We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay there again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Putrajaya

Save Saved
You added Marriott Putrajaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Putrajaya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IOI Resort | C Kul (20 miles south), Putrajaya 62502, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Putrajaya
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I wouldn't stay there again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

What a disappointing hotel. The gym was dirty (and staff were rarely there to help with towels, etc.). The pool closed at 7 pm. The restaurants were average (with a rotten grape in one of our desserts). I was put on a smoking floor (the default should be non-smoking for all guests - why should non-smokers have to go to the trouble of getting a non-smoking room?). The service was average - the coffee bar consistently insisted on taking only cash or credit cards and wouldn't let you put your coffee on your room (the front desk confirmed this wasn't right). The driver to the airport (arranged through the hotel) drove well over the speed limit and took curves at a white knuckle rate. The hotel is soulless (with its over the top enormous lobby and few places for guests to gather). It confirmed yet again why I try to avoid Marriott Hotels unless absolutely necessary for a nearby meeting. On the positive side: the shower had great pressure and the bed was comfortable. Sadly, it's one of those hotels I was happy to leave.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room if you're a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    92
    60
    21
    15
See reviews for
43
37
11
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am a Premier Plus Member /Marriot Club member. And so I have stayed here for many occasions and days. This hotel is excellent in every level and I would definitely highly recommend

Rooms
Spacious excellent room with very big king bed that can fit 2 adult and 2 toddlers! Comfortable sofas and nice bathroom with bathtub and shower. Tv with various movies, news (CNN, BBC,Aljazeera), Sports and even cartoon network for kids
I have various occasion asked for pool view and has always got what I want except for a time where there is a full capacity

Restaurants
We always had bfast at the Main Cafe and the choices is just to die for! You can never eat everything (unless you have really big appetite) :-p & have various occasion celebrate family member's birthday during lunch or dinner and the food is delicious and good in varieties. Weekend lunch will usually have a quartet singing from table to table which is a very nice touch. & there's a clown who makes a customised balloon to the kids which is always enjoyable

Pool
The pool is huge! You have choices of the main pool with very refreshing man made waterfall or a big jacuzzi or a kid pool with slide.

Kidsworld
This hotel has the best kids area ever! My 5 & 2 yrs old has always enjoy spending hrs and hrs playing here! Even me & hubby! :-D They have an impressive kid's movie room, adequate kids library, a few playstation booth and a huge main play area with beautiful cartoon deco, slides, toy kitchens & all! Other hotel should make this hotel as an example! & this is the main reason why we keep coming here because we know that me & hubby can relax & rejuvenate while the kids enjoy themselves

Spa
Very nice massage and reasonable price too

Gym
Adequate in size and has all the equipment needed

Conclusion, we have been here not only for weekend breaks but also various luncheon & dinner which makes this place a very comfortable family hotel to spent time in and we might say its our 2nd home :-)


Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a fantastic hotel!!!!! Grand in design, magnificent facilities and a buffet to die for. I have just returned to Australia after attending a conference held in this hotel. The staff are of the highest possible quality. Shaun and Rafizan at the front desk, Erma and Nazim in the Zest restaurant and Fitty in the lounge bar were especially good. Pool is fantastic. The only area that was of concern was the distance from KL and the lack of alternative venues around the hotel. But if you want a resort hotel where you can just stay and enjoy true hospitality, the Marriott Putrajaya is the place for you

Room Tip: Smoking floors are available for those of us with the nasty habit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is big but it is really far from the popular shopping malls. The nearest was Alamanda and the hotel taxi charged high rates for even a 10-minute ride. Breakfast was good with juiced fruits and teh tarik. Rooms were spacious but there were no toothbrushes and toothpaste. However, we were most impressed by a kind staff member, Mr Eugene Khoo, who not only answered our queries but even helped to ensure that we were able to get to the various destinations in the most convenient way. Kudos to him for his excellent service - we were really touched by his thoughtfulness and kindness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for a day whilst on a layover in Kuala Lumpur. It was included in my business class fare with Malaysian Airlines. I would have expected to be accommodated at the Sama Sama Hotel at KLIA, but I was told it was booked out for the Malaysian Grand Prix.
Be aware this hotel is a fair drive from KLIA - say about 40mins. Putrajaya is a government/resort/residential satellite town, but I didn't get a chance to explore outside the hotel much.

The hotel is huge, with giant columns and fountains out front. Concierge and reception were friendly.
I stayed in an Executive level room, but I couldn't really say if that was of huge benefit. I peered in the door of the Executive lounge, but couldn't see anyone. The bedroom was large, with an excellent shower. The room walls though seem really thin, as I heard everything from next door including a child screaming.

All in all, a reasonable place to stay. If you have business to do in the area, it would be nice to stay I suppose

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room was spacious and very clean, plus nice interior
For bed, it was comfy with fluffy pillow.
Scenery is superb, viewing the greenery area.
Had a good breakfast and they offered wide choices and of course it delicious
Location was strategic to Putrajaya.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything that you would expect from a Marriott, Palatial Designs, Towering Atrium, Grand Staircases suitable for a shoot of Gone with the Wind, over-priced spa, luxurious fittings and furnishings, weddings galore, efficient and immaculately polite and well-groomed staff,... opulence incarnate, despite the flies that appear out of the breakfast-buffet plates when you disturb them. But ultimately lacking a soul, a human touch, the sense that one is more than one more ant in the heap. Its not the first time that I had this feeling with a Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Putrajaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Putrajaya

Address: IOI Resort | C Kul (20 miles south), Putrajaya 62502, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Putrajaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Putrajaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Putrajaya 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Putrajaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Putrajaya Hotel Putrajaya
Putrajaya Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Putrajaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.