We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely avoidable for families!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely avoidable for families!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having stayed in a Tune property before(review of KL Tune here) I decided to try their Kota kinabalu hotel and stayed there for 3 nights in end June with my family(including 2 kids and elderly in-laws)

One of the rooms alloted was no less than a dungeon with absolutely no ventilation, feeling oneself claustrophobic and strangulated. Other room had a road facing window. We wanted to change the window less room and a request for the same to the front staff felt on deaf ears. Repeated pleading was no successful and it was told to us that all window possessing rooms are full due to peak season. Ultimately , one of the good samaritan from the front desk (probably a senior guy) probably took a pity on us , intervened and suddenly a room was "available" in the reservation system from nowhere. After all the habgling got a room , but this left me with a bitter experience.

These were my observations:

MAKE IT FAMILY FRIENDLY!! I FOUND THE ROOMS TOO CRAMPED, INCLUDE FAMILY ROOMS TO ACCOMMODATE FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN

THE STAFF LACKED SENSITIVITY O THE NEEDS OF THE CHILDREN AND ELDERLY.

THIS STAY WAS FAR BELOW EXPECTATION ,THOUGH I HAD STAYED IN A TUNE HOTEL BEFORE AND HAD CONTRIBUTED A POSITIVE REVIEW OF TUNE DOWNTOWN KL.

THE FRONT STAFF NEEDS TO HANDLE CUSTOMER REQUEST INSTEAD OF BEING TIGHT LIPPED , INFLEXIBLE AND WITHOUT"I DO NOT CARE, I DO NOT KNOW, IT IS NOT MY BUSINESS,IT IS THE HOTEL POLICY" ATTITUDE.

HIGHLY UNLIKELY THAT I GOING TO STAY THERE IN THE FUTURE OR RECOMMENDING TO FRIENDS OR FAMILY.

Room Tip: Avoid if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Rooms at Tune Hotels are space efficient and made to serve a purpose. We reduce the room size and complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer.

Thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

This review has been shared amongst them and I hope we would live up to your expectations when you come by next.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    125
    69
    23
    17
See reviews for
53
74
44
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
München
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You can't expect more for the money you spend. Nothing fancy but clean, good bed and a decent shower. Lockers in all rooms are also very convenient. Staff is very attentive and friendly. Starbucks next door offers good cafe. Ask for 20% discount voucher in the hotel. On the downside the location. It is about half an hour to the city. There is a free shuttle but not very reliable. Taxi cost 30 Ringitt per journey. Internet didn't work for 3 days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review,

We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat and our dedicated housekeeping team works their magic in ensuring rooms are clean and comfortable at all time.

I hope you'll continue being a fan of Tune Hotel as we are much eager to welcome you back to our abode.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you're looking to stay next to a mall with all the basic amenities, facilities, restaurants and shopping to go with, then 1Borneo Tune Hotel would be your primary choice. Look no further as the place is directly connected through a short hallway that leads to the shopping complex. The rooms are strategically placed like that of a dormitory style and although they do keep the place clean, be cautious that you may bump into one or two roaches once in a while. Otherwise, it's a great budget place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Located for about 7 km from KK city center (30 minutes by bus) but it is integrated with 1 borneo hypermall (the largest mall in Malaysia Borneo). You can find easily what you want in there. There is a free shuttle bus to city center facilitated by its mall. It's simple, just give your name and tell your hotel to the counter that located in the back of the mall. I booked the basic room with no add ons but it was good especially the bed and the shower and all computerized with my room card, fantastic !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

As stated in my title of review, the room which I've stayed into was clean and comfortable, but I needed a clip to prevent the curtain from 'flying up high'and expose the inner view of the room to the outside as I was staying in a room with window.

Staffs were all friendly with a warm smile on their faces at all times, which was particularly important when I was traveling alone in a foreign land.

I'd like to highlight the quote used by Tune hotel as the summary of my review: 5 Star hotel experience with 1 Star price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a double bed room for two nights. We love the room so much and the bed is very comfortable, washroom is clean and not smelly. Although the room space is limited, but its okay for two people. The hotel is not located in the middle of the city, we can only shop at the 1Borneo Shopping Mall, but there got free shuttle bus to city every hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stay there for 3 days and 2 nights... Pay cheap for the rooms.. After all, the reason for hotel was just for resting.. No not much complain about the room as long as i am able to sleep well after having busy days... Located in 1Borneo, so no problem with foods, entertainment, etc... Only problem is the transportation... However, i hate the windows. Whats the point of having windows when the only things you can see is wall and windows of opposite room?..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.