We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service like 5 stars Hotel & Comfartable room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Save Saved
You added Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
School Holiday Special
Ranked #23 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service like 5 stars Hotel & Comfartable room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed for 5 days 4 nite with my family in this hotel. Still remember when 1st our arrival we have been attending with full of smile from front desk staff.they service was very excellent and my room been upgraded as they promised before upon my reservation. Room was very nice and the eminities in rooms are successfully follow the standard of Novotel. I will highly recomended this hotel among my friends to come here.Special thanks to restaurant staff for the delicious menu to serve me n my family for breakfast n dinner.N for Front desk staff.i bit forget the name, correct me of.im wrong, mildred, Naslina, Byron and Michelle. They are like a golden brightness of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1 Borneo

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Rita298570,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family, your feedback is truly gratifying and will be shared with the team. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words have been passed on to our associates, namely Mildred, Nadzlina, Byron and Michelle who have made your stay enjoyable.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    267
    171
    84
    34
See reviews for
184
173
48
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in Novotel. Check in was good and fast, however, the front desk kept insisting that I produce coupons for my breakfast. After explaining 2x that I do not have any coupons but only an online booking, we moved on being briefed on the pool, gym and breakfast restaurant locations which was exceedingly useful.
Hotel was value for money but be prepared to live with some kinks in their service.
Concierage will direct you to the Inno Travel desk for booking of tours if you ask for assistance & the travel agent only takes cash so be sure to bring enough down to book your tours.
Stayed in the room 1918 which was on the highest floor but not facing KK. Rooms were clean & spacious. Bathroom was big with no bath-tub but modern & plenty of hot water was readily available.
Beds were relatively comfortable but the pillows provided were too high even for a side sleeper thus woke up with a slightly strained neck. Sheets were clean but there were some old stains that they kept hidden at the bottom of the beds. My sheets were not changed for all 6 nights.
Breakfast on the 5th floor was decent & they do change some of the food every day. Just be prepared to face hordes of your groups also dining at the same timings.
Rooms were made up at different speeds & standards for all 6 nights. Both of us were tea drinkers but the tea bags were never topped up & we had to call every night to have some tea bags brought up. There was a day where we left at 8+am & returned past 3pm & our rooms were still unmade! The room was occasionally vacuumed, bath towels/handtowels were cleared but not replaced across the 6 nights there. Call front desk for faster action. We called Housekeeping for tea once & it took 2 calls and 45 minutes for the tea bags to turn up.
The air-conditioning in the room kept switching off in the middle of the night & we called for help on the last night as we were sure that the air-con was on when we went the bed. We were informed that the main panel overheats and it will automatically cut off the power to the AC system in the middle of the night. The problem was ‘unsolvable’. After coming down to front desk to request for a change in rooms, the answer was that they were full and can only ‘look’ for a room after 8pm. My question of what happens if there are no rooms was not fielded and the front desk looked genuinely offended when I filed the complaint. Left with no choice, we left for our trip and upon coming back to the hotel past 8pm, we were notified that the problem has been fixed.
Faced with no other option we went back to the room hoping that it was true & presto! Everything worked fine in the last night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear elizchua,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that appreciated our guestrooms and had a comfortable stay. On the other hand, your comments on the housekeeping service and air cond problem have been communicated to our team for their further review and action. It is always encouraging as our guests’ satisfaction is our primary concern.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We thank you for your patronage and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The check in was prompt. Dine at The Square for breakfast. The spread comprised of western and asian varieties. The plus side is that you can just walk bag to the hotel if you really tired from shopping at the mall. But if you are really for a really pleasant stay with a full amenities, you better shop around. Overall the experience was not bad in comparison with it's neighbour hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear CeciliaFair,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bad service! The first day of check in, I found the long hair (no me or my husband) on bed! My family room was found the red ant , ask to clean it but can't . Complains are promise to feed back within the 3 days which I stayed, nut until the time I checked out, no one tell me the cause and reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Cernieeng,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation and for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We truly apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay here. Your comments have been highlighted to our team for their review and action. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed with my two kids this last week. The first thing is that it's quite far out from the city centre and the traffic can mean that it takes quite a while to get in to town. The best thing about this Novotel is that it's a pretty good deal -- not too expensive. There's a big shopping mall built around it called Borneo 1, and it has loads of restaurants like The Dome, Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts etc.

As for the hotel, they kindly gave us a spare bed for no extra charge. I wasn't totally thrilled with the reception staff, but they were adequate and they meant well.

Overall, I'd recommend this place because it's clean, affordable, with the mall around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear dogeatdog999,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family, we always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Address: TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, a 4 star International Chain hotel where travelers feel at home is an integral part of 1Borneo Hypermall, the largest mall in Borneo with 1.5 million square feet of shopping, leisure and dining choices.It is strategically located along the Sulaman Highway and is within 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu City Centre. The hotel is also adjacent to University Malaysia Sabah and with proximity to the State & Federal Administration Government offices and Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park (KKIP).It is within 25 minutes from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport. All of our 263 rooms and suites are uniquely designed with comfort in mind. Spacious rooms with contemporary decor to guarantee you have the best comfort in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.