We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Naza Hotel to your Saves list
Naza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in George Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Literally that's the worst hotel I have never been. Fresh urine stained toilet seat, yellow linens, vanity doesn't drain the water. They have already changed the room twice for me, feels like I need to sleep in my jeans tonight. I checked the original price was 500+, now it's on sale. I got the price for RM 140. Now i totally understand. I don't think it's worth even RM 40.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    74
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
43
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in the Family Suite. The room was spacious and very big. It was really comfortable.
The basement car park to the ground floor (reception area) had only stairs. So you have to carry your bags up the stairs. Parking is limited at the carpark and if you are unlucky to hit a conference going on, then you have to park outside in the housing area.
Food at the restaurant was good for the pricing. A lot of variety. However, there was one meal where the white rice was undercooked.
Lift went blackout while we were inside, making it a scary situation as it was pitch darkness. Luckily, it only happened once during my 3 days stay.
Location is very good as there is a food court (Viva) just outside the hotel, making it very convenient to sample the local food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 1 night in november.other than location which is near the beach, the facilities suck.The staff at the check in counter wore no smiles.No wifi available, pool is dirty.The room is dimly lit, watermarks on the wall, iron mark on the table.The carpet has dubious looking dark spots.Housekeeping service is practically non existent, called for hairdryer twice in an hour but no one came at all. Bed is lumpy and dismal selection of tv channels

Not worth the advertised price at all.I'd rather stay in town and travel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, Gujarat
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at hotel 2 Night with friends, Good location on Beach, Nice food, good service. clean hotel penang is good city. we have taken Star Cruise 1 night experience it is great. Penang having 2 Indian restaurent, food is good and love to see South Indian Market very Big in Penang old Town. Little South India!!!!!!!!! gr8888888888

Room Tip: ocean view top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Reserve a Dlx room through Agoda last minute deals. Check-in process is prompt,lift encounter blackout during our first ride,no emergency light. The service personnel also share the same lifts,sad..Room is bright and spacious, they did not mop the floor or change our sheets overnight, only towel and bathroom amenities are replaced. The bed is too soft,"spring" effect is gone. The bathroom surprised us with few defects: stopper in the basin really "stopped"the water flow, so we remove it instead;the shower head can't be adjusted to a certain height due to the holder does not lock it well, then the water tap almost fell on my feet during shower! The bathroom wooden door will swing freely if you don't shut it with a 'BANG"
Location is convenient for short holiday,bus station is about 5min away,food is available from the chinese food court or Malay food stall opposite the main road.
Room overlooking the Chinese Swimming Club has a magnificent sea view as well. The hotel pool is not bad,especially for family with children.

Room Tip: Higher floors,we had 1008- great view & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel facilities is nice..i enjoy my sea view breakfast very much..but the room is quite old..but with this kind of price it is reasonable for stay here..staff here are quite nice and acting fast when im required something from the housekeeping..can be try if have a budget trip to penang..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked two twin rooms and a double room for a family stay-cation. While the rooms are cheap (USD35 per twin room, USD46 per double room with breakfast), the inconvenience makes you wish you pay more.

1. Air conditioner didn't work for one of the rooms. TV screen was static. Busted lamp in the other room. Leaking toilet tank in the same room. Had the maintenance personnel in those rooms for quite a while, which ruined the trip a little.

2. Food is substandard. Even though it is a Muslim-run establishment, I don't mind having halal food but the variety is poor and the quality is below average. Fortunately Penang is renowed for great hawker fare island-wide outside of the hotel.

3. The access of beach made everything else worthwhile :) The pool is very small though but the beach is good enough.

4. Staff was actually very friendly and helpful. Shame that the hotel conditions were too bad but they were trying hard to help us with the issues in the rooms.

5. Wifi was provided for free (part of the promotion), decent connection. Car parking available at the basement.

6. There is a food centre right opposite with local fare and seafood :) Helps a lot for the sad meals in the hotel. Location is pretty close to Gurney Drive down the road and Batu Ferringhi up the road.

So, there you go. It is still ok but you cannot have high expectations.

Room Tip: Only double rooms have sea view. All the other single and twin rooms have side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 1 in Tanjung Tokong
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#27 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#31 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
3.9 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#20 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naza Hotel

Address: No.555, Jalan CM Hashim | Tanjung Tokong, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Naza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Georgetown
Naza Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.