We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Hate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Borneo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love Hate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Decided to splurge on Grand Borneo after staying in some basic rooms in KK and Sandakan. Opted for the Grand Deluxe package which was surprisingly nice, 85 USD per night . We were ushered to the 15th floor for a special checkin, beer, wine, juice drinks and snacks. The room was like a modern studio apartment without the kitchen. Separate living room area, desks in both living area and bedroom, fridge, two LCD TVs, tub, separate shower room, separate toilet room, double sinks. The package came with a special breakfast on the 15th floor, much better than the standard restaurant breakfast which we had for lunch, more private, 2 big screen TVs (sound off). Each evening, 5 to 7 pm, more drinks and snacks on the 15th floor lounge. All was wonderful until I woke up the first morning and found what appeared to be blood on the sheets, obviously never laundered. Housekeeping was nowhere to be found even with multiple calls. Finally, hours later, housekeeping shows up. I said the previous guest left blood on the sheets. "You want the sheets changed?" No apology, no anything.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    123
    54
    30
    11
See reviews for
38
40
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Pros-Good shopping mall.Many options to eat in food court.Decent Breakfast but again breakfast area lacked finesse.Grand lobby.Pretty clean.
Cons-Far from city center,parts of room lacked finesse.One side had a lamp other didnt etc. etc. Parking hassles in front of hotel.Must park in mutli level parking in mall.
Overall a decent place to stay if you dont mind driving up. We had a self driven car, hence it was convenient. If you are tourists, would recommend hotel in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

Travel to KK with a few buddies and looking for a hotel thats conveniently
priced and located.  Finally settle in on GRAND BORNEO HOTEL after
considering a few others, and I have to say I was quite impressed with the friendly and personalised service from the staffs, comfortable and cozy rooms, as well as the breakfast which came with the room (their local delicasy "nasi lemak" and condiments were somethign to I woke up looking forward to every morning.

Stayed with 2 other friends in the luxurious Grand Suite.  Room was spacious and had a wonderful external bathtub facing the mountains.  Room was clean,
and bed was very comfortable and soft.

Room came with access to Borneo Privilege Lounge.  While selection wasnt alot, the quality was there, and staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Definitely will be back to this hotel on my next trip to the land below the Wind!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Though it's a bit off town (but not that far), this 4star hotel makes me and my daughter stays in comfort. It's about 40mins away frm the airport. Taxi fare is RM50. I booked through Agoda and everything went smoothly from the day i checked-in. The frontlines staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are well equipped with modern n simple amenities.
This hotel is attached to 1 Borneo Mall (largest shopping mall). Tours can be arranged by the counter staff. Will stay here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great hotel, Staff Fantastic special mention of Rio & Nastie in the bubble bar.
AC was frezzzzzing. A bit out of town but Hypermall next door. Would return.

Room Tip: go for deluxe room and upgrade there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I was among the group which checked-in with Kelvin Bong on 9 June.
My roommate & I placed 2 dirty spoons (side-by-side & face up) on a tissue paper at an obvious corner of the writing table so that the housekeeper would notice it. However, when we're back in the afternoon of 10 June, the dirty spoons remained untouched. On 11 June, only one spoon was cleaned & the other one remained dirty & still sitting at the same spot. How weird is that??!
Used towels hung on rail (indicating 're-use' as an eco-friendly option) were removed daily. Housekeeper also took away clean face towel & bath towel & left behind only the bath sheets.
Can you see my point? What need to be done isn't done. What need not be done was overdone. The hotel receptionist was perhaps right that there's only one housekeeper assigned to each floor.
If it's really the case, I won't blame the housekeeper cuz the management is wholly at fault for not hiring enough helpers.
This hotel is over-rated. Definitely not one that I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssivanesan, General Manager at Grand Borneo Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for staying with us this June., and for taking the time to review our property and services, I am sorry that we failed in a number of areas, especially in our housekeeping services, and would like to apologize for this.

We are taking comments from our guests very serious as these help us to correct our short comings. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with me.

I do hope that the recent experience here with us will not stop you from coming again to the Grand Borneo Hotel in the future, as I promise we will have addressed and solved the various issues you raised.

Thank you again and best wishes



S.Sivanesan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We pre-booking and paid for 15 rooms 2 weeks before our stay on 9 June 2011 to 11 June 2011. By 3:30pm only 7 rooms ready to check in. 16 of our members (8 rooms) only manage to check in at 10:30 pm!!! The male staff was not friendly, giving excuses that only 1 maid dress out rooms in whole 1 floor! The room is not well cleaned, leaving all the hairs and rubbish in the bathroom. Room service very bad, room not well dressed up, carrying away the shower towels without replace a new one in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Address: TA-00-01, 1 Borneo Hypermall | Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall; an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.