We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Authentic Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Ananda Bahwan

Sri Ananda Bahwan
55 Lebuh Penang | Little India, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
(04) 264 4204
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 411 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is one of many options in Little India, and we found it to be a nice place for a quick bite at lunch. We shared one dish, and had a few cups of tea.

Food was good and tasty, and the service was OK.

There is smallish area as soon as you go in or a larger air conditioned room, both seemed OK.

I probably wouldn’t make a special trip to go there, but if you’re in Little India, and feel puckish, then this place is a nice stop off.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    71
    75
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good naan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I prefer the Sri Ananda in Tanjung Bungah. There seem to be far fewer rats. The banana leaf and pickle is good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
2 reviews
“Yummy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The best indian cuisine in Penang !! Breads are freshly made, curry chicken and best to be eaten in the morning; hot and spicy! Chicken varuval are the spiciest and the best in town :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Butter Chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We figured they run two restaurants, one of which is non-veg. We had Mango Lassis, Butter Chicken, Cheese Naan and a few veggie dishes we picked from the resto next door for less than 10$ and found the Butter Chicken so good(after being to India, Singapore, Malaysia many times) that we came twice in 2 days! Service was very friendly with lots of smiles for an authentic indian restaurant. Great experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“faboulous food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to the all vegetarian outlet and it was near perfect. The choice is great and tasty, the restaurant is pretty clean for the price level. There is a small selection of sweets at the entrance which you have to try. Best mango lassie ever. Service was very fast and attentive on our visits. Usually quite full with locals, most of them were families eating out. We went back a few times and were never disappointed. If I had to recommend any restaurant in Penang, this is the place !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Ananda Bahwan also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island

Been to Sri Ananda Bahwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Ananda Bahwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.