We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gr8 vfm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“gr8 vfm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

located in a mall, with all amenities around and free shuttle to kk every hour. gr8 value for money. why spend top $$$ when u get the basics with a small budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    138
    74
    27
    20
See reviews for
57
85
48
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Quite a distance (around 25 minutes) from the airport and KK city. If you are a traveller with intention of exploring the KK city, this is not the hotel to stay. Too far!! However it is the right hotel if you are putting the night so that you can proceed to Mount Kinabalu the next day. The hotel is located inside 1-Borneo shopping complex itself. There are 3 other hotels operating in the same complex if this hotel is not to your liking. Very convenient. You can do your shopping and plenty of restaurant to choose from. For Mt. Kinabalu hikers who had aching muscle after a strenous hike, can enjoy massage from 2 massage shops situated just nearby the hotel lobby. It is cheap and good.
For the room price you pay (between RM60 to 80/night), this is what you get. My verdict is this is a good and decent hotel to stay. Room is clean with plenty of hot shower although slightly smaller size area. Bed is very comfortable with a ceiling fan. Value for money for budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

You pay for what you use: air-con, towels, TV, wifi, etc. But the beds are comfortable and the shower wonderful. The room was small, and there is no place to put your suitcase. Three hangers on hooks--no closet. But cheap. I stayed 4 nights for the cost of one night at the hotel where my conference was. A shopping center (1 Borneo) is near by...but isn't open until about 11 a.m. and closes at 9:30 p.m., so that didn't help with meals. And, it's far from downtown Kota Kinabalu. But it was a good, cheap stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for the appraisal on our hotel and staff.

Our pay as you use model, invariably allows the advantage of affordable room rates, even more for the ones that book early.

Travel time to KK city would take about 20 minutes and you could actually take a free shuttle from 1 Borneo Hypermall. It's a faster and convenient.

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at Tune Hotel 2 years ago when it first opened, and everything went so well that we decided to come back for another stay this year. What a bad mistake that was! Unlike 2 years ago when things actually worked, Tune hotel today is practically falling apart at the seams. Where shall I begin? During our 4 nights' stay (waaaay too long!), we:

1) changed room twice -- the first time when the side of the room next to the window was practically flooded by rainwater (due to a bad thunderstorm the night before); the second time because the aircond in our new room gave shrill beeps in the middle of the night, thus waking us both continuously--this problem unfortunately continued in the 3rd room we stayed in, but we were too tired to move anymore
2) In all the rooms we've been in, the safe boxes didn't work, due apparently to spare parts from China (which the reception said they were still waiting for)
3) Side table lamps didn't work in two rooms
4) In all the rooms we've been in, the LCD panel next to the door didn't show the required info (aircond hours left, etc); they were broken too
5) The fan cannot be controlled in the last room we stayed in -- it was rotating so wildly we thought it'll fall on our heads!
6) Traces of blood (probably from crushed mosquitos but it's a guess) and marks on the wall, which made the room look disgusting and dirty
7) Ants in the rooms -- don't keep any drinks or food in your room, or keep them in ziplock bags
8) If you're driving to KK, don't bother to stay at Tune cos the parking there is non-existent for Tune guests, and you've to pay a minimum of RM6 to park in 1 Borneo per day (more if you take the car in and out in one day, as they charge RM 6 per entry, not per day)
9) Last but not least, Tune hotel does NOT enforce a NON-SMOKING POLICY in their premises. We often smelt stale cigarette smoke in the corridors. What's worse is that the last two nights in our room, WE WERE WOKEN UP BY THE STRONG SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE COMING IN THROUGH OUR AIR-COND VENTS IN THE EARLY MORNING! We complained to the front desk and they found the culprit smoking in the ROOM OPPOSITE OURS! Obviously, our airconds shared the same ventilation.

The only salvation of this place was that the reception staff handled our complaints and frustration as efficiently as they could. They were polite and sincerely tried to help, but the situation was beyond their control. Really, it's the upper management of Tune Hotel who should be taken to task for not maintaining the rooms and for not enforcing a strict non-smoking policy indoors.

