We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable clean hotel but food could be alot better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of G Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added G Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Asiatravel.com
and 11 more sites!
G Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable clean hotel but food could be alot better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for a 1 week business trip. The room was spacious with great sea view.Overall pretty good customer service but sometimes they are slow in responding to room service request. Security is commendable as you are only allow to have access to the floor you are at.
Cons: buffet spread is really boring and average for a 4/5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    358
    94
    29
    30
See reviews for
196
290
68
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a company meeting. The room is spacious with a big bathroom. TV has enough English language TV movie channels to keep me entertained. My king size bed is huge, though slightly hard for my taste. Room service is adequate. Mini bar is complementary (stocked with 4 cans of soft drink and two mini kit-kats).
Overall service in the hotel is OK. Occassionally they may be over eager. I asked for a morning call one night and received the automated call the next morning at the requested time. When I was in the shower, the phone rang again, but I couldn't pick it up. It kept ringing for a very long time, then finally stopped. 2 min later, someone was ringing my door bell and pounding on my door, yelling "mame, this is your wake up call." I yelled back "I am in the shower" and he stopped.

I have not used the gym nor the pool, but my colleagues commented that they were quite good, especially view from the gym. The hotel is right next to a shopping mall. Although the shops are nothing exciting, they do provide the convenience, plus a lot of eateries.

My least favorite part about the hotel is its food. By Day 2, I was already fed up with what it serves. Meals arranged for the meetings may be limited due to the meeting package. But the breakfast buffet was nothing exciting either, depsite the seemingly wide choices. Quality of the cheese, bread, yogurt or jam is very average. I didn't have seconds either for the meeting meals or breakfast buffets.

I feel quite neutral about this hotel. It served its purpose without any pizzazz nor excitement.

Room Tip: high floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, western Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just stayed at the G Hotel & loved the location & service. Whether you want upmarket food or Hawker food it is all within a few minutes walk & the location of the hotel gives a lovely feeling of space & tranquility. Being on the water means it is cooler than other locations & very calming.
The massive Gurney Plaza next door is wonderful for food, book shops & shopping, but don't forget the smaller Midlands park centre nearby for cheaper shopping & a terrific range of DVDs!
The rooms at The G hotel are very spacious & well presented. The bathroom shower recess is very large & the shower pressure is sensational!
A lovely touch is the evening service to see if there is anything you need & the very generous bottled water supply.
Rooms are very quiet & conducive to good sleep.
Free mini bar, no alcohol, meant there was always a cold drink or a Kit Kat. Lovely touches.
Would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be quiet, our room overlooked a tree lined walkway & the pool which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went on holiday to stay at the G hotel. We had heard the Eastern and Oriental may be a bit dated so we thought we woudl try this one. This is not in the central part of Georgetown but only about 15MYR (3 pounds) taxi to Georgetown so not bad. The plus i that it is next to the main Hawker Street food stalls (where loads of people eat in Georgetown so it was a plus!). Also, its on the outskirt of the town which makes it easy (to avoid traffic) to go to any of the sights - batu ferrenghi, Kek Lok Si temple (amazing!). If you like your known chains as well, its essentially attached to to a mall. We didnt get the breakfast package because food in Penang is supposed to be amazing and handy to have a starbucks right next door for morning coffee :) The room we got - i think executive premier room was massive and although very modern, was VERY nice. A four poster bed and all. The service is the only reason we rate this down. Front desk and concierge staff were not all that friendly and not great at recommendations etc. The pool area is quite nice and clean and nice for an afternoon break. We did go to the E&O hotel for a poolside hotel and were well impressed...its beautiful and more of a leisure hotel than the business hotel that G was like. (but dont know what the rooms are like). Overall we had a good stay and since we knew it was a more modern business hotel when we booked, it met our expectations.

Room Tip: Premier executive with four poster was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with a friend during the recent Thaipusam festivities..... G-hotel is practically like a designer hotel, the lobby, the toilets and shops are all well designed and looks chic and savvy..... Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were courteous and friendly..... The room well for the price we paid, i think it was rather steep, the beds were the below average as it was like rock solid and the king size bed was actually 2 super single bed tucked in together which makes the bed looks huge and good enough for 3 people to sleep on it..... the shower was good.... the pool was good and the breakfast there i can say is one of the better ones compared to the other hotels as it serves well for foreigners and locals..... Overall i would say this is avery good hotel but room refurbishment will need to be done soon as it seems to be getting a bit worn out..... Another plus point is the Gurney plaza next door which is super convenient and the the open air food court a few metres away... Food is definitely not a problem around this hotel..... Overall i would rate this hotel as good except for the hard beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you plan to drive to this hotel and have your car parked at their car park, please think twice. Recent experience was after payment was made to the paying machine, the balance was not returned. After trying to locate the security officer around the car park and through the intercom system to get back,the balance, I found that there was no security officer present. This has been the 2nd time this has happened. The hotel never bother to upgrade their paying machine nor have a security officer around for this matter or,even to ensure safety of the car park users. Please also,do not have any new Malaysian notes on hand to pay because the machine never takes them. Overall a very bad experience on parking and also lack of security especially at the car park area.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a business trip and even though I don't pay for it is on the expensive side. Taking into consideration the proximity to a shopping mall convenience and local street food court within walking distance, I would say that is the price to pay for the convenience. The room, facilities are all excellent and expected. The breakfast & lunch buffet however is a suprise, much better than most hotels of equal standards.
I liked the welcome ice cream. Perfect.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to G Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Penang

Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
G Hotel Penang Georgetown
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 11250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#6 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaysia's Most Stylish Address ~ G Hotel Penang. A bold and gorgeous hotel with a touch of cool modernity, it also offers luxurious rooms with an excellent selection of designer furniture. G Hotel Penang overlooks Penang’s most famous boulevard Gurney drive. Clients can enjoy the benefits of being near to the sea, the shopping and dining attractions along the promenade including Gurney Plaza and Gurney drive’s legendary hawker’s food enclave. Tourists can appreciate the proximity to Gurney Drive beach, known for its clear waters. Business travelers can opt for the serviced residences and can easily reach the CBD by taxi. All rooms have flat screen TV with satellite channels and complimentary high speed internet access. Facilities include a well equipped gym, outdoor pool and business center. Dining options are plentiful with a choice of three restaurants all serving wide menus of International and local cuisine and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your G Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.