We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market

Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market
No. 20, Leith Street, 10000 | Chinatown, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+6012-4216767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 465 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: International, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I ate here several times, and enjoyed every meal, and there is a great atmosphere too. The oyster and mussel omelettes were wonderful. Great prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    378
    157
    44
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good cheap food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We had low expectations after reading the reviews but as it was a short walk from the E&O we thought we'd give it a shot. Not all of the places were open. The food we had was good and cheap we thought. We had a really nice guy serving us beer, very helpful so we gave him a tip. The food was hot and fresh, we'd go back..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went there several times, so it couldn't have been all that bad. As with any place, some food was excellent, some not so. Beware the waitresses who will top off your glass of beer while you are not looking, and then push some more onto you. If you order a bottle of beer, unless you tell them you want a small one, they will bring a large one around 750ml. I would highly recommend the roasted pork from the stall down the end near the ice cream shop. I was most surprised one night when one of the men in a Red Garden shirt asked a group of school children to leave even before they had finished eating because someone wanted the table. When the those people came to sit down, he got a large 'tip'! Seeing behavior like this simply soured the experience and we didn't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had great food there two nights in a row. There were loads of different food stalls with all great food. Grab a table for 'your' number and you can start trying them all. They also had different entertainment on each night: Friday had female singers, Saturday had different (mainly Chinese) singers and a acrobatic show. Great food, great fun!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Average, there are better places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Char Kuey Tiaw was the most averaged among the 3 other different places we tried. The Grilled Fish and Kam Heong Clams were good but pricey. This place seems to cater more for tourists although we have seen a significant number of locals too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.