We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are big, beds comfortable, local tv channels for only rm7.00 per night great way to catch up on the news from around the region, excellent service, great location, clean the rooms are very clean. Easy access to shopping mall, food stall and recreational area. Tune hotel 1Borneo is awesome... Great for bag packers and those that wanna travel with a budget. Tune hotel is always low in price even on peak seasons.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    138
    75
    29
    20
See reviews for
57
87
48
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cheap & decent stay at Tune..
I checked in at 3rd floor window side...very comfortable..

Attached to a Mall... very convenient for shopping & the food courts of the mall cheap.
Enjoying Watch movies, bowling...

i like the Thai Massage right next to Tune,,, Very comfy & relaxing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had nothing much to do back at Kota Kinabalu. It was a much well-deserved rest for me. I practically lived in a Mall while at Tune Hotels which was a nice thing. Check out the food courts of the mall. Watch movies until late at night.

The travel agency near the front desk of Tue Hotel is really accommodating.

Room Tip: Go for rooms looking out at the road to have a good view of outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

the rooms i booked were very comfortable and clean, and it is very convenient as the hypermall is just besides, my family and i were very satisfied with the housekeeping. you can choose to eliminate those facilities you do not need and lowered the price, the rate of the rooms are very OKAY. only one thing, the hotel do not owned any car park, so customers have to find car park on their own and pay to authorised staffs which is RM6 per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TA Review on your recent visit.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

Our parking facilities are managed by 1 Borneo management, and another is the open air car park situated at the front of the hotel. Being a limited service hotel, we provide only the basics; bed and shower. Parking is not a service extension by Tune Hotels 1Borneo, as such charges apply.

We adopt a demand based pricing mechanism. Room rates fluctuate based on demand and room availability. You are more likely to find more promo room rates during off peak periods than during peak periods (public holidays, weekends, etc).

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

40 minutes away from the airport, a shopping mall, shopping is convenient, but do not have a lot of public transport. We are chartered the past, but you can arrange to go Kamiyama Travel. All items are an additional charge, book a room in advance is more favorable. $ 50 a night is very good value!Go to other parts of the trip, I will try to Tune Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Do book your room well in advance; that would give you big discounted room rate; ask for a room with a window if you have opted out for air conditioning. If you choose a hotel by the high way, try to find a room a little far away from the main road.

Ask for tours offered by the hotel if they are available.

The hotel is good in terms of shopping facilities ( 1 Borneo, I was told, is the biggest shopping centre in East Malaysia) and transport service ( there is a free shuttle bus service from the hotel to city centre)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window/ wondows when checking in. As well, make a request for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi There,

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

It's pleasure to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay a pleasant one.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lipis, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

location inside mall is good, but not much public transport. We rented a car, so it was easier for us to travel around. The room itself is value for money and good condition and very comfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

There is something for everyone and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Hotels.com so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.