We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Novotel Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Save Saved
You added Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
mandurah wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A week in Novotel Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this venue early in May 2013.Very pleasantly suprised by the staff.Room on the 18th floor with views of surrounding countryside. The sun rose from behind the mountain range and brightened our room from early morn and through the day. Breakfast was included in our deal as was early check in on arrival and late checkout on the last day. Without these extras I have doubts about my surrvival as I had no sleep from the previous morning as the plane left Perth at 1am arriving at KK at 6.30am. Other meals were good at the dining room too. Oddles of choice for meals also at the HUGE shopping complex. A holiday enjoyed because of excellent service given by ALL staff. My wife has said she would like to return which is a BIG plus.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the east to view the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear rawperthite,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    268
    172
    84
    36
See reviews for
186
175
48
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The brand of the hotel is good with clean and comfort room. The bath facilities is good. The staff is nice and can rental towels to us if go out island.

They provide free ice cube. Very good that can have a cool drinks.

But really abit far from city (drive 25 mins) if no rental car must feel very inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear sdu01,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Traveling with my wife and we enjoyed the room n facility alot.
Though we only stayed for one night but the room is big and spacious, has a living room before going into the bedroom. Toilet is clean and huge, just the way we enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear vincentokl910,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and for your continuous support towards our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly value our Suite room. Your comments are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week, and the room was very comfortable with a nice view. The room was excellent and a good choice.
However, do not expect all services stated by the hotel to be included. For instance, the pool was closed due to renovations, even though this was not mentioned on their website. They say they provide a pick-up from the airport, however, we exchanged around 10 emails during one full week for my enquiry. Moreover, there is no WiFi and the cable in my room had its end broken and kept disconnecting from my laptop.
Last but not least, even though it is 20-25 min away from the city center, there are taxis right outside the hotel and the biggest mall in KK near.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear SandraDora,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your recent experience at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to have you with us.

Your remark has been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in a suite. Everything went well - the hotel is looking a bit tired (especially the suite we stayed in), but all the services that one requires, are there. The breakfast each morning was fantastic - just be aware that if you get caught in the breakfast rush by a tour group, you are going to be elbowed out of the way!

Our flight arrived early in the morning, and we were allowed an early check-in, which we really appreciated (after the overnight flight we just wanted to crash and recuperate). Although the suite we were in is classified as a "Premier Room", it was not located on one of the two premier floors. Nibbles and mocktails in the Premier Lounge on the first floor were great and much appreciated.

Staff service consistent and polite throughout our stay.

Only two things that were negative: The remote controls of both the TV's in the suite did not work and, although we reported this at the beginning of our stay, it was not fixed. The other problem was that the hotel advertises lunch specials (on the screens outside and inside the lifts). On day one we tried the lunch special at the pool deck (advertised as 50% discount) - when the bill arrived, we were charged full price, and only after patiently showing the attendant the board behind her that showed the special 50% discount, did she fix the bill. On Tuesday we tried the advertised special in the "Square" restaurant (12++ ringgit). When we sat down, we were presented with a menu that had the specials printed as 20++ ringgit. When we queried this, we are told that the prices in the lifts and on the screens were "old". Needless to say, we did not order, left the restaurant and brought this to the attention of the duty manager. She apologised, and told us that the F&B Manager would be informed. We heard nothing else about this during the rest our stay - and, when we left on the Saturday afternoon, all the incorrect prices were still up in the lifts and on the screens! Needless to say, we avoided all other meals in the hotel, and only had breakfast each morning.

The hotel is not in the city itself, but this was no problem. The shopping centre next to the hotel provided a great variety of ample and cheaper (than the hotel) meals. We went on several tours (the tour desk is just outside the hotel), and never felt that we missed out on anything due to the hotel's location.

I can recommend the hotel - no need to stay in the city itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear MVenterNZ,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your insights from your stay at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo earlier this month, we always appreciate receiving feedback from guests.

We are glad that you are comfortable in our guestroom and enjoyed the breakfast spread. The team has noted your comments regarding the TV remote control and lunch advertisement, the team extends their apologies.

We hope to extend our hospitality to you again and in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

hotel is located in the mall and my kids enjoyed it. but i had two problem ,
1.we asked for two connected room & one room with two beds and they gave two room same floor far off .they did not provide the two single beds.
2.in the both rooms inbathroom wire were not closed and i felt un safe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear zumla,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback on our location. Your feedback on our guestroom has helped the team to identify where we can make necessary corrections for improvement. My team extends their apologies for the inconveniences your experienced.

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo. In the meantime, should we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days during Chinese New Year. The breakfast was great, there were a lot of Chinese-Malaysian cakes for the New Year, a lot of the western food as well.
It is just next the biggest mall in KK, if you like shopping, this place is not to bad. There are a lot fo restaurants in the mall.
It is 20mins taxi ride from the city centre though. If you want to eat out of check our the city, this place is a bit far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Communication D, Manager at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Suli_Sydney,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for reviewing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, we always welcome valuable feedback from our guests.

It is good to know that you enjoyed exporing the shopping haven of our location at 1Borneo Hypermall.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo

Address: TB-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, a 4 star International Chain hotel where travelers feel at home is an integral part of 1Borneo Hypermall, the largest mall in Borneo with 1.5 million square feet of shopping, leisure and dining choices.It is strategically located along the Sulaman Highway and is within 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu City Centre. The hotel is also adjacent to University Malaysia Sabah and with proximity to the State & Federal Administration Government offices and Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park (KKIP).It is within 25 minutes from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport. All of our 263 rooms and suites are uniquely designed with comfort in mind. Spacious rooms with contemporary decor to guarantee you have the best comfort in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.