We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the clouds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasih Sayang Health Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kasih Sayang Health Resort to your Saves list
Kasih Sayang Health Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beyond the clouds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to KSR for the 3rd time in a couple of months.
Nothing to fault. Swift service, fresh food, tasty as per description. Hope to be back soon. A unique place between heaven and earth at down to earth price, we'll be back...!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was ok consider the place is just 15 minutes away (approx) from the city. The place are cold at night time but manageable. You don't have to bring your thick sweater though. Our room is fine. Very basic amenities. Breakfast is good as well. They are giving you options either nasi lemak, American breakfast or pancakes with tea or coffee. Nothing much can do here actually. Suitable to stay 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

POSITIVE:
Like other comments, the view of natural environment is really amaze me!! Especially during night. You really can see the whole Kota Kinabalu city. It's a good spot for those who love / engage with nature and for meditation purpose.

NEGATIVE:
The hygiene of the room is not clean enough...I can even see the footprint inside my room..GOSH!! Not to mention the wooden balcony is seriously need to retrofit since it is very old and also deteriorating!! Most importantly, THE SERVICE IS REALLY NEED TO GET ALOT IMPROVEMENT!! The restaurant in the resort is proved not able to handle a large group of people (around 50+++ people), the disastrous food in the morning is horrible. Can you imagine serving 50 people with just plain fried mee without any ingredient? And also the staffs are too fewer that not able to serve big amount of customers, in particular housekeeping and restaurant. We need to wait for more than 1 hour in order to check in, because of inefficiency of housekeepers and front desk. With just solely depend on your magnificent servicescape, you are not going anywhere without a better service (friendly and highly efficient staffs & delicious foods with low cost). We might be not able to pay you high, but WE ARE STILL YOUR CUSTOMERS!! Be wise and be rational next time!! Customers might be not always right, BUT THEY ARE STILL THE KING!!

SUGGESTION:
Highly recommend not to stay there unless you really LOVE NATURE. Less entertainment activity that can provide to you from the resort. Bring some games such as poker card if you going to stay there. And also the restaurant serve no alcoholic drink, bring your own drinks if you want to drink some beer, wine or even snacks. Even for me to stay there for 2 days 1 night is a tough moment although with friends, games and wine, somehow the time is seemed drag. And lastly, try not to go there with big group. Small group (2-5 people) is highly recommended since the staffs are too few that not able to serve you well. And lastly for the foods, you might able to taste nicer foods if you really got the budget to do so...So, prepare your wallet to be bleed.

Good luck

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in this resort with my group of course mates for a night. The staff weren't friendly to treat us equally with other customers, just because we does group booking. The breakfast were separated aside from ordinary customers. While other have buffet english breakfast, we only treated with plain fried noodle/meehoon. The room cleanliness is okay, but the terrace attached is horribly dirty. The room also gone blackout at night for a couple of hours.

On top of that, the on-duty staff did not even bother to apologize when our activity was cancelled on the next day, while it has been confirm earlier with the head office staff. Moreover, we treated rudely when we raised the issue of not enough food for everyone. The staff name Jackson even argue that they already prepare food portion of more than 50people while there are still many who havent eaten anything. He also cursed us with very rude words. Overall, the experience is terrible. We will not hesitate to say we will not visit to this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Getting there
While the resort offers airport transfers to its guests, local guests can get up to the resort by car. The road via Inanam/Menggatal is paved all the way. Keep right when you past the St Catherine Catholic Church roundabout. The road up the hill is marked by the large "St Joseph Catholic Church" signage and the resort's signage. It takes about 15-20minutes up that hill. I hear even small cars like the Kelisa can make its way up.

Lobby
My husband and I were there on April 30, 2013 and spent a night there. It was the eve of a public holiday so there was a surcharge on the room rate. We took the standard room. Check-in was easy enough but please note that they do require RM100 cash downpayment (even though we paid for the room with credit card). It's fully-refundable upon check-out.

Room
The room with its queen bed is big enough for 2 adults. We took up the lowest category room - they have standard, superior & deluxe rooms. Superior rooms are a little bigger than the standard and have bathtubs in their bathrooms. The one deluxe room is huge - but looks pretty empty although it does have all the necessary: bed, sofa... It also has a jacuzzi.

The water temperature doesn't get very hot in the shower so I'm not sure how it will work in the bathtub. There are a bottle of 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner, a bottle of bath gel in the bathroom and a bar of soap for the sink. There are also 2 bath towels provided, clean enough with no visible stains.

There was a hair dryer, coffee & tea-making facilities in the room but no mini fridge. Bed was comfy enough, one of the pillows smelt a little funny but not too bad.

View
The view from the room we stayed in was perfect (room 104). All rooms have similar views but the ones on the second level (where we were on) obviously have the better view.

Pros:
1/ The hotel was not full when we were there. Probably 5 of the 17 rooms in that resort were occupied that night. So it was nice and quiet.
2/ The view from the room and the dining area was spectacular!
3/ Food was surprisingly good. We had the oxtail assam pedas, the deep fried banana... All good. Food was served fast enough too.
4/ Staff there speak English although they are a lot more comfortable with Malay. They're friendly and courteous.



Cons:
1/ Very thin walls between the bedrooms. Maybe just a plywood or two. So keep your voices down. I can't imagine staying next to a family with young kids. Our neighbours for the night was a young couple whom we could hear walking up and down the room, talking, the TV...
2/ If we thought the neighbours sounded close in the bedroom, it's a lot worse on the balcony! It was like they were right next to us! There is a barrier between the balconies but it's no help at all. The balcony is the place we hung out at the most because of the beautiful view but hearing the neighbours (and knowing that they can hear us just as well) was quite a put off.
3/ Both blinds on the balcony are broken. Can't pull them up nor put them down.
4/ The vinyl blind on the balcony was moldy and smelt real funny.

Tips:
1/ Bring your own cooler box and load it with alcohol (if that's what you want) because the resort doesn't sell any at all.
2/ Cake isn't in the menu every day so if you're the kind who crave for some after dinner, bring your own too.
3/ It rained when we were there. Temperature was between 21 to 25 degrees Celsius.
4/ They have hiking trails: short one takes about 30minutes, the long one is a lot longer although I can't remember exactly how long. 90minutes? I didn't try it though. According to a map at the resort, the longer trail goes through a rubber estate.
5/ I wouldn't go during school holidays. Think the wooden floors, the thin walls and excited kids. Although the hike may be fun for the kids....
6/ There's no spa here. Not much else to do but talk and sit and stare out which are great for a couple's retreat or personal retreat.
7/ Not sure if this is safe enough for a single lady to go by herself. The entrance to the rooms is right by the roadside and I'm not sure if there is someone sitting at that entrance all night long. Sabah is generally safe but ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It mentions "Kasih Sayang Health Resort", so I went with my friends to try their healthy food menu during last weekend 13April2013. We are so pleased with the food there, salad, yogurt and fruit juice. Healthy and nice.

Friendly staff, cool temperature.

The location on Google map is wrong. Please follow below:
http://www.kasihsayang.com.my/index.php?p=1_16

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I travelled up to Kasih Sayang Resort last weekend, just to see if the food was as bad as the reviews said. We were pleasantly surprised with a warm welcome, prompt service and great food which was delivered quickly to our table. The view is a photographers dream and the temperature is a few degrees cooler than KK with nice breezes. So, don't be put of by previous negative comments, go see for yourself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasih Sayang Health Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasih Sayang Health Resort

Address: Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasih Sayang Health Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kasih Sayang Health Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasih Sayang Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Kasih Sayang Health Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasih Sayang Health Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.