We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Borneo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Grand Borneo was great for our week's vacation. Our room was spacious with complete amenities and quite clean. The front desk staff was most helpful. It is some distance from the city center but there is a free hourly shuttle service ; during the off hours, taxis and commuter buses are readily available. Being within 1 Borneo Mall more than makes up for its being outside the city; there are enough boutiques to shop from, grocery for supplies, and a wide selection of food. At any rate, the city can be visited in one day; KK's 2 biggest attractions are the National Park and island-hopping and one's home-base has no bearing in doing this. Gaya Street Market is really fun so visiting on a Sunday is highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    122
    54
    30
    11
See reviews for
38
40
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was cosy with modern decoration. I was staying at the executive suite room and definetly it was a great room. Everything was tip top except the food. Anyhow, it wasnt that matter because this hotel is located inside the 1Borneo Hypermall and you could walk out and eat outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe or superior deluxe room, or else go for suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Due to its location attached to the shopping mall, makes it convenient to dine and shop. Plenty of outlets to choose from. i would say, in comparrison to city centre shopping, the shops and food outlet here are much better. Hotel wise, its a 4 star hotel, however quality of the fixtures are almost 5 star ish..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Ecija Province, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay here was really excellent. The rooms are almost brand new, clean, & well maintained. It also has complete room amenities like coffee maker, hair blower and high speed wired internet for laptops. The buffet breakfast is excellent too! Lots of variety to choose from, from american to asian breakfast. If you're kind a shopper too, this hotel is for you coz it is just right beside the biggest mall in sabah, the 1Borneo. Other than the mall, there are restaurants too. But it is quite distant from the city proper and to the airport. Taxis are not a problem to this area. Plus, the staffs are nice & approachable. 

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was in KK for 5d4n trip to visit my boyfriend and his family. Chose this hotel since it's nearby one of his sister's place.

23 May
Checked in at 0030hrs(24 May), was given Superior Room 507. It's wonderful, their standards met my expectations. Had a pleasant sleep.

24 May
Wonderful view, good block-out sun curtains were what we woke up to in the morning. Found two defects in the morning while in the showers, reported to the Front Desk before leaving for the day, and they were very polite and prompt. Upon returning, room was squeky clean, defects were fixed. My thoughts, "Splendid!!" Although you can hear the pumping music from the UK Fun Fair from across the street, but music's off after 11.30pm, so had a wonderful, peaceful sleep after a tiring day.

25 May
Before leaving the room, we left the housekeeping staffs a note of "Happy Harvest Festival" in the Kadazan-Dusun Language. We also did some washing of clothes, and hung the clothes in the bathroom. When we returned, not only was the room very cleaned again, the clothes were left untouched, they also replied the note, wishing "Happy Harvest Festival" and "Aramai Tii", which means to be happy always in their language. =) Again after the Fun Fair's music stopped, we had a good sleep. Good channels to watch as well on their TV. =)

26 May
Very clean rooms and peaceful sleep once again. =)

27 May
Upon clearing out of the room, we left the housekeepers tips as they've done a splendid job for our room during our stay. And we left them notes of "Happy Harvest Festival, Aramai Tii!! =)" and "Thank you for keeping our rooms clean and tidy." Upon check out, deposit of RM100 was returned in cash, luggages were kept neatly and in an organised manner in the Store Room. After returning from last minute shopping, we collected our luggages and thanked the Front Desk. =)

(Some plus points)
+ Conveniently linked to the 1Borneo Mall.
+ Lots of food, shopping and leisure to do.
+ They have a recycle policy for the towels, so if you think you don't need it to be changed, do not leave it on the floor. Let's save Mother Earth people!! =)**
+ Late check out till 1pm
+ Free storage of luggages.
+ Can arrange for tours.

Room Tip: If you sleep earlier than midnight, best to ask the Front Desk to have your room away from the UK Fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at Grand Borneo Hotel in mid-May for a four-day business trip to Kota Kinabalu. Though it is about 20 minutes' drive to the city centre, I stayed here because the assignment I on was held at the 1Borneo Hypermall, which this hotel is attached to, and my colleagues who flew in for the same assignment were also put up there.

