We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Naza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Naza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a night . With the price I paid, I guess it was worth it. Room was alright but I think the hotel is a tad bit run down. Well maybe management would make an effort on a renovation. Felt a little deceived by the pictures online, its rather a small hotel though. But plus point would go to the beach which is right smack in front of the hotel. It was quite dangerous for guests to go down to the beach because the stairs were filmsy and really slippery. The swimming pool was nice , anyway. Could opt on swimming there if there were not many people occupying the pool. Honestly I would come back again, because the price is really reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    70
    74
    28
    18
See reviews for
41
59
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this place in january for a week . To star with , great location. lovely beach which we used every day.. as it is very private and only used by the quests from this hotel mainly.
The other story of our stay is .... very disapointing place. The rooms could do with updating.... seeing pictures from 2008 ... oh well if thats what they show now on the internet and in their leaflets... they definitelly need to sort this hotel out so it looks like the pictures! Our room was ok, not as clean as you would expect -- the bed sheets had marks on,, the towels in the room just had it!Bring your own if you are fussy like we are. Reception people were very friendly and try to help.. but a second choice of our room ,,wasnt anything different... marks on the matrace,.... so back to our "lovelly" room. Finally we found the aircon in our bathroom needs to be turn off as we realised the dust hanging out in the unit above... would make things , bits did fall into sink. Fussy? maybe,,)) but more disappointed from the standarts. The breakfast is actually great,, if you stick to having an egg omelate and juices.. the rest is just so poor quality ,, you would not have it at all! Some guests didnt make the breakfast as they didnt fancy it. I have spoken to the manager of the hotel and made it clear of how badly the place is run. Run down.. The table clothes in the eating are are pinned to the table )) with marks on again.. The glass around the eating area could do with better set up. Glass around the restaurant havent seen window cleaner for ages.. same with the pool area . Pool could be great if they cleaned it properly every day and fixed some hazard isue for kids using it.. like hole in the middle and not been fixed. Going down on the beach great.. lets hope you got strong legs as the stairs colapsed and are very dangerous . Overall impression of the hotel. The staff is nice, polite. The rooms are ok. The breakfast is not ok at all! The standards and clean hotel is not ok all! It need someone who can actually run it properly and think twice before poor quality food ( in order to save money) and try to cut down on stuff ( which is important) to clean the place and tidy and run better. I got the feeling the staff is very ashamed of the way hotel looks. I hope someone will do their job 100%.Otherwise near by george town ( take a bus) which is lovely to be. Tesco near by if you need couple of things . also food market outside of the hotel which is great.... the rest you would have to find out on your own. Just dont expect anything great. thats all

Room Tip: Choose room on a side with sea view. . dont go for the rooms in front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel is tied needs abit off tlc,breakfast was so bad and i eat on the street out side there a food cout out side,the bedrooms are ok,bed linden need replacing,swimming is not cleaned,but could be nice,the beach is great,
staff are ok,i hope the manager reads the comments,we did talk too him too?
it could be a nice hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

1) bookings are not tend to accordingly. Requested a king sized bed clearly during booking. But when arrived for check in, we were told that the room is 2 separate single beds. when i asked why, he told me that the beds can be pushed to join together. n i was told to DO IT MYSELF!

2) parking is not adequate. not enough parking? park at your own risk outside and at the roadside.

3) upon entering room, room are badly maintained :-
- Toilet seat is not fixed. Unsuspecting guest will just fall off the toilet bowl.
- Washroom wash basin water stopper is broken.
- power socket just beside the bed is damaged. Once you plug in (example) a charger, the power socket just dropped off from the wall!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

got a last minutes deal on 27 Dec 2012 standard room for rm200/night. clean and tidy room, beach front (only during low tide). limited car park available, non walking distance to main attractions. a nice non halal food court right infront of the hotel offering above average hawker food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First of all, the price of the accommodation here are very reasonable. Only RM130 per nite with a very nice view from the balcony, with breakfast for 2, rooms with air condition, with free parking, with swimming pool. What else that u want? Come on... i kinda understand that the hotel is old but as long as it is clean. For me its acceptable. You cannot find any other hotel in that area with that price.
You can walk along the beach in the evening and relax yourself at the pool.
When you in travel. Don't attached your self with the TV. Be acquainted with the place. If you like so much to be in the hotel room, find the expensive one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I have booked this hotel earlier and it comes with breakfast.The check in is a bit slow,it takes us about 20 minutes to wait there and as we get the room key,we soon head to it and our first opinion was a bit small room and small balcony,the TV was an old fashioned tube style,the bathroom was average and it's just clean.The curtain on the balcony doors were torn.But the most we enjoy here is the view and we got the best of both that is the beach and the mountains.There's no noise in the night while we were sleeping and it's a good night sleep after a tiring day of touring the city,Breakfast was good but not too many choices for us,but once again the view of the sea is nice with the pool that we can see from the indoor cafe,you can eat outdoor too.The swimming pool is small in my opinion and I think it needs upgrade.Overall a quiet comfortable hotel to stay with it's nice location and view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.