We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Save Saved
You added Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
School Holiday Special
Ranked #23 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great hotel located right in the largest mall in Kota Kinabalu Sabah, is convenient & also there is a cinema here. Comfortable stay & good service provided by workers here. Friendly & helpful workers everywhere. The Square restaurant food is good and good environment. What else, the relaxing bar in level 1 & awesome swimming pool in level 7. Surely would suggest my friends, family & relatives to stay here. I will be back. Truely a happy stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    267
    171
    84
    34
See reviews for
184
173
48
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. When we arrived at the hotel we queued in the lobby for 3/4 of an hour to check in. The room was big ,but lacked shelves, we were on the top floor and heard banging at all times of the day and night. Apparently it was the wind rattling the pipes! The hairdryer wasn't working, and we had a problem with ants in our room. At first I thought it may have been from a packet of raisins we had so I threw it out but the ants were there throughout our stay. Staff were friendly and accommodating but hotel is run down. Location is good if you like shopping with the hypermall attached to the hotel. We ate at the restaurant once, which was equally disappointing. My husband sent his lasagne back because it was cold and I sent my burger back because the patty was raw and that was after waiting an hour for our food!!! and the restaurant was empty! So we didn't eat there again. Disappointing except for the shopping.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel used to be excellent in its customer service but recent trip last August was very very disappointing. The rooms were not maintained and refurbishment are long overdue. We didn't get the exact room as selected from booking.com, staffs are untrained, the restaurant for breakfast was poor in terms of service, selection, quality and cleanliness.

But the location is still great. The GM tried to salvage the problem but still short of fell way down the tree so to speak. We thought international chain hotel would have a good standard but this is an exceptional to the general rules.

Sincerely hope immediate remedial work to be done as would love to give Novotel KK another chance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the place to stay if you like shopping and eating, it is part of a huge Hypermall that is so big it takes you a couple of days to learn your way around.
The Hotel has free shuttle buses that leave every hour during the day if you want to go down town.
We went once but found the Hypermall was much better.

Room Tip: Pool is on floor 7 if you like to be close to an undercover pool with a pool bar . The breakfast wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I am happy to put my review in the context of the surrounding area and accommodation, KK is definitely not a 5-star tropical destination, it's a raw, basic town that was actually a really good place to experience with really good people living there.
Let's start with the positives... great mall next to the main foyer, breakfast exceptional, staff helpful and happy, safe and secure feeling throughout, free shuttle bus to the city, great value, free WiFi in foyer, complimentary late check out, seafood restaurant nearby best I have ever had, first two nights room was very good - nice views, well set up and air con all ok.
But.... midway through my stay the hotel booted me out for ONE NIGHT because it was full. A cruise ship had arrived so my entire party was moved out. Moved me next door to budget hotel and then had us lug all our luggage back to finish the stay. Poor form, but these things happen.
Then..... the next morning after the first night back, I woke up to bite marks all over my legs, arms, chest and back. And not just a couple. Entire patches of skin with blemishes and small blisters. Mite? Lice? Bed bugs? Spider? I don't know, because I am on my way to the doctor to find out. At least they moved me (again) albeit with no apology. Although after complaining heavily at least they gave me one free night.
So for a 7 night stay I stayed in 4 different rooms. I am sure that if I hadn't been moved it would have been a good experience but it was not to be.
I would really love to rate this higher because everything else was great, but with the itching that is happening, I can't.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitas, Sabah, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

when comes to shopping this place is the closest you could ever be to just stroll over to one of the biggest shopping mall in Borneo.
The interior of the rooms are in good and clean condition. Room is spacious and equipped with the necessary needs for a business and those who traveling with family.
The bathroom set-up is unique and commendable for couple travellers (a big glass separating the bedroom area and the bathroom with a roll down blind) but maybe inappropriate for those travelling with family or relatives.
The furnishing is not luxurious but simple and adequate. The television screening quality needs some work to be done and for sure this is not the hotel for you to sit in and enjoy the indoors but you would rather be out there in the malls.
welcoming and receiving needs some major revamp as the total time taken for allocating a room takes very long, even when i have made earlier reservation. I could even manage to grab a bite while i was waiting for the receptionist to be done with my room allocation.
Overall, its a great place to stay and the food can be considered average as well. Well, I guess they cafe management must be a fan of Bruno Mars as they were playing his tracks all day long. thanks for that, as i did enjoy it but not sure about the staff and the rest of the people who were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Address: TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, a 4 star International Chain hotel where travelers feel at home is an integral part of 1Borneo Hypermall, the largest mall in Borneo with 1.5 million square feet of shopping, leisure and dining choices.It is strategically located along the Sulaman Highway and is within 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu City Centre. The hotel is also adjacent to University Malaysia Sabah and with proximity to the State & Federal Administration Government offices and Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park (KKIP).It is within 25 minutes from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport. All of our 263 rooms and suites are uniquely designed with comfort in mind. Spacious rooms with contemporary decor to guarantee you have the best comfort in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.