We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a budget hostel at a very strategic place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of X-Plorer Backpackers

Save Saved
You added X-Plorer Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
X-Plorer Backpackers
1st floor, No 106 / 108 | Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really a budget hostel at a very strategic place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The room rate is extremely cheap for a private aircon room with shared bathroom. Less than rm70 a day, even for four pax. Totally worth it.

Remember to wear ur shoes or Slippers when u come out from the room else your feet gets dirty quite easily. Our room is only on first floor, so no need to climb many staircases.

Remember to bring toiletries and bring a bag when you are going to bath to keep your clothes as there is only one or two hanger in the toilet. There are four shared bathrooms so no need to wait long for a shower.

Taxi fare from airport is rm30, up to four passenger. Remember to get a KK street map from Sabah tourism board opposite hotel sixty3. Very useful.

Locate at gaya street, easy access to some nice local food.

Recommend the old cafe beside gaya street zenQ dessert. The siew pau, egg tart, polo bun, big pau, etc thr are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We did stay here two separate nights. We did make a reservation by mail without down payment.

The room did had a second floor but we did not use that. The best thing about the hostel is the en-suited room for only 80RM (20euro) a night.
The air-condition had only two settings: on or off, a little too cold to sleep or far too hot to sleep.
The reception was not always open.
The shower was placed partly above the toilet. The room did not had windows.
The breakfast was poor. Only white bread with jam and instant café (3in1). The first morning we could take the breakfast on same floor as the room. The second time they did open their brand new restaurant next door at the main street. Still white bread with jam and instant café but we could buy more if we wanted to. And we did not need to do the dishes anymore.
The location of the hostel is in the city center, But the down pit of this, and the main minus of the hostel, is the (open air) karaoke bar close by. This means we did hear till midnight bad singers.

Tip: bring a map for the taxi-drivers because they did not knew the place. GPS: 5.983431 / 116.076828

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Xplorer Backpackers is conveniently located at Jalan Gaya and we stayed there 2 days after descending Mount Kinabalu.

Pros:-
1. Super friendly staff especially the receptionist. Great hospitality and eager to help or arrange matters. I had pre-booked a rafting expedition to RiverBug before arriving at KK but had some information mix-up and they called up RiverBug to assist.
2. Breakfast is provided at super early 5am upon request. It may be toast and coffee but it's wonderful to have this service before the rafting expedition later in the day.
3. Convenient location at Jalan Gaya. Around this street is the weekend market, the pier with the night seafood stalls, many shopping malls and many local eateries, convenience shops and bakeries all within walking distance of 5 to 10 minutes.
4. Clean and comfortable room (had a double bed with a bunk bed) with ceiling fan and air conditioning for an affordable price. Space for packing and unpacking a little bit cramped.

Cons:-
1. Euro 2012 was being held while we were staying at the hotel. The footballs fans at the local 24 hour eatery (nasi kandar) nearby was cheering occasionally throughout the night. Quite unfortunate so stay away during football season or if you are a light sleeper
2. Lack of soap at the wash basin. Totally understand that toiletries are not provided but definitely not liquid soap.
3. Insufficient amount of communal toilets (with shower). I count about 3 on one side of the building only.

Overall it was a great place to stay and I would gladly be here again (non-footie season)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was here for second times. I came back with my family during second times visit.
It was under renovation. It was dusty anywhere.

Hope that it would be improved after the renovation.

the first time when I was here, there were friendly staffs, and the floor was clean everyday. This is why I bring my family to stay here during my second time vist.

Overalll it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, MY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hostel is situated in the heart of KK city, between Jesselton point and Wawasan Terminal. Walking distance to most of the eating outlet, shopping mall, and other hotspot. The room is clean with all the basic necessity and it's value for money. The staff is nice and friendly as well. It may be slightly noisy becos it's near to BB cafe with live music show at night.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main street will be more quite except on Sunday becos of the Gaya street market
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

all is summarized in the title!
the location is difficult to find in jalan gaya but once found, it is not bad and convenient. Rooms are clean, bed linens are clean, showers are clean - quite rare in today's backpackers !
It was not a problem to book tours via the hostel. I highly recomment NOT to do the kinabalu park and hot springs, just a waste of time and money.
Staff are friendly but sometimes, they do not reply directly to your questions. They speak in Malay together (the white lady + other staff) and then reply to you. I found it so rude to exclude you from the conversation !!!
But overall it was positive

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

X-plorer Backpackers is easy to find in a central location. The reception is manned 24/7 and the reception staff were always on hand to open the door, as per their security policy (no hostel guest has key access to the front entry door). We got a free airport pick-up with a running commentary of the area by the driver, which was cool! Staff were always friendly and helpful, one staff member had no idea about local and longer distance buses which was annoying as we needed assistance getting to Sepilok.

Our room wasn't too bad, quite large with great A/C. I did however use my own sleeping bag liner as the sheets didn't look to appealing. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window and only had a fluorescent strip light for illumination (stumbling in the darkness to find the light switch in the morning!). The en-suite bathroom wasn't cleaned during our 3 night stay and the only ventilation it had was to the shared toilets adjacent.

The breakfast provided was rubbish, as is sadly common in Malaysia (we kept finding). White bread, plastic margarine, powdered 3 in 1 coffee and tea bags. The common area & breakfast room was good and bright with views over the square. The free Wifi is a welcomed bonus.

Overall this place is alright for a couple of nights - friendly but no frills. On our return visit to KK was were recommended to stay in Lavender Lodge which was more comfortable and a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to X-Plorer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-Plorer Backpackers

Address: 1st floor, No 106 / 108 | Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our warm and friendly home-stay. “A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”. We are ideally in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah (popularly known as Borneo). Fifteen minutes ride from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. Come and experience with us, our very own comfortable and clean environmental lodging house complete with a living room, five common toilets cum hot/cold water shower rooms, a unique mini garden and a balcony area made cozy for your leisure that you well deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your X-Plorer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
X-Plorer Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X-Plorer Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.