We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aji Noren Japanese Restaurant

Aji Noren Japanese Restaurant
98-G-35, Prima Tanjung, Jalan Fettes, Bandar Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
04-899 4720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were there for our lunch. We saw several Japanese were there for their lunch as well, thus, it is not too much to conclude that the taste of food is authentic. However, there is a room for improvement. The rice was too moist, Japanese rice should not cook in such. Overall, the meals served were bit salty, the cook should consider reduce level of salty of food served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
penang
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Really surprised to find a restaurant in Penang which is equally good as the ones I used to visit when I was in Japan. So many menu items but you do not need to be frustrated. Each item is shown with a clear photo so you know what you are going to eat. Besides that, I ordered one peculiar Japanese food which I learned when I was there. Okamisan relayed my order to Oyakata and then what a surprise! . That unlisted menu item appeared in front.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everlasting efforts by owner chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Young Oyakata owner and his young wife Okami never stop efforts for improvement in all areas.
Restaurant has 2 sections, main and garden. The main section prohibits strictly smoking but the garden section welcomes even smokers. Enter the main door and keep going til you hit the back door. Go through that door, then you find yourself in a completely different atmosphere. You realize this is the garden section. Number of menus available is almost outrageous. You have to live there to exhaust all of them. You'll find a big flat TV screen in the garden. A Japanese channel NHK is set for default but you can ask for any other channels because all ASTRO channels are available.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A must go Japanese restaurant in Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is one of my most frequently visited Japanese restaurant in Penang. The food quality is superior (A lot of Japanese eating here) and the environment is really unique. The staffs are really friendly and helpful.

The Enoki Bata and Chiki Ban Ban are both must try food in this restaurant. I would suggest you to make reservation prior visiting this restaurant as it is always full during dining peak hour.

The money you spent definitely returning with great value and satisfaction. Ichiban Aji Noren!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very nice jap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Service and food is good! Make a reservation if you are going for lunch or dinner. Most of the time, they are always packed with people!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Noren Japanese Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Aji Noren Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aji Noren Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.