We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Modern hotel in Penang” 3 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in George Town
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent Modern hotel in Penang”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very close to the Gurney Shopping Mall and strip next to the bay/sea the hotel is a slightly modern trend. Although not as nice as other branded name hotels the staff does do their best to please and the mini-bar was included. The breakfast buffet was not as wide variety at other high end hotels that you would expect, but had the basics. The cleanliness of the rooms was a little lacking as the hotel was a little older and due to the humidity of the region there were some insects around the room. I did think that this hotel was good value, but would not consider it luxury/premium hotel. The location is good as it is close to Gurney and not far from downtown and other areas to visit around Penang.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    447
    113
    33
    37
See reviews for
243
322
72
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We were locked out of our own room for hours and added with horrible customer service who all of them are unable to manage the situation.
Definitely not worth the price that we paid for!!
What's worst is they did not compensate or apologise for the inconvenience they cause to us!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the G Hotel at the recommenation of my client in Penang. The hotel was very nice. The transportation/limo staff were very helpful and arranged a van for us to take six people to our client location on the south side of the island each business day. The hotel breakfast was very good. The fitness room had plenty of equpiment and had great views of the bay on one side and the pool area on the other.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here last year, location is very close by to shopping malls along gurney drive with sea view if you take the seaview rooms, great view. room is adequately spaced, bed and pillow comfortable enough. shower area is great but no bathtubs. free minibar! free computer and printer as well. Love their buffet meals, wide selection of food and tasty. thumbs up! overall a great modern hotel. highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a very pleasant stay at the g hotel. It provides a very huge and nice breakfast table, beautiful pool and very nice big rooms. They had good service and polite staff. It was quite nice that i got some ice crème while waiting for the check in to be finished
I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was my second stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly and the ambience was very pleasant. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant and all meals were excellent.
My only complaint was the room carpet which I'm allergic to.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just to clarify, I haven't stayed at the hotel itself. However I visit Penang at least once a year to visit relatives and always make time to visit the bar at the hotel to relax and unwind.

It's more stylish than a k-pop artist, more comfortable than a freshly ironed shirt and very welcoming. Good wifi connection and right next to the mall. Some of the cocktails that I've tried are a little off to my taste and would be more than happy to exhange some cocktail recipies with them. But all in all, if you'd like a couple of hours to unwind or break from shopping at Gurney plaza I highly recommend the bar.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.