We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Save Saved
You added Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge
Lot 19, Lorong Dewan | Sabah (borneo), Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days and had a good stay considering the cheap dorms and private rooms. If you are finding for just a place to get back to durig the night then this is the right place for you. Fridnly environment and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Semporna, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here in a private room with 3 friends, 4 people private rooms costs 98R which is a reasonable price and it is in a decent location. The showers were outside and had good pressure and temperature. The beds were average dorms beds and there was good air con. The staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions.

A very good hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It were some nice stays except the floorboards and the weakly insulated wall panels. Others than that, awesome! nice staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here, at three different times. The longest being a week.
The deck out back was great for relaxing, the staff were awesome! Really helpful and knowledgable.

I noticed a review on here mentioned they have no double rooms, that's incorrect, my double room is sunny, and the bed is a King.
It's popular and the double rooms book out quickly.

Shared bathrooms are cleaned daily. 2 showers, 2 toilets.

The free breakfast is sufficient, but I found a great place for Roti close by.

Cable TV

Not too busy, no rowdy groups of young backpackers hanging around drinking and smoking to disturb your slumber.

Good for couples, families, and friends traveling in pairs.

Short walk to restaurants, malls, the harbour and Sunday Market.

Wifi reasonable speed when you have it to yourself.

No bed bugs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I spent a fair while investigating hostels before choosing Travellers light for my stay in KK. I love the Australia place location (all of the hostels here back onto the forest, and no traffic at all). And at 60 RM/night it was slightly cheaper than the two places next door. (Though there are better deals in KK, I don't think you will find better than 50RM/night for a double).

The staff, Jojo and Wilma, were super helpful, and really went out of their way to make my stay great.
Room had 4 beds, but they only charged me a double price. Hostel has two computers, but they charge 2RM/30min to use it (usually free at most guesthouses).

Bathrooms are all shared, but hostel is so small that you never need to wait for them. The only gripe I have is with the floorboards, which creak and complain outside your bedroom whenever anyone walks on them. During the day this is only a mild annoyance but it is a bit bothersome at night if people come home late. Try and pick a spot at the end of the hallway if you can. However, sleep was still no problem for me.

Not exactly a party place, but still a nice vibe, and I would definately stay here again. The only negative review of this place is from Feb, 2011, by someone who wanted to sook at TL, other than that this place would be 4 stars on Tripadvisor and ranked in the top #10.

Room Tip: Away from the street (i.e. facing the forest) and far down the hall as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Good place to be although they turn off aircon during the day. Clean rooms, free wifi, quiet place with a nice terrace.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We found this place by chance after heading to the recommended place for KK (kota kinabulu) in one of the guide books and found is was terrible.
This place was the exact opposite! nice staff, nice clean rooms, granted we where in an 8 bed dorm but it was spotless and the aircon worked fine. The showers are on the upstairs patio area but they work fine and it's nice to feel the air on you whilst showering as KK is extremely hot and humid!
The guys here even helped us with a car rental we had arranged. For the prices for dorms in Malaysia that little bit higher than the rest of SEA this place is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lot 19, Lorong Dewan | Sabah (borneo), Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 74 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM GREETING FROM BORNEO TRAVELLERS LIGHT¦ Travellers' Light is Clean, Cozy, Comfortable and one of the new lodge in city center. We are Safe and Convenience, the Police Station is our neighbor. Also having the exotic rain forest at our backyard garden which you will observe and hear the butterflies and birds in their natural habitat. 'CLEANLINESS IS OUR TOP PRIORITY' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers' Light Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.