
See reviews for
38
40
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The bed is so small in the superior room...the door lock and fridge is broken...looks like the hotel did not properly maintain the room . The pool is dirty n wifi is utterly useless . The hotel also did not provide ample parking for us who wants to stay in this hotel. I booked this hotel for 2 days and ended up checking out the next day. We will not be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was our first time in KK and our trip became more surprising when our travel agent suddenly upgraded our accommodation to Grand Borneo. My friends and I stayed at a top floor and we've got a great view. Room is clean,with electric pot for instant free coffee and tea. Bathroom is OK as well, with hair dryer and ample supply of bath towels. Hotel provides laundry bags and slippers. We stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights we really enjoyed their big breakfast buffet. They've got this huge choices of menu, good value for money.

Hotel is also adjacent to Borneo1 Mall for your shopping convenience. We shopped at the nearby Cotton On shop where we've purchased lots of their sale items.

My draw back point in this hotel- they do not have wifi access in the rooms. You will have to go down to the Lobby to connect to their WIFI, and connection is a bit slow. We just opted to go to Borneo1 Mall for a faster wifi connection.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Sorry but we had planned to stay as we thought it looked good from the photos etc. we had come from sandakan so had to go with it.
We found the place very large and open at the front many staff about like any big hotel does.
We get upstairs and find the rooms okay we had a view and sunn the morning which was a killer (heat) theirs no wi-fi yes only a plug into the internet who takes a laptop now on holidays everything is ipad. The wi-fi doesn't work when your down stairs at all I tried that many times I ended up in the mall at a coffee shop.
Staff were trying all the times fix the problem and saying they are working on it.
Bathroom maybe the best part large shower head was nice but couldn't stay their all the time. Sorry but could do a lot better for the price I wont be back

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

From booking to departure, the experience is totally disappointing.

Booked thru' Air Asia, wrote to hotel directly for information but never get a reply!

Arrived from Airport -
It was raining heavily. The entrance of the hotel was blocked with many waiting vehicles, hotel staff did not bother to control the traffic and we have to unload our own luggage in the rain for the check-in. Not even an apology from the staff.

Room -
Upon check-in Window handle was discovered broken, TV remote cover was missing & the batteries keep falling off. No effort to at least use a scotch tape to seal the back of the remote control. Stingy with amenities only provide one bottle of their 'small' body foam for two guests.

Bed was comfortable as we like it hard & firm. No complaints for the buffet breakfast as for the price we paid RM 55 for two persons, it's reasonable. Though the coffee is tasteless.

Room key failed multiple times during our stay even effort was made to keep them away from electronic devices.

Gym, converted by two guest rooms, was hideous with lousy equipment. Compendium states it operates from 6 am but when we went to reception, we were as-a-matter-of-facts told it only available at 7 am. And the staff can tell us 'u only can use one hour'. Which hotel restrict the usage hours of gym?

Departure-
Staff forgot to return our credit cards upon payment, realised only when we reached our next hotel. Also, the housekeeping claimed they did not see my wallet I left by mistake during checks out. Checking out at 6+ am in the morning, how can my wallet not be in the room when I was just organising it the night before checks out! I'm sure I did not lose it elsewhere cos my partner paid for the taxi to our next hotel and I have no reason to take out my wallet, so the last place it has been was the hotel room.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone as obviously the hotel is not interested to keep guests. Despite the many comments on poor customer service, you can't see any effort from management to improve. The staff doesn't greet or smile. Cold and no personal touch.

It good to stay in hotel near K K city where the attractions and good seafood food are cos taxi trip to/fro K K costs RM 30 per way. Though there's free shuttle to K K from the shopping mall. You have to book in advance as it's a 20 seater.

Hope this review is helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient to shopping mall just going to back glass door from lobby.
Free shuttle from hotel to k.k city centre.
Should try the teh tarek and cheese banana fritters.
Half hour drive to and from airport.
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insan S, Director of Sales at Grand Borneo Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked a gallary room with internal window (facing a wall) around RM165. Hotel and the room is clean and comfortable. The bathroom was big but the room was small. Aircond was too cold even i had made it to 30 degree celcius. -.- Provide water heater, mineral water, coffee and tea packets everyday. Breakfast was normal and there not many choices. Water in the indoor swimming pool was freezing cold! suggust they provide a heated swiming pool. :p Attached to 1Borneo shopping Mall and near to Universiti Malaysia Sabah, far from KK main town but can be easy accessible by public transport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insan S, Director of Sales at Grand Borneo Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and have noted on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Address: TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall; an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.