We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, close to the mall and Street market food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place, close to the mall and Street market food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice place to stay, with the Gurney Plaza just next to it.
I particularly enjoyed the street market food just 500 m away.
The beach is not pretty but even though the sunset its amazing from the top floors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    432
    107
    33
    34
See reviews for
233
316
71
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved the interior designs of the hotel, the moment we stepped into its lobby. The counter staffs were pleasant & efficient in serving us (they allowed us to check in prior to the stipulated check-in time of 2pm). The lobby also had a G cafe, as well as a counter bar.

Location wise was perfect, as it was located in front of the sea/beach, which allowed us to observe low/high tide timings for the day. Not to mention, next to a big shopping mall Gurney Plaza - where I shopped for a nice swimming costume (as the infinity pool was too irresistable to jump in due to the crazy hot weathers esp in the afternoons). The gym also had a perfect full-length seaview, to enjoy whilst working out (love it!). Breakfast was available for a reasonable price of RM25 per pax, but sadly I didnt get the chance to try it.

At night - the street market (aka pasar malam) was available, along with the food centre (oddly they operate in late afternn/ at night only) where we got to taste many varieties of foods. Small shophouses were also available along the drive to the hotel, where I finally managed to grab a packets of coffees home (as well as taste the many different flavours such as tiramisu/ durian/ cappucino).

Recommended for those, who enjoys being near the sea & don't mind paying abit more for an enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: May wish to request for a seaview room, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in G-hotel for 5 nights. Booked two rooms - they couldn't give us a connecting room as we requested but thanks to the staff who gave us at least one seaview room. When I booked the hotel I didn't know much about Georgetown so I was a little worried about the location as it was not exactly in the city centre. However, it turned out to be in a very pleasant area. The neighbourhood was nice with a shopping mall nearby which was very convenient. It was also easy to get to town. I love the 24 hour cafe - we arrived very late on the first day so it was helpful, good food, so we went there again before we left. Our package didn't include breakfast so we lied in every morning, sometimes we went in and out our room to/from the shopping mall next door. With the cleaning sign hung outside the door when you wanted cleaning, our room was ready when we were back. Spacious room, simple but decent and modern decoration. Good swimming pool. The only thing is that I didn't expect there was no bath tub and we did not get the complimentary ice-cream!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently had an excellent experience at G Hotel, the location is perfect close to Georgetown and a short taxi ride to Batu Ferringhi, plenty of taxis outside for easy access and a great shopping complex next door.

Free wifi is awesome and the facilities first rate,gym is particularly good....

The staff, (maybe apart from one person who I'll put down as having a bad day), were brilliant, we will be staying here again for sure...

Room Tip: Sea facing room's are very nice to wake up in the morning to a view of the ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and modern looking. The room is quite big, nice, clean and very comfortable. Really couldn't find any fault with the room.

The buffet breakfast is excellent. It has good selection of food and it tastes excellent. Really enjoyed the breakfast and of course, we ate too much :)

Next to the hotel is a big shopping mall with many choices of cafe and restaurant. The hawker center is also within walking distance, but they only open at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in G Hotel last week for two days for business. My company booked the hotel.
The room was ok, overlooking the sea at the fourth floor.
The bad experience started next day.
When i returned from work, the room was not cleaned. There were no sign issues. I thought no big deal, i will call front desk, goto gym. I called front desk reporting. Went to gym and when came back room was not cleaned. I was tired, hungry and since i would leave next day, I decided not to call again.
I ordered pizza, pick your three toppings option. I chose sausage, prawns and mushrooms. When the pizza came, it was green peppers, black olives and onions....Again I said no big deal i will call and change. 10 minutes later i get call from front desk that pizza cannot be changed. That is a mistery to me to this day. The front desk said that i would get communicated with the chef because he cannot make pizza without green peppers, black olives and onions. I told them that i didnt see why. Finally reception agreed to change. I waited, and waited and waited... Nobody came or called. I called again and I told them to cancel order and i would go out to eat and placed the tray out my door. I left and ate at Fridays next door
When I came back tray was gone. Next day I at checkout did see my order reversed in the bill. But surprise there was another dinner charged to me with different value, when I asked answer was that i ordered something else. Which I didnt of course. They fixed my bill, but was told that i would later get an email after investigation... What?? I said i wanted to settle all affairs right there... All this time the front desk clerk came in and out to talk to Manager which never even once came out. I wrote a big paragraph in the bill saying that i would not accept any charges. At the end the clerk said thanks for your stay and I left. So far no apologies, no calls nothing. Did get a standard feedback link which i will complete after this.. What else can I say? The worst experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Check in was fast as I arrived a little earlier. Stayed 2 nights in the superior room, was told no seaview for this room category but was given a corner lot which was still partially seaview, special thanks to the check in staff. And oh yes, there was complimentary ice-cream upon checking in as well, a nice gesture. Lobby was crowded, mainly with outsiders who took advantage of the free seats available near the lobby and the lounge. Room was just too spacious, adequately equipped, but it looks really bored. Bed was comfortable and huge, that can easily fit 2 adults and 2 children. And there was a pillow menu (a wide selection of pillow types) for the guest to choose from. Minibar was complimentary, which it adds a little surprise to the otherwise very dull room. Bathroom has... NO BATH TUB!! WHY?? And the whole bathroom was flooded everytime after shower! Swimming pools for adult and children were available, the surrounding deco was cooling and relaxing. Hotel location was so strategic with a shopping mall just adjacent to the hotel, a few steps away to the famous food heaven gurney drive, and by the seaside, but no beach to stroll though. Didn't try the restaurants as my stomach was always full with penang hawker food. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and it would definitely be my hotel of choice whenever I go to penang again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.