We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Penang.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place in Penang.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The G hotel was our base in Penang while we explored the island (mainly the food!). The location is not in the happening area of penang (Georgetown) but on the outskirts in an area called Gurney. However, there are plenty of local places to check out to eat. Our check in went fine and we were shown to our room. It was on a higher floor and had a view of the pool. The complimentary minibar was ok but didn't have much in it we found appetizing other than the 2 mini kit kats which I ate daily! We got a king bed which was two large singles pushed together which made for a massive bed! It was a little hard but we didn't mind. The room was plenty large and ye bathroom as well. We used the concierge a lot and they were as friendly as could be. We had dinner at the local gurney hawker center and the food was delicious. Probably not as clean and sanitary as other centers in places like Singapore but we are here fine with no issues. The Char ke teoy from the stall in the middle with yellow gas tanks was delicious! Definitely pay the extra buck for the duck egg upgrade. We also checked out a local seafood restaurant outside the hotel (walk to the right when coming out for about half a mile). The food was also great and we got to pick out a fish to have for dinner (some of the fish they had on ice were still flapping!!!). Additionally, if your are not as adventurous and don't want to try local food (not sure why you would skip out on the deliciousness of the food here!) you can head to the shops to the left of the hotel - literally next door and have anything from Chilis to Starbucks to Nandos. Plenty of western options.

Also, the PM of Malaysia stayed in our hotel the last night we were there (due to Chinese New Years he was in town to celebrate). This was a cool treat and the hotel had an extra nice vibe.

We used the hotel for a private driver one day to tour the island. We got a pleasant driver and the price was very reasonable (something like $75 USD for 4 hours). We would highly recommend doing this to day out of the eat and seeing just what you want.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel. We had a great time and getting to town is only a 15 ringgit cab ride.8

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear dput,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn how much you and your family enjoyed the stay with us.

Our main aim is to raise G Hotel standard further while serving our esteemed guests.

Once again thank you for kind review which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    388
    99
    31
    34
See reviews for
213
300
70
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I and my husband stayed at the G Hotel during our trip at Penang in Jnauary, 2013. The ice-creams served when checking in was special. The room was big with mini bar (4 cans of drinks and 2 mini Kit-Kats). The location is great. It is next to the shopping mall (shopping is convenient although it is not as good as in KL). Would come back if we visit Penang again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Penang, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sandy623,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our first priority.

I am very pleased to learn how much you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Once again thank you for kind review which is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for a 1 week business trip. The room was spacious with great sea view.Overall pretty good customer service but sometimes they are slow in responding to room service request. Security is commendable as you are only allow to have access to the floor you are at.
Cons: buffet spread is really boring and average for a 4/5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a company meeting. The room is spacious with a big bathroom. TV has enough English language TV movie channels to keep me entertained. My king size bed is huge, though slightly hard for my taste. Room service is adequate. Mini bar is complementary (stocked with 4 cans of soft drink and two mini kit-kats).
Overall service in the hotel is OK. Occassionally they may be over eager. I asked for a morning call one night and received the automated call the next morning at the requested time. When I was in the shower, the phone rang again, but I couldn't pick it up. It kept ringing for a very long time, then finally stopped. 2 min later, someone was ringing my door bell and pounding on my door, yelling "mame, this is your wake up call." I yelled back "I am in the shower" and he stopped.

I have not used the gym nor the pool, but my colleagues commented that they were quite good, especially view from the gym. The hotel is right next to a shopping mall. Although the shops are nothing exciting, they do provide the convenience, plus a lot of eateries.

My least favorite part about the hotel is its food. By Day 2, I was already fed up with what it serves. Meals arranged for the meetings may be limited due to the meeting package. But the breakfast buffet was nothing exciting either, depsite the seemingly wide choices. Quality of the cheese, bread, yogurt or jam is very average. I didn't have seconds either for the meeting meals or breakfast buffets.

I feel quite neutral about this hotel. It served its purpose without any pizzazz nor excitement.

Room Tip: high floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just stayed at the G Hotel & loved the location & service. Whether you want upmarket food or Hawker food it is all within a few minutes walk & the location of the hotel gives a lovely feeling of space & tranquility. Being on the water means it is cooler than other locations & very calming.
The massive Gurney Plaza next door is wonderful for food, book shops & shopping, but don't forget the smaller Midlands park centre nearby for cheaper shopping & a terrific range of DVDs!
The rooms at The G hotel are very spacious & well presented. The bathroom shower recess is very large & the shower pressure is sensational!
A lovely touch is the evening service to see if there is anything you need & the very generous bottled water supply.
Rooms are very quiet & conducive to good sleep.
Free mini bar, no alcohol, meant there was always a cold drink or a Kit Kat. Lovely touches.
Would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be quiet, our room overlooked a tree lined walkway & the pool which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went on holiday to stay at the G hotel. We had heard the Eastern and Oriental may be a bit dated so we thought we woudl try this one. This is not in the central part of Georgetown but only about 15MYR (3 pounds) taxi to Georgetown so not bad. The plus i that it is next to the main Hawker Street food stalls (where loads of people eat in Georgetown so it was a plus!). Also, its on the outskirt of the town which makes it easy (to avoid traffic) to go to any of the sights - batu ferrenghi, Kek Lok Si temple (amazing!). If you like your known chains as well, its essentially attached to to a mall. We didnt get the breakfast package because food in Penang is supposed to be amazing and handy to have a starbucks right next door for morning coffee :) The room we got - i think executive premier room was massive and although very modern, was VERY nice. A four poster bed and all. The service is the only reason we rate this down. Front desk and concierge staff were not all that friendly and not great at recommendations etc. The pool area is quite nice and clean and nice for an afternoon break. We did go to the E&O hotel for a poolside hotel and were well impressed...its beautiful and more of a leisure hotel than the business hotel that G was like. (but dont know what the rooms are like). Overall we had a good stay and since we knew it was a more modern business hotel when we booked, it met our expectations.

Room Tip: Premier executive with four poster was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with a friend during the recent Thaipusam festivities..... G-hotel is practically like a designer hotel, the lobby, the toilets and shops are all well designed and looks chic and savvy..... Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were courteous and friendly..... The room well for the price we paid, i think it was rather steep, the beds were the below average as it was like rock solid and the king size bed was actually 2 super single bed tucked in together which makes the bed looks huge and good enough for 3 people to sleep on it..... the shower was good.... the pool was good and the breakfast there i can say is one of the better ones compared to the other hotels as it serves well for foreigners and locals..... Overall i would say this is avery good hotel but room refurbishment will need to be done soon as it seems to be getting a bit worn out..... Another plus point is the Gurney plaza next door which is super convenient and the the open air food court a few metres away... Food is definitely not a problem around this hotel..... Overall i would rate this hotel as good except for the hard beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#7 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.