This is the last time we stay in Tune Hotel KK. Even if it's dirt-cheap, it's not worth the amount of aggravation and frustration we experienced. There're B&Bs in KK with far better value (cleaner and smoke-free too) than Tune hotel. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Don't stay there! Run fast, run far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Hi Tuner,

I could see how these issues were an inconvenience to your stay.

The front-desk had done the best at capacity by relocating different rooms each time a complaint was received.

it's not the best approach I agree, but action had been taken to mend the damaged fixtures in some of the rooms. I assure you that, all of our hotels are non smoking territory. However, I could imagine how some guests are inconsiderate by choosing to literally ignore them, thus inconveniencing others. Being a limited service hotel, we provide only the basics; bed and shower. Parking is not a service extension by Tune Hotels 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu and we have no control over the parking fees as it is directly under 1Borneo’s management.

Rooms are also given a new paint job, and I trust any future stays would be a much pleasant one.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I reckon if you have low expectations of this hotel, then your stay should be fine.
You do get what you paid for (in my case under $10! twas on special) towels, toiletries, wifi, tv and aircon will cost extra. No kettle or even a window in my case. Fairly clean but not the cleanest. Big selling points was the comfy bed, shower and friendly reception staff.

I would also recommend getting airconditioning because not alot of us can get a proper
rest let alone sleep without proper ventilation and cooling (also helps lessen the humidity). You will be sharing the lifts with other mall patrons. Speaking of malls,
1Borneo is a big plus if you are staying here. Again, you get what you paid for, and remember not to pay alot more :)

Room Tip: as above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

When we travel,we usually stay in tune hotels wherever there is one because aside from the affordable price the bed is really a five star and clean.But we were really disappointed with this one,we hardly slept coz the bass of the music from downstairs will vibrate through one's brain.Cockroach are everywhere .Exit stairs are full of cigarette butts.Though the reception is helpful but we really hope that the management can check on this matter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

From your feedback, Cleanliness is one of our crucial focus points in our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

This however does not happen often and we have always endeavored to provide the best within our limited service concept.

I am unable to completely identify on how we were not able to assist you with a room change. It has always been our priority to exercise relevant corrective measures at any given situation, including the ones which you have highlighted.

Perhaps you may log on to our website, select help and info, followed by contact and lastly select inquiry and drop us your booking details and also details of the incident and we will have them investigated.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

It was my first trip to KK so I had no idea where to book a hotel. As I previously have stayed at KL, LCCT and two of the Bali's Tune hotels, i expect the quality will be the same. But the KK one is way below average especially the toilet. It was not really clean especially around the shower area.

The bed was alright, but there were noises from nearby karaoke/bar that can be heard to the room. My room was on the second floor.

Location wise is also a bit far from downtown, but the free shuttle from the adjacent mall comes in handy. Make sure you use that facility instead of taking a cab, but do register early cos only 20 seats available on each trip.

I got a good deal on my two night stay at RM30 each night so I cant complain. But if they charge a higher price then you better find another hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Tune Hotels 1 Borneo, Kota Kinabalu.

There is a free shuttle service offered by the mall as early as 9.00am to 9.00pm to the city center that departs every half hour daily. Am sure this would complement any guest stay, who are also planning a trip to major sightseeing location such as, Kota Kinabalu eco-attractions, including Kinabalu Park - World Heritage Site and home of Mount Kinabalu, South-East Asia’s highest peak.

It is always interesting to read of guest taking advantage of early bookings and securing lower and better room rates. This is essentially how anyone could secure great deals and also is my advice to look out for promotions for added savings.

Thank you for tuning in.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu

Address: G-803, 1Borneo Hypermall | Jalan Sulaman, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within East Malaysia's largest lifestyle mall and en-route to Mount Kinabalu - Borneo's highest peak, this select service hotel offers the basic essentials to guests looking for a good night's sleep and a place to re-energize - 5-star beds, heated power showers, clean rooms and 24-hour security. Customize your stay with add-on extras like in-room air-conditioning and wireless internet access. Book online early for best rates, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com - 1borneo, Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tune Hotel Com
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.