There are three other hotels attached to the mall - Novotel, Tune Hotel and Courtyard Hotel (all placed along the same stretch as the south entrance of the mall - coming up from the road travelling from KK city centre, you will reach Novotel first, then the south entrance then Grand Borneo, Tune Hotel and Courtyard Hotel).

Being attached to the mall with its own entrance to the mall (that's open from 6am to 11pm), I found the location good. Being one of the largest malls in KK, there are plenty of shops and eateries if you don't feel like venturing out. There's also a 24-hour convenience store just next to the hotel, which is good if you're feeling peckish after closing time.

The hotel staff are warm and welcoming. When we arrived by rented car, we were given a spot at their limited parking area and someone helped bring our luggage in. They were also helpful in giving us directions to a famous (but hard-to-find) seaafood restaurant (turned out that they were partially right in their directions, GPS helped us the rest of the way).

I booked two superior rooms - one with a king-sized bed for me and my husband who accompanied me, and one with twin beds for my colleague and a friend who came along on the trip. The rooms were fair: they were a good size and there was plenty of storage and space to move around and the windows faced the mountains and the Alamesra neighbourhood.

The room is equipped with a mini fridge, tea and coffee-making facilities, a flatscreen TV (crappy channels but we connected it to our laptop with an HDMI cable), free broadband internet connection and plenty of electrical outlets around the room (more than enough to plug in our laptop, phone chargers and camera battery charger). In the bathroom, the toilet seat is wider than usual, as is the bathtub - which is a major plus (the room with the twin beds had a rain shower instead of a bathtub and the bathroom had a large frosted window that looks into the bedroom itself). There is also a decent countertop to place our bag of toiletries.

There are some signs of wear - there were two spots of what looked like burn marks in the bathtub and the standing lamp by the window was tilted at an angle, for instance, and every day we had one good big fluffy towel and a smaller, limp grey one. Considering the state of some other hotels I've been to, though, this was not a major issue.

I can't comment on the food at the hotel restaurant as I didn't opt for breakfast when I booked the room as, being right to the mall, we had plenty of food options there.

I would recommend this only if you're heading to the mall or if you're heading out of or into KK from somewhere else. If you are thinking of checking out the sights around KK city centre itself, you'd be better off getting accommodation within the city itself.

I would recommend renting a car if you intend to go around the place, taxi fares can be pricey as they charge flat rates as opposed to meter rates (although, if you're just heading into the city centre, there is a free shuttle that goes there).

If you are booking a room here though, bear in mind that there are rooms that are without windows (which can be pretty clautrophobic) - the cheapest rooms with windows are the standard rooms, followed by the superior ones, deluxe ones and so on.

Room Tip: Be sure of the room you are booking - there are those that have no windows. Also, I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Grand Borneo Hotel which is anything but grand, is a long way from the city. About 20 minutes by taxi or free shuttle. It is connected to a mall, which is one of it's few virtues.
We booked a "Grand Deluxe" room and it was nothing much like the picture on the web site.
There is an enormous bathtub which took up a large amount of the promised space leaving the two of us crowded in the bedroom. The brochure lies.
There is space for only one bag and the wardrobe has space for about 1&1/2 people. It also contains the safe, but there is no light in the wardrobe so it is hard to see what you are doing. There was one chair and an enormous chaise longe. There is the usual crowded desk and a dinky little table that is useless for practical purposes.
When we arrived the room was hot as were the corridors. When you go out ,the air conditioning switches off and you have to reset it when you return. There were no towels or toiletries and we had to ring down.
We noticed a broken patched window (photo) and no storage space.
Only one small bottle of water each is supplied and the tap water left a dark scum in my CPAP machine which was hard to clean.
The room has insufficient lighting at night and 2 days later , they finally removed the room service dinner plate from outside the door.
The safe battery failed and they fixed that the next day.
The staff on the front desk seemed obliging and friendly.
This is a two star hotel and not four. It has no internet to the rooms and the business centre charges R10 per half hour. That's roughly three dollars.
The beds are typical of SE Asia. Hard as a rock and my back just ached.
I shudder at the idea of ever coming to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I am told that a corner suite on a superior room is the best option if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Address: TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall; an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.