We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Sights, Poor Roads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Dairy Farm

Desa Dairy Farm
Mesilau, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 131 Activities in Sabah
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Sights, Poor Roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is plainly put, spectacular! If in anything at all, this is a must for any tourist visiting Kundasang. The weather here can get a bit odd with raining expected most of the time due to its proximity to the mountains. Witness how the cows are milked by machines or try out the fresh milk and ice cream they have on the counters in the main office, and if you are lucky, you may even get to feed the calves and the kids (young goat) in a small pen located behind the main building - directions provided by signage. Some further advice would be to bring along a poncho raincoat as umbrellas would be literally flown inside out due to the unpredictable wind speed here. And if you're feeling charitable to help maintain the tourist attraction, there's a small corner in the main building selling souvenirs in the form of T-shirts, fridge magnets, key chains and mugs. The downside to the whole trip is the poor road condition feeding into the farm. It isn't paved and is full of potholes and rocks ranging from the size of pebbles to that of a golf ball, while some may even have sharp edges so drive extremely slow (especially when it rains) when you are headed this way to avoid any unwanted mishaps from happening e.g. punctured tyres.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keningau, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh milk and need to grab it fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Actually it is a lot of fun if you are planning to bring along children and family member to visit Desa. You can watch how they take cow's milk using modern machine, but it have its own period. And by the way, they also sell fresh milk near the counter. Chocolate flavor fresh milk is the most popular! So you better grab it fast! Beside of the farm, they have a small pen house for the baby cow and goat. You can buy some grasses or vegetable for feeding them. Its a lot of fun watching the baby cow.^^ The only thing you need to pay attention is~when you notice they are starting to feed the cow, you better grab your seat to sit down or find a good spot to watch. This is because when the people are getting crowded, you won't have the chance to see the whole process of taking milk from the cow.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“surrounded by beautiful natural greenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I love the place! i love the green! it is just a small dairy farm, in my opinion, it is more for tourism purposes instead of producing dairy products! one can visit the farm and enjoy the fresh milk on the spot! please be prepared you will smell some light 'unpleasant smell' at some spots during your visit! well, it is normal for a dairy farm, right! just concentrate on the view and fresh air, you will be fine!
There is a special spot meant for wedding photo/video shooting when on the way to the farm, so you imagine how nice the place it is until being choosen for people wedding shooting. one may need to pay a sum for the purpose.
The route heading to the farm is slightly rocky and uneven! it will be perfect if this could be improved!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chancing on the weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Heard much fantastic reviews on this attraction in Mesilau but luck ran out on the day we visited the farm as there was a heavy downpour. The road to the entrance (entrance fee increased to RM 4!) and farm was full of potholes and we had to maneuver very carefully towards the main building.

The weather went from cool to chilly due to the rain so we had to find shelter in the main building. We tried the milk (they ran out of chocolate milk! *sad*) and their ice cream (RM3.50).. nothing much to rave about. Then we watched the cows (their bodies were infested with flies?!) being milked.

We were quite disappointed we couldnt have the chance to take some photos or visit the calves due to the weather condition. We hope we'd have another chance to visit the farm in good weather condition for a better experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful backdrop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to the farm in February. We were impressed with the green pastures, blue skies, fresh air & mighty Mount Kinabalu as the backdrop. Totally,it was a jaw dropping experience just by viewing the backdrop of mountain! On the dairy farm itself, on the ranch outside, we were able to feed the calf with grass & milk which we had to buy at a very reasonable price. Being able to feed milk to the calf is both exciting & trilling as we clocked how super fast 1 bottle of milk being suck dry by the calf in mere 2 minutes! Inside the facility, we stopped by to purchase souvenirs which the design is unique to this place (can't find it in KK market). Milks were also available for sale in but no difference if we bought it in local supermarket. Snacks are available for sale. Overall, the place is worth visiting because the scenery is captivating, the air is pure, chilling & we got the chance to interact with the calf. A must stop by place is you're in Ranau/Kundasang areas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desa Dairy Farm also viewed

 

Been to Desa Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Dairy Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.