We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Tees Valley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Located in the hub of Gurney Plaza surrounded by ultra modern shopping Malls.
Reception staff extremely pleasant,helpful and courteous.
Lifts to all floors fast and plentiful.
Rooms large with comfortable King beds and spacious bathroom with every toiletry you need including tooth brushes.
Breakfast was good with a large selection of eastern & western foods being topped up all the time by friendly staff.
Swimming pools,fitness centre,sauna & beauty centres all clean & well staffed.
This is an impressive modern hotel used by many business people.
Having stayed here for seven nights there are a few things required to make it more pleasurable,rooms with interconnecting doors require a lot more soundproofing,TV channels repeat same programmes daily!! Corridor carpets require cleaning or renewing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear jamesTeesValley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience in Tripadvisor.

I was most pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will review your various comments on soundproofing and TV channel to see what we can do to improve these in the future, plus the condition of the carpet is currently been reviewed.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback; we will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    388
    99
    31
    34
See reviews for
213
300
70
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Location next to a major shopping centre was very convenient to my family.
Beds were really big so much so that I did not need an extra bed for my 15 year old son. ( I actually wanted an extra bed but the guest service receptionist asked us to check to beds first before committing to one!)
Cleanliness was superb.
Breakfast has a good spread.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear WLCHONG,

Thank you very much for choosing G Hotel during your recent stay and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable; your feedback is highly appreciated because your satisfaction and comfort are our main aim.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You can not but be impressed as soon as you enter this hotel with it's large reception.
Check in was very easy with a free ice cream whilst you details are processed.
My room was huge with a fantastic bath and shower. Plus free soft drinks in minibar.
All the staff acknowledge you and you are made welcome everywhere.
The hotel is connected to the Guerney Plaza with hundreds of shops and food outlets.
There is also a cinema of high standard and is amazingly cheap compared to UK prices.
I liked so much I am returning a week later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Philkeating,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you found many aspects of your stay to be positive such as the location and the room. In addition, your kind comments on our services are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our team, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality services and being appreciated.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcome back you in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Penang in mid Jan.
It was a very spacious room for three.

As we came arrived early morning in Penang, the hotel allows us to check-in early.
The fridge had complimentary soft drinks,
Bottles of mineral water are refilled daily.
Bathroom had a nice view to overlook the sea.. (but be reminded to draw your blinds!)

Hotel provided shuttle to Holiday Inn at Batu Ferringhi. Rem to check with the concierge to reserve a seat.

The hotel is along the coast. It is next to Gurney Food Centre (my fave are the muah chee n Fried Kway teow!). Also, linked to gurney plaze shopping mall.

Overall, it is a comfortable hotel! I will recommend my friends here.

Room Tip: high floors/sea view rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The G flatters a little to deceive - the entrance lobby is busy but chic, the check-in smooth and the first impression of the room is strong, with plenty of space and an attractive four-poster. A view of some sea would have been nice, but obviously not all the rooms can have that.

But then the little details like the rather flimsy door, the tatty door card holder and the cheap plastic toilet seats start to grate a little, and you feel that if more attention had been paid to the finishing touches, this would be a genuinely stylish place to stay - and worth the price of other similar upwardly mobile hotels in the city.

The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of good, cheap hawker food in the evenings and well-placed for a long but interesting walk into the town centre (or a US$5 cab ride if you are in a hurry or cannot walk for half an hour). Mainly for this reason, I would stay here again - and I would hope by that time the rooms have had the minor makeover that they need to ensure that the G lives up to its undoubted promise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

very stylish hotel. comfortable bed.food was good. staffs were friendly. very clean rooms. bedside radio is a bonus for travelers. i frequented this hotel whenever i go to penang for my business trip. always fully booked. must reserve atleast 2 weeks prior check-in. 2 thumbs up for this hotel!

Room Tip: book early to avoid disappointment. always fully booked. especially during school holidays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I expected more from this G stylish hotel for the price paid.. I was having a lower corporate contract rate published in our company staff portal which indicated valid until 31 March 2013 but the reservation department insisted the price had increased. the price is almost what i paid for my stay with ritz carlton KL, but as the brand suggested, ritz had definitely more to offer.
i book G Hotel anyway coz i like the location.

The deluxe room is indeed too spacious for a too mini bathtub that look like a kitchen basin in my photo taken.the open concept bathtub is facing another room where ppl can see u bathing naked.. so it defeat the purpose of building an open concept bathtub if you need to eventually let down the blind. the aigner toiletries are impressive but bottles look old and not changed regularly.

i agreed with the rest of the review that the check in block amount for credit card is unusually higher than other hotels. if staying 2 nights, shouldnt block amount more than 2 nights amount.. maybe mr GM can explain a bit what is the standard for amount blocking.

The free minibar consumption is a unique concept that surprised me though. However, i dont really drink much can drinks.. good for those that dont drink plain water. some free keropok & nuts will be nice.

the hotel location is definitely great, next to shopping centre & hawker.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear shironuhiubu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay in our hotel.

It is disappointing to read you were not satisfied with our Aigner toiletries. We are constantly upgrading and enhancing our hotel, however my apologies if you have found otherwise.

In regards to the question of the deposit which is collected upon check-in through your credit card, the amount is the full room nights stay plus RM200 for any incidental charges during your stay. Upon check out should you use the same card, the unused amount is automatically released. We inform our guest that should they wish to use an alternate method of payment at checkout; the blocked amount will be released by the issuing bank and is subject to the banks time frame.

Once again, thank you for your constructive and valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#7 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.