We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great, but not terrible either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Naza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Naza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“not great, but not terrible either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My first impression of my room is that it looked tired and shabby. The hook on the bathroom door for instance was missing, and they hadn't bothered to put one back up. In it's place was a mark where it had been ripped off.

Regarding the location, the best thing is the view of the sea, which is beautiful. However, if I were booking a hotel, I'd want to stay in the centre of Georgetown, and not here, which is out on a limb. There's not much to see here, apart from the sea.

I didn't think much of breakfast. The omelette, which they prepare freshly for you, is nice. However, they don't bother closing the lids on the containers, so most the food is lukewarm.

I found the staff to be friendly. Also, the food court outside the hotel is handy.

As I didn't pay for or chose this hotel, I can't comment on value for money. All I can say is that I was a bit disappointed with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    72
    74
    28
    18
See reviews for
41
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Literally that's the worst hotel I have never been. Fresh urine stained toilet seat, yellow linens, vanity doesn't drain the water. They have already changed the room twice for me, feels like I need to sleep in my jeans tonight. I checked the original price was 500+, now it's on sale. I got the price for RM 140. Now i totally understand. I don't think it's worth even RM 40.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in the Family Suite. The room was spacious and very big. It was really comfortable.
The basement car park to the ground floor (reception area) had only stairs. So you have to carry your bags up the stairs. Parking is limited at the carpark and if you are unlucky to hit a conference going on, then you have to park outside in the housing area.
Food at the restaurant was good for the pricing. A lot of variety. However, there was one meal where the white rice was undercooked.
Lift went blackout while we were inside, making it a scary situation as it was pitch darkness. Luckily, it only happened once during my 3 days stay.
Location is very good as there is a food court (Viva) just outside the hotel, making it very convenient to sample the local food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 1 night in november.other than location which is near the beach, the facilities suck.The staff at the check in counter wore no smiles.No wifi available, pool is dirty.The room is dimly lit, watermarks on the wall, iron mark on the table.The carpet has dubious looking dark spots.Housekeeping service is practically non existent, called for hairdryer twice in an hour but no one came at all. Bed is lumpy and dismal selection of tv channels

Not worth the advertised price at all.I'd rather stay in town and travel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, Gujarat
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at hotel 2 Night with friends, Good location on Beach, Nice food, good service. clean hotel penang is good city. we have taken Star Cruise 1 night experience it is great. Penang having 2 Indian restaurent, food is good and love to see South Indian Market very Big in Penang old Town. Little South India!!!!!!!!! gr8888888888

Room Tip: ocean view top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Reserve a Dlx room through Agoda last minute deals. Check-in process is prompt,lift encounter blackout during our first ride,no emergency light. The service personnel also share the same lifts,sad..Room is bright and spacious, they did not mop the floor or change our sheets overnight, only towel and bathroom amenities are replaced. The bed is too soft,"spring" effect is gone. The bathroom surprised us with few defects: stopper in the basin really "stopped"the water flow, so we remove it instead;the shower head can't be adjusted to a certain height due to the holder does not lock it well, then the water tap almost fell on my feet during shower! The bathroom wooden door will swing freely if you don't shut it with a 'BANG"
Location is convenient for short holiday,bus station is about 5min away,food is available from the chinese food court or Malay food stall opposite the main road.
Room overlooking the Chinese Swimming Club has a magnificent sea view as well. The hotel pool is not bad,especially for family with children.

Room Tip: Higher floors,we had 1008- great view & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel facilities is nice..i enjoy my sea view breakfast very much..but the room is quite old..but with this kind of price it is reasonable for stay here..staff here are quite nice and acting fast when im required something from the housekeeping..can be try if have a budget trip to penang..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.