We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great looking lobby and location but room is bit basic/plain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Asiatravel.com
and 11 more sites!
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great looking lobby and location but room is bit basic/plain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

nice location next to gurney mall and 250 metres or so walking distance to the famous hawker stalls which opens every night and usually packed with a lot of locals and tourists. The hotel looks quite impressive at 1st due to the nice deco of the lobby area but room is a bit of a let down on deco. Bathroom only has a shower and no bath. Laundry can be done down the road, exit to the left of the hotel along the shore when you hit 1st set of lights (at Mcdonalds) cross the road to the right and you will see a laundry/dry cleaning place a couple of shops down next to a small hotel. 3-4 RM for a KG worth of clothes, wash and folded. Bus stops are also located near this laundry shop as well. Right opposite the laundry next to the fire station you can catch the local bus which goes to the Batu Ferringi (beach area) or you can catch the 101/102 to Georgetown (old town) area right outside the laundry shop. Otherwise taxis are always plentiful around hotel and the mall

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

We are very pleased to hear that you found our hotel location is strategy and convenience one. However I was disappointed to learn that you found our room to be less than your expectation. We will be undertaking a room refurbishment program in the coming year.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    360
    94
    29
    30
See reviews for
196
291
68
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Perfect location for food lover and shopper, Gurney Drive just right in front and the shopping center just next to the hotel. Everything just around the corner, morden decor, room is big and comfortable. I booked the spa package from the hotel which is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived in G Hotel for a one night and the hotel is so stylish. The check in was smooth even need to wait for a while. The staff at front office are very attentive the guest needs as well I would think it is not a good idea to serve icecream for late check ins.

The rooms are excellent and confortable. Infact i felt just being in room. So comfy and WOW experience. It was short trip and was not able to excess any other facilities or entertainment. which I believe it will be awesome.

Great location, great place and great hotel. It is like one stop center for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very centrally located walking distance to food courts, shopping malls and restaurants makes it very convenient for guests. Once considered hip and trendy, it looks a bit tired. However, the lounge and chill out music piping through the speakers in the lobby and common area was nice. Staff that attended to my check-in had an attitude. Lack of smile and unfriendly. I had the highest floor room which was generous in size and two large windows that allows a lot of natural lighting in the day time. Bed was comfortable and plush. Hotel's toiletries are from Aigner which was a plus point.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing G Hotel as your preferred hotel when staying in Penang and I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your kind praise on our location, room, bed and toiletries are greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to once again, maked your stay with us an exceptional one.

At the same time I regret to learn that you found a few of our staff unfriendly. Normally our service is exceptional and the difficulties you experienced are not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care. Our Room Division Manager will establish a retraining course in Customer Service to prevent any future incidents.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback which is highly appreciated. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pros: Great location (on Gurney Drive facing the water, 1 min walk from the famous Gurney hawker centre), new and modern decor (30+ foot ceilings in the very grand lobby), the room was decent sized, clean and had great decor, friendly, warm & professional staff, this is the first hotel I've seen that offers 3-4 pillow choices (they have my favourite neck pillows!!!), the "Do Not Disturb" and "Clean My Room" signs are activated by buttons on the wall (instead of cardboard signs on the door knob), free bikes to use, has pool and gym facilities and lots of hip restaurants inside the hotel.

Cons: Electronic devices (phone, camera) cannot be charged when you leave the room (all power in the room switches off if the hotel card is pulled out) - I've never seen this at other hotels. For the special pillows, they only allow 1 per room - if you have 2 guests in the room, why would you only allow 1 guest to sleep well? To me, this is a great idea ruined by a bad policy.

There was a problem when we checked in and it was handled well by the check-in staff. We requested a double bed for the whole trip, but none was available for our first night (for the type of room we paid for), so we were offered 2 single beds for the first night. We were not OK with this and after a light discussion, we were upgraded to an executive room (with a double bed of course) for the whole trip.

Overall, we had a really positive experience at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Penang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind understanding that due to our efforts of conserving energy, once a key card has been removed from the energy saving card slot, the electricity will be cut off which is common practise in many other hotels throughout the world.

I was pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is a good 20 minute drive from the airport. The staff across the hotel; reception,restaurant,house keeping, and bar, are all very attentive and friendly.

I especially like the large downstairs bar, and spaciousness of the hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and our staff provided great service throughout your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity personally to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

G Hotel is perfectly located. Just far enough away from the main bustle of the city, yet near enough that a cab ride won't set you back. Just next to Gurney Plaza and a stone's throw away to the famous Gurney hawker. (Try the Penang laksa at stall 11!) Room is very spacious. I think a family of 5 can fit in. Staff is friendly and welcoming. The welcome ice-cream was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Face the sea at least partially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our main priority.

We truly appreciate your kind comments in regards to your recent stay, i.e. the location, the room and the excellent service rendered by our associates.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang Georgetown
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#6 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.