We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For RM130 with Breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Naza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Asiatravel.com
and 4 more sites!
Naza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
“For RM130 with Breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice view of The Mainland from my 10th floor room.Room light was a bit dark.Free coffee was nice.Bed was comfy.Water pressure from shower was low.Car park is small & without lift to lobby.Location is awesome.Tv got Star Sports.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    70
    74
    28
    18
See reviews for
41
59
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Naza for 10 days. A good hotel to stay in with decent facilities. The staff is also very helpful and supportive. Specially the housekeeping staff. Will consider Naza if I visit Penang again in future :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The corridor to our room on the 6th floor had a not too refreshing smell. Overall, the room was alright. The bottom end of the sliding shower door was broken but the shower was good. However, only 2 bath towels were provided, could have been more considerate to provide face/hand towels and floor towel as well. Enjoyed the scenic view, so, if you are not too picky, this may suit you well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I been to Naza Hotel Penang in Feb 2013, which I booked through a Portel where I used to stay 2 nights. The prime attraction of this resort as its so closest to the sea. Once can step in to the beach from the restaurant area and pool. View from the room window is amazing and scenic. The adjacent beach is not suggestable for swimming as no soft sand as well as the threat of Jelly fish. Bed, Room space and facilities are quite good but one may feel that it could be better maintained as I saw ma flesh was not working well. Breakfast was quite good and worthy. Pool is not maintained well and was dirty, so my intention to use the pool was not filled. Price is moderate and I say It would not spoil your money or a comfort overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the sea side is so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very disappointing. Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. Took half an hour to get a taxi every time we asked front desk to book a car, even when we called down in advance. Rooms were dirty - safe did not lock, balcony door did not lock properly, aircon did not reach the bedrooms, shower had hair on floor, mould on tiles, floor coming off in areas, breakfast was very basic and not good quality. This hotel is not in a good location- pick either Georgetown (for shopping and sightseeing) or Batu ferrighi (for the beach). One staff member whom we'd never met kept calling our room and visiting our room asking us to go out for drinks with them. Very unprofessional and intrusive. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in June to be close to the top end of Penang without the tourists. The room had a fantastic view and appeared to have been partially renovated. You have to wonder why there were new basins and yet the shower doors were old and broken? We discovered that the shower base leaked into the rest of the bathroom (thankfully it wasn't the toilet leaking). We felt uncomfortable swimming in the pool as it was too close to the throngs of people yet with the Chinese Swimming Club across the road there was no need to put on a show for the diners and smokers poolside. Speaking of smoking, this hotel must be a smoking only establishment. The stench that billows out at you when getting out of the lift on your floor (mine was 6) knocks you for a six. Late at night it somehow creeps into the bathroom to pounce on you when you get up. Apart from the downsides, there are bonuses to stating here. Across the road is one of the best hawker areas in Penang. I know this because I ate at all of them, even Gurney Drive isn't that crash hot. The best Char Kway Teow can be found here along with a tasty and popular chicken hot pot stall. For beer, hike it to Tescos. Lastly, the breakfast buffet is pretty good and changes daily with - what I suspect - may be some of the previous nights dinner spread. Mashed potato and rice pudding is an interesting morning combination. The views, the price, the location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We managed to book a room here just before the school holidays, we paid $30 a night (without breakfast). However as soon as the holidays started the prices went up to a ridiculous $175 on Agoda!!!!!!!! Who are they kidding!! Not worth more than $30 ok.
The room was clean and had everything we needed (fridge, tv etc) the balcony had great views but too hot to stand on when the air con is on!! The pool is lovely when it's not holiday season!! Nice stretch of beach to walk along. There is nowhere close to eat in the daytime, we walked 20 minutes to a local tesco (can't remember the name of the mall) they have sakae sushi and lots of good eateries. In the evening the food hall over the road from the hotel is open, here they have a lot of choices very cheap.
Staff are not the brightest, service is slowish and the hotel could do with a small refurb!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.