We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hawkers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market

Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market
Lebuh Leith | Chinatown, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 423 restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hawkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was next to our hotel so we went there like 3 times. Nice Hawkers with a decent choice. It's also the place where Anthony Bourdain had the oyster omelette on No Reservations Penang. She has the picture on the wall for you to see it :) Don't over look the indian place in the corner, I was in no mood for Indian but my friend got a Vindaloo curry from here of all things!! But have to tell you ......... it was good!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    217
    280
    112
    41
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wide varieties with OK prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This food court is always packed with tourists. Anyway, what I don't like about this food court is the management blocked certain tables up and these are only used for patrons who order a certain number of buckets of beers. Later in the night, they have live singing on stage.
Anyway back to the food, we ordered the Mutton Briyani (RM7.50) which in my opinion is very good and the mutton pieces are just tender and nice. Also order the Fish and Chips (RM11.80) that came with a small portion of spagetthi too. Overall presentation is quite good and the fish tasted fresh n nice. Also ordered a small bowl of local Chicken Herbal and Intestine soup that came with a bowl of white rice (RM9.50). For the price it is not worth it and the portion is very small. Not recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient night food market to sample a variety of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really enjoyed eating here twice. It is very lively and packed with locals and tourists. There are many different food stalls, so its a great way of trying out new things. You find a table, memorized the number on the table and then off you go to different food stalls ordering food and giving them the table number. Be prepared to wait a the table. You pay at the table when the food arrives. They also have bands on stage. It all makes for a fun and easygoing atmosphere. I would go again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really great cakes at Nellcis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When you have had your dinner at the Red Garden Food Paradise stop at Nellcis cakes and take a couple back to your hotel to have the next afternoon with your cup of tea! Nellcis offers the best in freshly made homemade cakes and the banana cake is scrumptious. Hubby liked the mint chocolate but all of the cakes looked lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“good location and variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

i went there several times with different sets of friends. i tried their grilled seafood, it was good. the filipino shop is nothing filipino except for the names adobo and lechon paksiw. seafood tomyum is so-so. japanese food was good. i loved the braised pork, it just melts in your mouth.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Garden Food Paradise & Night Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.