We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I choose Tune Hotels because it is attached with 1 borneo shopping mall. Well, we do not have to move a lots in finding restaurants and entertainment. You can cut cost for your nights, and spend more with your shopping and having fun to the nearest islands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are happy to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    137
    72
    25
    20
See reviews for
56
83
48
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I choose to stay at Tune Hotels whenever I visit Kota Kinabalu because it is within 1Borneo Shopping Mall, East Malaysia's largest shopping, dining & lifestyle mall. So it is easy to shop, dine and find public transports. There is a 24 hour 7-Eleven convenient shop and a tour desk in the lobby. The rooms with windows are more comfortable. Even though the beds and bathrooms are clean but the housekeeping and room service are quite poor. They did not cleaned our rooms for about two days as we stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights. Some of the cloth hangers are missing and one of the air cons in our rooms was not in good condition.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights so have a good account of our stay here.
When you book a tune hotel stay, it is stated clearly everywhere that most things are extra so we had a good idea of what we were getting for our money.

Really for the price its not that bad, sure the décor is a bit patchy and the aircon is not really that efficient but we found that if you have the aircon and the fan on at full blast it does bring the temperature down to tolerable levels within 10-15 mins.
The hallways on the other hand are really quite stuffy with no ventilation whatsoever.

We found the housekeeping ok doing their work at reasonable hours, i.e in the afternoon when we were out, not knocking at the door in the mornings. They were also reasonably competent, refilling anything that was needed and quite clean.

Remember you are paying near backpacking prices here so please adjust your expectations and you will just be fine. If you are expecting Hilton hotel quality please do look elsewhere and extend your budget to match.

The staff at the lobby are great, nothing is too much of a problem for them.
We just asked what we needed and always received a informed answer.
Dave at the front desk is a mountain of local knowledge and always has a smile for you and has loads of tips on the buses and where to eat.

We thought the position of this hotel to be great . You don't even need to walk outside to go to the mall it is interconnected to the hotel and here you will find everything you need from a food court to a cinema, even a supermarket and all the shopping you will ever need.

If you need to go to kk all you need to do is walk over the flyover and catch a bus. All it costs Is 1rm per person and there is a bus every five minutes . Just remember where you got off and when you need to get back just catch the return bus from the opposite side. Easy

We found doing this saved a lot of money over taxis which is pretty much of a ripoff.
I'm sure everyone who uses tripadvisor is savvy enough to do their planning before they come and not adverse to a bit of travelling by bus.

The big downside is there is a disco beside the lobby at the hotel and the music IS pretty loud. We stayed on the top floor and could hear it quite clearly so god knows what's it like on the first floor. So ask for the highest floor you can get.

There is also a tour rep at the lobby and the prices for excursions are in line with everywhere else. But they do transfers to the airport which is cheaper than getting a taxi that also seats six or seven. I don't know if they do pickups but if they do and you have a big family maybe it is an idea to phone up to ask to save on getting two taxis from the airport to the hotel.

All on all , a hotel that is thoroughly in line with my expectations to what I paid for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahad Datu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a 2 night stay in here,overall this is what i come up with
-can't really beat the price,70myr is what you get for living inside a shopping mall
-for one,the aircon is really bad,its not doing what it supposed to do
-i highly suggest the management make some sort of ventilation in each room,it's seriously hot and chocking
-the staff on front desk are friendly and helpful
-but the cleaning staff not doing the job properly, and cleaning at the wrong time(should do it in mid morning instead of evening when we're in the room)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry about the faulty air conditioning unit and about the housekeeping activities.

The room cleaning schedule is from 9am to 5 am, so if you do not want you room cleaned, you'll have to decline housekeeping activities by placing the do not disturb sign on the door or informing the front desk when is the best time clean your room.

Please let me know your room number so that I could get the fix it crew to check and rectify this issue. You could reach me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com for with all the necessary details or connect with me for any further assistance in future.

We hope to serve you better on your next visit.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My only regret is I am not aware of by using the hotel TV,Wifi I had to pay for the extra services.I had been to so many places and hotels and this is the first time I experience this kind of services.Should I had known this I would not have choose this hotel.To the management of this hotel I would like to urge for free services for all this as most an all the hotel does,if not you will loose a lot of customers and disgruntled customer like me.Most of the guest that we spoke also aligned to what I felt.To go down to the main lobby to get hot water is a long2 way.Should install at every level for easy guest usage.Lobby seating areas should add more seats for guests while waiting.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows openings to avoid boreness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the feedback.

We could afford competitive rates by offering the basics, like bed,shower and fan. Guests pay extra for what they need such as Air conditioning and WIFI. This helps conserve energy and savings to guests at the same time.

We take note of the rest of the feedback and hope you will choose us next time when you plan your travels.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you know Tune Hotels, you know that they have good beds and showers and are pretty inexpensive. For other things, like wifi, air conditioning and towels, you pay a la carte. That's all fine with me. But in KK, the location is way out of town. The redeeming part is it's located in 1Borneo which is the biggest mall in Borneo, so if shopping is your thing, this might be the best place. But to get downtown and to the islands, you have to take a bus. Most inconvenient was arriving in the evening at the airport and having to pay more than a night's stay for taxi fare. One tip: do check out and book the day trip to Mt Kinabalu and Poring Hot Springs online. It's a good deal for a small group tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Though the condition of hotel facilities especially air-conditioners are not as good as the first few times when I stayed, still I preferred it due to its reasonable charges and conveniences for food and shopping. As for transportation, taxi is available. if you know where you want to go and like the cheapest mean, then you just walk across the road to catch mini buses plying along the way for just RM1.00 and you can get connected to places that you like to go.

I think I shall still choose Tune Hotel at 1Borneo if I can book hotel room at a very low fare when there is a promotion.

Room Tip: Rooms at mid floor are cooler as first floor may be a bit nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review and we hope you will try out our other hotels for another pleasant experience.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.